We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vritomartis Naturist Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sfakia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vritomartis Naturist Resort
Save Saved
You added Vritomartis Naturist Resort to your Saves list
Sfakia, Crete 730 11, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Announcement
A bottle of wine for free
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Sfakia
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The best naturist hotel ever. All is just perfect. We have been here 3 times and have allready booked a stay for the summer of 2015. The staff that workes here ar so friendly and serviceminded. The location is superb and the rooms and bungalows are large and comfy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos D, General Manager at Vritomartis Naturist Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for the nice review and supporting us all these years. Repeaters like you make us so happy and willing to give our best every time. We are waiting for you next summer.

Kindest Regards,
Nikos Douroudakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    43
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
252
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent 8 very relaxing days at Vritomartis.

The hotel is situated at a remote location, a 20-minute walk from Chora Sfakion. A few times a day a free bus to the village and to the nearby Filaki beach is provided.

The hotel and all its premises are spotlessly clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. We had a large room with a nice modern bathroom, a large balcony, a small LCD TV and free A/C.
All service is extremely professional, friendly and no-nonsense kind. We especially liked the bus driver and we were very impressed by the service of the waiters, especially Giannis, Kostas and Babis.

The food is fantastic. You are spoiled for choice.

After my regular morning joggings I was rewarded by the best breakfasts I have ever had in Greek hotels: a plethora of fresh fruit and vegetables, yoghurt, local cheeses, full English breakfast, oven baked tomato with wild herbs, muesli, toast, home baked bread, ... I was only disappointed by their fake orange juice – Crete has so many cheap and extremely tasteful oranges and I am usually used to the natural juice.

The dinners are unbelievable. I have never eaten so many perfect salads in my life. Not only they were prepared from fresh high quality vegetables, they were prepared in most innovative ways. You could choose anything from classical horiatiki, heavenly young spinach with oranges to sun ripe tomatos with pine nuts. The choice of main dishes was not as extensive; however, all of them were superb. Even the most basic ones were prepared in an innovative way. For example, perfectly baked chicken legs were served with subtle okra. Beside several traditional Greek dishes there was always a choice of international food. For example, their chicken curry was close to perfect. Even their pizza slices were wonderful. The sweets were fantastic. You could usually choose between fresh fruit, yoghurt and several Arabian-style delights.

The clientele is mostly older, very polite and everyone respects your privacy. Nudity is a non-issue.

There is a large and very clean nudist pool with a mini bar which we never used.
The nudist beach Filaki is about a 10-minute walk away. It is a nice large pebble beach and it provides a lot of privacy. Its east side cliff provides a pleasant natural shade for most of the day. There are several nice fantastic coves just a short walk away from the beach. Above the beach there is a small bar, owed by the hotel. We always rented two sunbeds and an umbrella and enjoyed the comfort; however, we thought that the price 7.5 EUR/day was unreasonably high considering that we were the guests of the hotel. Also, there is a substantial problem with the smokers. By some twisted logic they do not consider cigarette buds to be a distasteful waste and it always took more than a few minutes just to remove dozens of cigarette buds away from the sunbeds.

The hotel offers several excursions. We went to Imbros gorge and loved the 2-hour walk down the gorge. We walked to the beach Glyka Nera and then to Loutro on our own and later returned by a boat to Chora Sfakion.

Every night the hotel organizes some sort of evening entertainment, from traditional dances to karaoke. It seemed very pleasant and relaxed, but we rarely took part in it.
In 8 days we were only able to use free wi-fi twice for less than 10 minutes. It seems to be a serious problem related to the poor internet connection in this remote part of Crete.
After spending two weeks in Greece we wanted to wash our clothes. The hotel prices were unfortunately high. We would have to pay 2-4 EUR a piece (2 for a piece of underwear, 4 for a shirt) without ironing and we considered the price unacceptable. Later we found a cheap laundry in the village which washed and dried two large bags for 24 EUR.

