We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gorge trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samaria Gorge National Park

Samaria Gorge National Park
Lefka Ori (White Mountains), Sfakia, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$70*
and up
Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Sfakia
Type: Canyons, National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Believed to be one of the most scenic national parks in Europe, this gorge stretches more than 10 miles to the south coastal region and offers many hiking trails.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best gorge trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I'm really happy, that i decided to take this trip.
We went there with my husband and we took with us our 10-year old son. i was a bit worried of my son, but he was very brave and really thankful, that we took him with us! We hiked there in August 2013, the temperature was really hot, + 35! We all had really good hiking shoes, we had hats, water and snacks. It's very important to have water, specially with hot weather. We took a lot of pictures, the views are amazing.
I suggest to take with you flip-flops and swimwear to go to the beach after the trip. In the beach there is very-very hot sand and you can't be there barefoot to go to the water. But there are some good tavernas and you can have a nice cold ice-cream or milkshake there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    189
    45
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

You have to do this while on the crete island. don't miss out, you'll regret it! my husband and I did this while on our honeymoon and it was the highlight for crete!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Crete
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“IN THE PROXIMITY OF SKY AND GOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The way to Samaria passes through two different but equally interesting roads. The first one is through village Fournes to Lakki, the nest of great Cretan revolutions, an impressive place with a magnificent old church on the top of the central Place and with the Monument of the Fighters for Liberation in the middle of that Place, reigning the mountains around. The second is from the West National Road (through Tavronitis- Paleochora branch, leading via Sirili, Zounaki, Deres, a wonderful village on the riverside to Prasses, Sembronas, fantastic mountainary spots, and then Omalos. Samaria gorge starts from Omalos, a place in the proximity of sky and God, the meeting point for different counties of Chania (Kydonia, Sfakia, Selinon). Here is the entrance to the famous Gorge, where the uncompetable natural beauty is being embroidered by Mythology and heroic pages of History, more remote and recent. You can start your exploration by staying for a couple of days at the touristic appartments of Omalos (attractive small traditional houses close to the Touristic Kiosk and enjoy your breakfast at the Kiosk, which is just by the entrance to the Gorge). Here you can also find informative material about the region, maps, cards and interesting souvenirs, as also some famous local products (honey, herbs e.t.c.). There are also a few restaurants and hotels on the proximity of the central road, where you can stay and enjoy local specialties (staka, pilafi, kallitsouni, tsigaristo meat and stamnagathi salad are among the outstanding local dishes).
Not all people are suitable to pass through the Gorge. So, if you are not enough fit (trained in walking under special circumstances), if you have got heart or respiratory disease, diabetes or
joint problems you should not make such an attempt. But even then, you can follow either of the ways proposed (or try both the ways, why not) and enjoy the breath-taking natural beauty at Omalos plateau.

The way from the entrance of the Gorge to the Aghia Roumeli coast takes about six hours and is an unforgettable experience. it is a prequisite that you will wear proper and strong walking shoes. If you start walking around 9-10 a.m., you will have done this way by 3-4 p.m., which is a quite convenient time. On the way you will have the chance to drink from crystal river waters (or just the water you have with you) and have a small snack in the middle of a magic place with legendary echo.
Silent caves, shepherds' houses, medieval small churches shall be on the way, just to remind you the Life that has been through the centuries. You will have all the time to think, to try to imagine, to share. And when coming to Sfakia you can enjoy the sea water, have some coffee (or a superb local tea) and get the boat to Chora, the capitol of the mountainary Sfakia region. Chora has a nice shore to swim and several places to stay and have dinner. Then, on the next day, you can visit some of the Chora old churches, look around for traditional souvenirs (and probably for Sfakia embroideries or famous weaven pieces of art) and get the bus to Chania, just to start exploring another of the abudant sightseeings that you can visit.
A worthy idea is visiting Omalos during Christmas holidays. The whole scenery is fantastic, as the lighted trees in the covered by snow plateau with the white mountain tops around is really ideal place for Santa Claus' sleigh and it is not strange that it has been cosidered as an alternative Santa Claus' village. Rhaki and Christmas sweets are being offered by the local authorities (Municipality of Platanias). The place in a special festive moment, a good idea for some Christmas photos and memories!




.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Do not miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Go there and do the long walk. We went in June and the temperature was still bearable. You will go by bus to the starting point and start with a nice walk down through the woods with a great view. Once down you will cross water, pass old chapels, refill water from wells, see the famous kri-kri wild goats. Amazing hike. Wear good shoes though !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gorge-ous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

As there have been a multitude of reviews written about this attraction, I have trouble expanding on them. Suffice to say the weather was superb, the scenery unique, and proper walking boots essential...as is water and snacks, bananas etc for instant energy. It was a little off putting to see someone riding a donkey with her left leg held out straight and covered in bandages, so go properly prepared, but if you are able bodied and are prepared for a possible 7 hour walk, go for it, it is superb.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samaria Gorge National Park also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Samaria Gorge National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaria Gorge National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.