We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel with a nice view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Livikon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Livikon Hotel to your Saves list
Livikon Hotel
Chora Sfakion, Sfakia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sfakia
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Simple hotel with a nice view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We booked it for one night and did not know anything about Chora Sfakion. I found it on bookings for 50 euros /night for a triple room. All rooms have a view over the port and the restaurant area.

It is a simple room with everything you need. No luxury what so ever but it is good.

The triple room had a nice layout. The bathroom was in the middle of the room dividing the two rooms. When you walked in to the room you were first in the room that had one bed and came the bathroom and the double bed was by the balcony. A door divided the two rooms.

The bed was hard and comfortable. The bathroom small and had a bathtub. There was no showercurtain so the whole bathroom got wet.

On bad thing was that if you closed the door between the bedrooms you did not get the A/C to the single bed room. There was no air in that room and you did not want to open a window because it was to the corridor (outside) that led to other rooms.

It was not the cleanest room but it was really nice to be on the balcony in the morning and evening overlooking the town and harbor. We liked it so much that we decided to stay one more night.

We will stay there the next time we go to Crete - loved it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, CZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here just one night on our way to hike the Samaria Gorge. The hotel is practically the first thing you see when walking into town, and it's right on the water. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean, with airy high ceilings and the one we had on the corner, facing the center of town, had two sea views, and two balconies. Free wifi in the room. The food downstairs at the taverna (discount if you're staying at the hotel) was delicious. Breakfast (not buffet-style) was served in the morning - basic, but tasty and enough. A central location can sometimes have its downside - noise - but (perhaps since it was off-season), it was quiet. Drawbacks: the toilet was running (I just gave it a temporary fix myself rather than call the staff since it was just one night), and the hallway to the rooms were accessible to the street because the glass on the outside door was broken, allowing anyone to just reach in and open the door. But none of that mattered - it was a cheap and fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner room has almost wrap-around sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Livikon for only one night in order to get the chance to see as much as we could from south Crete and we were very glad that we made this choice! Apart from the beauty of south Crete that is unspeakable, we got the chance to meet the owners of Livikon Hotel which was a great honor as they are very nice people. The rooms of the hotel were very clean and the treatment we received was excellent even though we stayed there for only one night. At this point i would like to say that even if you don't get the chance to stay at this hotel don't miss the change to dine at the traditional taverna of the Hotel. All the food was perfect and maybe its the best meal we had in our stay at Crete. Don't miss it guys! If you want a place to stay and eat at Sfakia, Livikon should be on your watch list for sure !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here one night having walked Imbros Gorge. Had a good room with a view. Ate in the restaurant and had Skfakian salad ie sheeps cheese and rusks - the best we had anywhere. Gorgeous. Sfakian is surprisingly pleasant to stay in; I had only stopped there en route to and from Samaria Gorge. It is quiet and the harbour is nice. Recommended.

Room Tip: well of course they all look over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Samaria hotel/restaurant for 2 nights as a stopover for going to Loutro. JACKPOT! The rooms were clean and with the seaview, very nice breeze at night and no mosquitos. We ate twice at their restaurant, one of the best food in the island of Crete. Can't say more, go see and try for yourself.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, yorkshire
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by again to eat in the restaurant after our walk in Imbros gorge.

Seated at overlooking the tiny beach the waiter was welcoming and knowledgeable about the dishes upon offer. Disappointed stuffed zucchini flowers were not on the menu we sampled Aubergine stuffed with meat which was soooo yummy. Dakos which was nice but couldn't get our cutlery through the rye bread and chefs special nest with meat and cheese. This is the same dish we sampled last year but no way as good. The meat being fatty and tough.
Finished off with complimentary fire water - pardon me I mean raki! It was a good price and would still recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A simple, but clean and friendly place to stay in Chora Sfakion. Our room (second floor) had a balcony with a superb view of the bay (more a cove than a bay, really). The owner and his staff were extremely hospitable, friendly, and helpful: you almost feel at home !
The hotel is located on the harbor, where there is no parking: you need to leave your car in the public parking, about 200 m from the hotel, higher up. The hotel's name is written in Greek only: you may walk past without noticing !
The hotel's WiFi was down during our stay, the shower had no curtain, but none of this prevented us from thoroughly enjoying our stay.
The hotel has its own restaurant, where we had two excellent meals. They offer excellent freshly caught fish (surprisingly not so frequent in Crete), but remember that fish can be twice as expensive as meat...
Breakfast is mostly continental (no buffet), but everything is negotiable !

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Livikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livikon Hotel

Address: Chora Sfakion, Sfakia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sfakia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sfakia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 10 rooms - 5 in the first floor and 5 in the second floor. All the rooms have private bathroom, private balcony with sea view, table and chairs, air condition, TV, internet access and some have a refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Livikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livikon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.