Bottom line: Vritomartis is a fantastic hotel which offers a high level of service, superb food and a very relaxing setting for determined nudist like us. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos D, General Manager at Vritomartis Naturist Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a long and descriptive review. It's very important for us and for other travelers to read your experience. We always try to do our best to make your holidays perfect. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards,
Nikos Douroudakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After years of deliberating we finally decided to give Vritomartis a visit. What a pretty hotel it is. At first we were disappointed as our room had twin beds so we asked reception if we could change rooms. Unfortunately this was not possible as they were fully booked. However, they put a bed base right next to one of the twin beds and made up a huge double for us. The rooms are large enough so we still had plenty of room to move around. So, tip 1, if you want a double bed ask when you book. Tip 2, if you get fed up with having to dress each time to go back to your hotel room book a bungalow. They are excellent and you can have all the freedom clothes wise you wish. We looked out over the gardens and then to the sea and, as the weather was very hot, had a shady terrace for a good part of the day.
Dinner is served every night outside on the hotel terrace (you must be dressed) which is lovely. However, if, like me, you are vegetarian, you will find the choice limited. Plenty of salads but often with the usual problem of having tuna etc hidden in them! Usually one vegetarian hot dish but that will probably be all.
We cannot praise the staff enough. they were all friendly and helpful. Housekeeping in particular work very hard to make sure your room/bathroom are spotless. The pool is crystal clear and all the common areas are excellent.
We did, however, feel the hotel is remote. The nearest village, Hora Sfakion, is just a few kilometres up the road, very pretty but they have very few shops, mostly bars, restaurants and a couple of hotels. However, you can catch boats from here each day to various other locations. Well worth doing.
To sum up. Dont be put off by the drive across the mountain road. Its one of the better roads and holds no real problems. Do have a car and explore this beautiful island, there are some gems off the beaten track. If you want to really chill out, enjoy the wonderful Greek hospitality then this is the place. We would return but probably for fewer days, possibly after touring other parts of the island.

Room Tip: Book a bungalow facing the sea. The views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos D, General Manager at Vritomartis Naturist Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Cassie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a descriptive review and for finally deciding to visit us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards,
Nikos Douroudakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

For the first time we had a naturist holiday. Booked via Internatuur, advised by an acquaintance.
After a smooth flight we were brought by taxi to the hotel in a 1,5 hour night ride through the mountains. Because of the late hour we got a cold dinner, served with a smile.
The next 14 days were a real surprise for us. We were treated like VIPs (all guest were) and service was given always with a smile.
Because the hotel is situated in the south of Krete, you really need a car or scooter to see more of Krete if you want to. But also a (free!) busride to the nearby city is possible, or a free ride to the beach to the hotel.
We even did some excursions. One to the gorge in the neigbourhood and a nudist excursion to some sometimes secluded beaches and a small town where we had lunch.
But if you don't want to go and just want to stay at the hotel, the more then friendly staff is able to make your stay as comfortable as can be. You can have a lazy day at the pool, but aquagym is an option, or chess, shuffleboard, jeux de boules. Every evening animation.
The room we had was simpel but sufficient, we only used it to sleep. (free airco)
We had the vacation of a lifetime here. We are sure going back some time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos D, General Manager at Vritomartis Naturist Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed review. We appreciate it when first time naturists say so nice things because we encourage people to try naturism. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Nikos Douroudakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was the very first naturism outing ever for my wife and only my second so we were a little apprehensive about the whole thing. Worry ye not because the people who run this family resort know how to and the staff make sure that you feel very relaxed. We would like to thank the waiting staff, in particular Salomi and her partner Christos along with Ivana for their attention and Anna on reception. A special mention goes to Eva who taught me to fire arrows and play shuffle board! Eva works very hard in trying to make sure everyone has things to do and be entertained by. Good to see a mix of ages there too from children to OAPs.
We had only one gripe and that was a very small one, we would have liked to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: We were in the main hotel and overlooked the tennis court and the mountains beyond. We had no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos D, General Manager at Vritomartis Naturist Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for all the nice things you said. When first timers like yourself and your wife say so nice about us then we know that we did a good job because its our duty to make you feel relaxed and comfortable to your first encounter with naturism. Our staff is something we are proud of because each one of them is something special and when our guests confirm that too then we know that its true. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Nikos Douroudakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at Vritomartis hotel and bungalows ,we found it to be a enjoyable place, it was in a nice peaceful area. The rooms and general areas were kept exceptionally clean. Lovely grounds and good pool area, the staff were hard working and very friendly and helpful, would recommend for a relaxing naturist holiday, thank you .Martin & Diane.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos D, General Manager at Vritomartis Naturist Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Martin & Diane,

