We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - - -” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Ski La Massana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magic Ski La Massana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magic Ski La Massana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda del Ravell 1, La Massana AD 400, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in La Massana
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average - - -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went to this hotel with a ski group for the weekend. The hotel was just average in overall. The architecture inside the building is nice (lobby with floors' balcony) but it brings a lot of noise during the night which is very annoying. The rooms are quite comfy even if I disliked the tiles on the floor (cold) and the mattress not enought soft + plastic mattress protection that I removed immediatly!! No kettle and big TV (no flat screen) :-(
The spa is very expensive for what it is (7€) and you should bring your own swim-cap if you don't want to pay extra (3€). Very small swimming pool (~5m*2m), jaccuzzi ok, hammam ok (quite hot and very humid).
The food is served on buffet, quality is quite poor except for the plancha where fresh meat and fish are grilled. Desserts are bad. French people, be aware there's no cheese :-(
Well, the only good point I remind if the super location just next to the lift.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel magic Ski in Early Feb 2012. The location was great so you had a minimum of lugging ski equipment to the gondola which is a big plus. The rooms were spotless and not too small and we had a lovely view from our room especially when we arrived and it was snowing..so pretty!! I found the food wasn't brilliant but there was plenty of it and it was fine if not a bit repetitive. Breakfast was a bit better as there was bread cereals, pastry's cold meats,eggs etc We ate out most evenings travelling to Arinsal where the night life was a bit livelier. The hotel lobby could be a bit noisy at night as all the rooms are directly above the lobby...but who cares after a few beverages we are on holidays after all. The staff were nice but some didn't speak great English however we managed to communicate via hand gestures and speaking loudly with a spanish accent...as you do. The wellness centre was small but nice and usually quiet which was great nothing like a nice jacuzzi after a day on the slopes. Overall we had a lovely stay in this hotel and it was decent value for money...does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

All previous positive reviews on that hotel are correct. It is a good hotel with very good food (including local specialities) and within an easy reach of the gondola.Hotel and the gondola station are in the same complex of buildings and from the rear exit of the hotel is ca. 10m to the entrance of the station.
Thus, the hotel deserves a recommendation whereas the Pal sector of the Vallnord skiing area does not.Pistes are short, lifts (apart from gondola) old, restaurants few and in the high season the area is overcrowded. Small wonder; it is just ca. 2h over a motorway from Barcelona.
The authorities have there a peculiar attitude to the wheather forecast. Before coming we checked on the snowinfo that there was 150cm of snow up and 50cm down - quite enough. It was exactly the same information in the hotel and at the gondola station, + an avalanche risk of 2/5. In fact there was not even 120mm of snow on the pistes, many being closed and only those with artificial snow were accesible. All the snow collected would not make any avalanche at all. Better was at the Arinsal sector nearby, but the connecting cable-car was mostly out of service (no information down!). When, after 2 days, was a snowfall of ca. 20cm - nothing changed in the forecast - again 150/50 and 2/5 - perhaps they had fixed it for the season!
A trip to Andorra La Vella - capital of Andorra, is short and nice. Apart from a big choice of goods at a lower price (duty-free zone) it is a metropolis in miniature; 3 or 4 streets with beautiful modern houses and best shops. La Massana is not impressive.Apparently, Andorrians like their local stone (brownish-grey) and cover every building with it, and in the effect it looks like an old prison.
Finally, there are no local products to buy. I have never been yet in any mountain area without its own cheese - Andorra is the first one. When asking a salesgirl about it, she called another, older, then both called a third one, still older and all of them, after a long consultation, offered me a French product.
To sum up: all this is no match to Alps, whereever you try them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elektrostal, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Excellent location, just under telecabina, free ski storage/ Great variety of meals at dinner. Everything fresh and tasty.
Minuses:
very small pool in fitness centre.. Looks like large bath.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Excellent location right next to the ski gondola. Nothing to mention about the town but it's only a ten minutes bus ride to lively Andorra La Vella and Caldea spa.
Our room was way too small for four people with all ski luggage. The free ski storage lockers are both welcome and necessary. Bathroom is new and shiny, with great shower and water pressure. The rest of the room needs more lighting, it's way too dark.
Restaurant is well attended but food is just OK. Reception staff could use some training, specially about local information. Spa area gets easily overcrowded and is a bit creepy hidden in the basement with no windows.
This place is great to ski but not so great for a 4 star hotel. A good choice if you're into skiing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Travelled with my girlfriend and another couple for one week, so cannot really comment on the facilities for children, although there were lots of kids in the hotel and they seemed well catered for.

