We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day wasn't enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Livikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Livikon Hotel to your Saves list
Livikon Hotel
Chora Sfakion, Sfakia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sfakia
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One day wasn't enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Livikon for only one night in order to get the chance to see as much as we could from south Crete and we were very glad that we made this choice! Apart from the beauty of south Crete that is unspeakable, we got the chance to meet the owners of Livikon Hotel which was a great honor as they are very nice people. The rooms of the hotel were very clean and the treatment we received was excellent even though we stayed there for only one night. At this point i would like to say that even if you don't get the chance to stay at this hotel don't miss the change to dine at the traditional taverna of the Hotel. All the food was perfect and maybe its the best meal we had in our stay at Crete. Don't miss it guys! If you want a place to stay and eat at Sfakia, Livikon should be on your watch list for sure !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here one night having walked Imbros Gorge. Had a good room with a view. Ate in the restaurant and had Skfakian salad ie sheeps cheese and rusks - the best we had anywhere. Gorgeous. Sfakian is surprisingly pleasant to stay in; I had only stopped there en route to and from Samaria Gorge. It is quiet and the harbour is nice. Recommended.

Room Tip: well of course they all look over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Samaria hotel/restaurant for 2 nights as a stopover for going to Loutro. JACKPOT! The rooms were clean and with the seaview, very nice breeze at night and no mosquitos. We ate twice at their restaurant, one of the best food in the island of Crete. Can't say more, go see and try for yourself.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, yorkshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by again to eat in the restaurant after our walk in Imbros gorge.

Seated at overlooking the tiny beach the waiter was welcoming and knowledgeable about the dishes upon offer. Disappointed stuffed zucchini flowers were not on the menu we sampled Aubergine stuffed with meat which was soooo yummy. Dakos which was nice but couldn't get our cutlery through the rye bread and chefs special nest with meat and cheese. This is the same dish we sampled last year but no way as good. The meat being fatty and tough.
Finished off with complimentary fire water - pardon me I mean raki! It was a good price and would still recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A simple, but clean and friendly place to stay in Chora Sfakion. Our room (second floor) had a balcony with a superb view of the bay (more a cove than a bay, really). The owner and his staff were extremely hospitable, friendly, and helpful: you almost feel at home !
The hotel is located on the harbor, where there is no parking: you need to leave your car in the public parking, about 200 m from the hotel, higher up. The hotel's name is written in Greek only: you may walk past without noticing !
The hotel's WiFi was down during our stay, the shower had no curtain, but none of this prevented us from thoroughly enjoying our stay.
The hotel has its own restaurant, where we had two excellent meals. They offer excellent freshly caught fish (surprisingly not so frequent in Crete), but remember that fish can be twice as expensive as meat...
Breakfast is mostly continental (no buffet), but everything is negotiable !

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, yorkshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Situated overlooking the tiny cove and crystal clear waters, we ate here today for lunch. We had no intentions of eating at Hora Sfakion merely passing through on our way to Plakias.

Greeted by whom I can only presume the owner Georges, nothing was a problem, very polite, not at all pushy and happy to explain the dishes upon display - all of which looked extremely appetising!

We strolled by initially and viewed the efforts from nearby restaurants which whilst they were also not pushy did not look anywhere as near the quality of Restaurant Livikon which seems to be part of Restaurant Sigara next door.

The food tremendous! Ordered chefs speciality birds nest with cheese and meat. The nest being a dome of spaghetti covered in cheese filled with the most succulent huge chunks of succulent pork which melted in your mouth. I don't like pork and thought it was lamb which I also don't like! This was beautiful!!! My husband and I shared the portion and both agreed too much for 1 person.

We also sampled the stuffed zucchini flowers!!!! Oh my god these were divine! Stuffed with rice, herbs and a slight taste of mint topped with some Greek yogurt - WOW!!

I had 2 glasses of local white wine and hubby a mythos - the bill was 18 euros!!!!! So worth it!
Bread had been brought and we didn't touch it and we're charged for it anyway which seems to be the case in Crete. Didn't complain because food so good - we still left a tip to show our appreciation.

The waitress brought a tiny bottle of raki with 3 fried items with the bill which were non descript, she was pretty miserable - no service with a smile from her, when asked what the fried items were .......she merely walked off back to her stool at the till. Shame.

I would highly recommend the food here, however thought the waiters smoking openly trying to beckon people in a little off putting but then I am from England and this would not happen there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We have stayed here twice and found it to be wonderful. Fantastic veiws over the sea from the front, from the back it is less interesting until you look up into the mountains early in the morning or around sun set in the evening. Known locally as " Gods waiting room" due to the large amount of old people that come into the Bar /Cafe. "Those old guys know a good place when they see one" There are plenty of lively Cafe's Bars near by, but when you come back to the hotel to sleep you can do just that. Would I recommend it ? YES but leave a room free for us.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sfakia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
3.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Loutro
Hotel Porto Loutro
#1 of 1 in Loutro
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
23.8 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
25.4 mi away
Gavdos Princess
Gavdos Princess
#1 of 4 in Gavdos
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
5.6 mi away
Maria's Studios
Maria's Studios
#3 of 6 in Frangokastello
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livikon Hotel

Address: Chora Sfakion, Sfakia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sfakia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sfakia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 10 rooms - 5 in the first floor and 5 in the second floor. All the rooms have private bathroom, private balcony with sea view, table and chairs, air condition, TV, internet access and some have a refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Livikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livikon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.