Thank you very much for your so nice words and for recommending us to others. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards,
Nikos Douroudakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We've never been to Vritomartis before, but were unable to go to our usual holiday place. We thought we'd come here just for this year then return to the south of France from next year onwards. But no, we won't! This is an amazing place and we'll be alternating it with the South of France. To start from the beginning: we arrived at 2330 and thought there would be no chance of any dinner. However, some food had been kept for us and the other arrivals - so thoughtful. All the reception staff can't do enough to help. We're staying (we're still here as we write!) in one of the bungalows, which is very well appointed and comfortable, with a balcony looking out to sea. When you book, if you want a double room, rather than a twin, it's worth asking for a double specifically, as some are twins. It's very useful having a small fridge in the room, which contained some complimentary fruit and drink on arrival.

The next morning, a lovely buffet breakfast was served in the airy breakfast room. There is a great selection of hot and cold foods. The waiting staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and work so well together as a team. They all speak excellent English. None of the public areas inside the hotel are naturist and mealtimes are also not naturist (although the very tasty evening meal is served on the terrace), so you'll need some clothes!

During the day, a wealth of activities are laid on, both at the hotel and further afield. Eva, the events organiser, is very enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. We had Greek lessons and took part in aquagym sessions. There are also plenty of sunbeds and parasols around the very clean pool; proper wooden ones on the patio and moveable collapsible ones so you can pick a shady spot under the trees on the surrounding grass. A complimentary minibus runs to the village and to the hotel's private beach. Don't be put off by the lack of sand; just take some wetshoes and you'll be fine. The sea is amazingly clear and warm and, thanks to the steep shelf, gets waist-height pleasingly quickly so you don't have to wade out before you can swim. There's a small coral reef right near the shore. We snorkelled to the far side of it (about 15-20m) and were rewarded each day with seeing a real variety of inquisitive fish: it's like swimming in an aquarium!

It's worth mentioning the grounds, which are immaculately maintained, including vegetable patches, by staff who appear to take real pride in what they do. As you walk through, any staff greet you with a cheerful, 'Kali mera'. The rooms are also beautifully cleaned.

This has been a brilliant holiday: you can get involved with activities as much as you want or just chill and enjoy the surroundings. What really makes it, though, is the staff team.

(If you want to book the hotel as a package with flights from the UK and transfers, we came with Chalfont Holidays and highly recommend them.)

Room Tip: If you want a double, specify that you do. The bungalows are generally in quieter areas, if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos D, General Manager at Vritomartis Naturist Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Quest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about us while still on vacation. We are very grateful for sharing all this valuable information with us and the community. Its nice to hear so nice comments from first time visitors especially when they are so experienced to naturist resorts. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Nikos Douroudakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vritomartis Naturist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vritomartis Naturist Resort

Address: Sfakia, Crete 730 11, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sfakia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Sfakia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vritomartis Hotel & Bungalows is a naturist hotel located in the region of Sfakia on the south coast of Crete, near the village of Hora Sfakion. The hotel features a private naturist beach in a spectacular domain overlooking the sea. Vritomartis hotel has 180 beds in 85 beautifully appointed rooms, of which 42 are located on two floors in the main building and 43 in 9 separate bungalows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vritomartis Hotel And Bungalows
Vritomartis Hotel Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vritomartis Naturist Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.