We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim and Pat McCabe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nateby Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nateby Inn to your Saves list
Nateby Inn
Nateby | Kirkby Stephen, Nateby, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4JP, England (Formerly The Black Bull Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 nights B&B £89.00
Ranked #1 of 1 Nateby B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jim and Pat McCabe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A huge thank you to Gaynor and Nick for their hospitality. It was exceptional!! The Nateby Inn has been refurnished to a very high standard. The bar area is so cosy and welcoming with its roaring, open fire. The Walker's tea room is well worth a visit and you must try out the DIY hot chocolate which can't be missed! Our bedroom was gorgeous, with the most comfortable kingsized bed and a foot spa which came in very helpful after completing the Herriot's Way walk in the previous 4 days. Our tired feet really enjoyed the soft fluffy towels! Our evening meal was so delicious. I had the chicken breast in the creamy sauce which just melted in my mouth and we felt the service from the 2 Hannahs deserved tops marks. We must now mention the breakfast which was a hearty full English breakfast which set us up for the day. So all in all, wonderful hosts, wonderful staff and wonderful accommodation!! Can't wait for our return visit. Once again thank you so much Gaynor and Nick x

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal exceptional standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    50
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
131
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria in England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

100% perfect!! We live in the nearby village of Hartley but hadn't visited Nateby Inn before--we had heard that new owners had taken over so we thought that we would give it a try! SoSo glad that we did!!Welcome was great! Shown to our seats in the almost full dining room--we had our 2 yorkie terriers with us and didnt expect to be allowed to eat in the dining area--not a problem! The staff were polite, friendly and could not be faulted in any way--The service was attentive but not intrusive.. a carafe of water was provided on the house..cutlery was clean and shiny!!--believe us, this does not always happen! We were made to feel so welcome--orders at our own pace..we chose the terrine for starters---mmmm---wow!!it was magnificent! so tasty and the chutney was to die for !! We followed this witha roast beef dinner...the beef was superb and so much of it !--tender and mmmmm---so many veggies and the yorkie pud was #amazeballs!!!--great wine and beers---didnt get chance to test out the whisky menu but looked like plenty on offer!! we could not have had better service or food or ambience---the price was so reasonable too--2 courses was I think £10.95....so worth it...
we will be recommending www.nateby-inn.co.uk to everyone ! Thank you for a great Sunday !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just popped in ( with our young children ) - tried the new tea rooms behind pub. Lovely family and staff; delicious lunch, cakes and coffee. Will be planning walks round there just to go back. Thank you .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our youngest son and his family treated us to a 2 day break at the Nateby Inn as a Christmas present, and what a present it turned out to be! The Inn is located in a quiet village just outside of Kirkby Stephen, in walking country. Gaynor and the three Hannah's gave us a very warm welcome and allocated us a bedroom that was spotless and well equipped. All of the staff were excellently trained and looked after us remarkably well and nothing was a trouble to them. Steve the chef informed us that the food, which is great, is sourced locally, something that we were very pleased to hear. It was also a good sign that many locals were eating there. The choice at breakfast is worth every penny and lasts you for most of the day. We saw quite a bit of snow whilst there but even that did not dampen our spirits. We are looking forward to our next visit when the "Walkers Tearoom" will be fully operational. Gaynor bubbles with enthusiasm and this certainly rubs off on her team. We wish the Nateby Inn Team all the best for the coming season.

Sue & Dave

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I never normally write a review but after staying here for the weekend and having a fabulous time I feel the need to let people know of our experience. When arriving early friday afternoon trying to miss the awful weather , we were welcomed inside and taken to our room, even though check in was'nt till 2pm. Our room was spotless and very cosy, little touches made all the difference. Like chocolates on your pillow and having a tray to put your dirty walking boot's on and having a window seat to look out over the hill's was lovely. We had great views.

Gaynor and her team were alway's helpful and nothing was to much trouble, and I'd like to thank them very much.

Having booked for an evening meal on both nights it was excellent, freshly cooked and very prompt..... FANTASTIC !!!! Also having Nicola (one of the staff) singing just added to the whole great experience. The breakfast were well organised and lovely as well.

As the weather was sooo bad we could only do the local walk of which there were plenty different one's to choose from. After arriving back we sat by the open coal fire for a warm. This all adds to the homely atmosphere. We could not of felt anymore relaxed. It was definetly " home from home".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at The Nateby Inn on 4/5/6 March after buying the deal through Groupon. After a delightful drive through the Yorkshire Dales, the welcome we received was fantastic from Gaynor and her team. There really is nothing that is too much trouble.

We ate in the bar both nights, and there were dogs that were welcomed in (we have dogs but hadn't taken them with us). The food was excellent and the hand pulled beer was a nice surprise (Tirrell Brewery if you are interested).

We asked about somewhere to go walking the next day, and Gaynor lent us a rucksack, a map and arranged for a fantastic packed lunch. We quickly realised we should have brought this with us, but were glad to be able to go out anyway. The walk up to the Nine Standards and back along the viaducts was great, and the another fantastic meal at night.

The breakfast was extra on our deal, but was well worth paying for as we didn't feel hungry until about 3pm.

We are really looking forward to going back to see Gaynor, Hannah and Hannah later in the year. The hard work is really paying off.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fantastic hardly describes the experience of the Nateby Inn. It is positioned just outside Kirkby Stephen in the small village of Nateby. You simply can fault nothing here. The atmosphere created by Gaynor , Hannah and the other staff is very welcoming. Nothing seems too much trouble. We stayed for 2 nights and are in the process of booking again for September. Lovely comfortable room, fantastic welcome and , if possible, better than fantastic food. This place is a real gem and definitely worth the visit..... But get in early, just 5 rooms will mean that when the word gets out this will be full more often than not.. Position is a bonus....within two miles of the north yorks moors and a short drive to the lakes. Walks a plenty nearby or a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nateby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nateby Inn

Address: Nateby | Kirkby Stephen, Nateby, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4JP, England (Formerly The Black Bull Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Nateby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nateby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a inn offering bed & breakfast 4 star Pet Friendly En-suite accommodation nestled in the rural village of Nateby. Yet it's just 1 mile away from Kirby Stephen. A superb base for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits. An ideal location for a stop over on the Coast to Coast walk. Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen, is a traditional family owned and run Cumbrian inn offering year-round bed & breakfast 4 star accommodation, home cooked food using only the freshest, locally sourced quality ingredients, We have a well stocked bar offering some of Cumbria's and Yorkshire's finest real ales, a wide choice of wines, a great selection of malt whiskies and a range of soft drinks. Our 4 star accommodation at Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen comprises of five en-suite bedrooms. All our bedrooms are equipped with the usual creature comforts such as digital flat screen tv, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and we have little extras such as: iphone / ipod docking station alarm clock and HoMedics foot spa. three of our bedrooms have a bath, perfect after a long days walk, especially if you are on the Coast to Coast walk. We offer early bird breakfast on request and a packed lunch for your onward journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nateby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Nateby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nateby Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.