Booked the Hotel as part of a flight/hotel package through TravelRepublic.co.uk, I felt we got a very good deal. The return flight from Manchester to Barcelona cost £128 with Monarch, the hotel room plus half board cost £475 for the week, which when you break it down is very reasonable.

On arrival we parked the hire car in the underground carpark, I tried to find out, via the website, how much the daily rate for parking was, but it was not listed. I also tried to phone the hotel but ended up in an automated system and never spoke to anyone, probably my fault as my Spanish is poor..... Anyway the price is €18 a day which was very expensive in my view as the car just sat there for a week.

A good first impression, staff on the desk spoke good English and answered all our questions about ski hire, lift passes and ski school. We bought our lift passes through the hotel, 10% off and they recommended SHUSKI just round the corner for hiring skis, you got a 10% discount from the hotel, but the guys in SHUSKI ended up giving us 15% off, they too were very helpful.

Our rooms were good, twin beds pushed together, clean with plenty of towels in the bathroom. The room had a small minibar, a safe which was operated by your room key and TV(All Spanish/French Channels) The room was slightly let down by the lack of clothing storage, but was cleaned daily and towels replaced every 3 days, so no problems with cleanliness. Both rooms were warm, with good double glazing, which kept out the noise of the road next to the hotel.

All communal areas were clean, however be aware that Smoking is still allowed inside buildings in Andorra and the Spanish love a ciggie!!! So there is the smell of smoke to contend with. The bar was small but well used by the residents. I went and had a look at the sports facilities but did not get the urge to use them, the skiing was tiring enough.....

The restaurant(no smoking) was again clean with plenty of tables. Breakfast was good, plenty of food options(Buffet Style) although the heated counters were not that efficient, so food was often tepid, but still tasty! There were plenty of cold options as well. The garlic mushrooms for breakfast a particular favourite. The great thing was you could have as much as you wanted, say no more! It could be busy at times, but we aimed to get in early about 0800 and it was relatively calm.

Evening meal, again buffet and again the tepid food and again cold options(salads etc), although there was a microwave available to heat up your plate. The chef would cook a fresh piece of meat or fish on the skillet every night, so that was guaranteed hot! By the way did inform the hotel about the heat of the food and do not be put off, it was tasty and plentiful.

All the staff we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and spoke reasonable English, far better than my Spanglish.

The resort itself was quiet, we had a night in Arinsal, which was quite the opposite, but good fun. We opted one night to go out for dinner and went to a Restaurant called Versio Original, get Reception to book, you will need to. In a word Fantastic. Try it.

The hotel was joined to the Gondola Station to go up the mountain, with the back door from the boot room leading to the entrance. In our party there were two intermediate and two beginners. The slopes offered everything for our abilities. The beginners did not go into ski school, as they had had lessons at home, and they coped well with the pistes. We were lucky with the weather, so the first three days skiing was perfect. Pistes well maintained and all the facilities on the mountain good.

The only real downer on the trip was the exchange rate, basically £1 - €1, so relatively expensive.

The overall experience in the hotel was good and I would happily recommend it to friends and family, say no more!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

the hotel is fantastic! perfect for what we needed, a nice, safe family suitable hotel, and with the added bonus of being only 1 flight of s1tairs from the bottom ofthe gondola, what more could you want!
the rooms were ok, just another one of your bog standard hotels tbh. the shower on the otherhand was fantastic! (much appreciated after a great day on the slopes! the skiing is fantastic, the slopes are perfect for beginner/intermediate skiers. in our group we had some absolute beginners, dont believe what the brochures say, the resort isnt great for beginners with only one nursery slope and a challenging green (the start could be easily classified as a blue) maybe another resort might be best.
the food is fantastic. enough said.
one point, it is an incredibly spanish hote/area. it took 4 days to find a person who speaks any english so a spanish speaking person (or a dictionary) is much advised!!

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — lack of ability to communicate
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magic Ski La Massana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Ski La Massana Hotel

Address: Avinguda del Ravell 1, La Massana AD 400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > La Massana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in La Massana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magic Ski La Massana Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Magic Ski La Massana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Ski La Massana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.