We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must see" for active holiday makers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samaria Gorge National Park

Samaria Gorge National Park
Lefka Ori (White Mountains), Sfakia, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$62*
and up
Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Sfakia
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Believed to be one of the most scenic national parks in Europe, this gorge stretches more than 10 miles to the south coastal region and offers many hiking trails.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A "must see" for active holiday makers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Crete has many gorges of which Samaria is the most famous and biggest. It's a big walk (all downhill) which took myself & husband, who are pretty active, 5 hours at a reasonable pace. It is about 17km from the entrance to arrive in the village at the other end and sunglasses/high factor sunscreen/a hat and some sort of snack are essential between June-September I would imagine. I walked with no problems in trail running shoes. There are basic toilets throughout the gorge and plenty of fresh water available to fill up water bottles. The gorge is stunning, the scenery well worth the effort. Take swimming kit for a dip in the sea at the end - very refreshing!The village at the end is lovely and there are plenty of tavernas to get a meal. The ferry out is always pretty much packed but it's an enjoyable sail round the coast. Really enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    250
    53
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We got picked up at the hotel around 05:50 and went to Chania to pick more people up, then a guide named Demetris showed up and then we went to the city Omalos to get breakfast. One of the first things out guide said you selected a trip for trackers if you wear sandals you better just take the bus back to Chania. We started to walk around 8am and the first people arrived around 12:20pm i arrived 12:45pm to our meeting point. The trip was amazing there was water springs where you could refill your water bottle.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Tip for people bring a "small bottle!" You can refill alot a "hat" and a good! pair of shoes! not sandals and ofcource money for the entrence and the ferry
-----------------------------------------------------------------
I wish everyone a nice trip :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great workout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I was supposed to go with a tour but there was a missunderstanding and they never picked me up. So I decided to go alone. Even though I entered at 09:00 there were tons of people there already. The gorge was incredibly beautiful, natural and worthy of being called a national park. Every so often there are small fountains with water straigt from Samaria resevoire where you can refill your water when needed. In my case since I was alone I wanted to see how long it would take me to run it. Normally they say it takes 5-6 hours to walk it. Partly because there were just so many people and partly because my legs were being pushed to their limits in the gorge I managed to finish after 3,5h and my legs had never felt more exhausted. It was a beautiful nature-driven workout and i loved it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another must see on Crete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Samaria is an other must see on Crete - fantastic nature, Nice 15 km walk for persons with "good legs". It goes down nearly all the way on small rocks.
Easy to take the bus from Chaina 6:45 og 7:45 to Osamalos (€14,30 - round trip), walk the clift to the harbour, take the ferry to the bus (€11)- remember the last ferry goes 17:30!
Take the bus back to Chaina - arrives around 20:30

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Scary bus ride to the top of the mountain. Sturdy footwear desirable, it's a rocky rubbled track to walk down. Absolutely stunning scenery. Plenty of places on route to fill water bottles from the fresh water stream. Time constraint on walk as last ferry doesn't wait for stragglers. Take plenty of snacks or a pack up. It is a must if visiting Crete.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samaria Gorge National Park also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Samaria Gorge National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaria Gorge National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.