We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Magic Canillo & surrounding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Canillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Canillo to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Canillo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Del Forn s/n Urb Riba Grossa, Canillo AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Canillo
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Staying in Magic Canillo & surrounding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just back from the hotel.

There is parking available for free in the streets, you can also park in the garage which costs 10,43 euro's per night.
The people at the reception don't speak English or French very well, Spanish is the language.
The rooms are big enough (for 2) and are decorated in a neutral style. The only thing is: you can't adjust the temperature. There is heating for the wintertime, but no airco or fan for summertime which makes the room very hot. Mine was 27°C. The only thing you could do is open the window. Yes, you can open the window !! Even if you are at the mountain side (so pay attention when you have children with you) ! Rooms 101 -> 104 have a view over the street(foundation) and cable car. Rooms 105 ->108 have the beautiful view you see in the brochure: over the valley. The restaurant is fine... Strange they don't take advantage over the beautiful view it must have as there are no windows at all and the decoration is of trees ?? The food is perfeft: lots of choice and always plenty of it.
You have to pay for the SPA. When you want to use the swimming pool you have to pay 3 euro's for a bathhad if you don't have one... No slippers ? Not allowed in... I think this should be free of charge. Same as the WIFI/internet... Only available (foc) in the reception area, not in the room.

The hotel organises walking tours. You can pick up a book in the tourist office with the walks available in the area. Very interesting (you can see the degree of difficulty, distance, etc.)

Seen the hotel is located on the opposite site of the village (halfway the mountain) you must go down it to go to the village of Canillo. There is a little walking way near the hotel that takes you down, bear in mind: it's very steap !
You can also drive down; there is a big parking next to the cable car (3 euros to park the whole day).

The public bus can take you everywhere for little money. Andorra La Velha has shops till you drop, but check the prices at home first so you can compare !

You can go up with the cable car but I think this is only for people with smaller chilcren as everything is created with small children in mind. (I think up to 12 yrs).

I did the 4x4 jeep tour ! This trip is really a must ! They take you up the mountains on the maintenance routes and not expensive at all !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    74
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
50
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosh ha'ayin,Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we stayed two nights at this hotel (couple and 15 years old boy), breakfast and dinner included are OK, rooms are clean, and ask for a room with a view to the city.
The only thing we did not like was that we had to pay for using the pool and the spa and also buying swimming hats to go in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were skiing a week, we were living in apartment (not in hotel room), a week you can stand especially when skiing, so you spend a small amount of time in the room. The apartments are equipped with everything you need but quite tight. Especially a bedroom. Kitchen-dining room with place to sleep quite comfortable but not intimate. A well equipped kitchen, in the bathroom is even drier, shower gel and shampoo. The nearest ski lift is quite far away, you have to use the hotel's own transport as it is not too convenient. It is possible to travel inexpensively to the capital from the hotel, there is public transport to the capital but sometimes do not arrive on time..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Stayed five nights in the hotel with my wife and two children (12/15y). Rooms were OK. Madras was very hard and noise from people leaving their rooms could be heard. Had half-board. Good breakfast with many different choices. Dinner was OK but would have preferred more choices at the buffet. Ski bus service worked very well. Max waiting time we experienced was 10 minutes. Service minded staff at reception. Aqua area was fine, though to few chairs. Didn't mind the hotel was away from city as we were travelling by car.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

The price of the hotel was already high and we were having "half-pension" which means breakfasts and dinners included; but we had to pay for our drinks (including water)! during the dinner time.

Although the hotel has Spa facilities, we also had to pay extra for that, but the scam was that we were also obliged to purchase a pair of flip-flops (which were honestly useless once in there because the place is not that big anyway and it is actually slippery with those on) and a swimming cap, and there was no info about that on the website.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I went for Holidays February 2009. Not a skier but for relaxation.

Well, great hotel for its price first of all. It is located on a hill to the right, over Canillo, very pretty and within close range 1km driving to the Ski lifts to the Ski resort (can't walk-steep uphill climb). Very close to paths for walks up the mountain.
A car in necessary 100%, but it also allows for more scenic drives around Andorra. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was nice, the pool was relaxing while internet and parking was available (free), If you want a garage (not recommended) then you pay extra. I say park on the road a bit further up.
Very very nice clean, mountain style rooms.

Would definately recommend it. I found it through the internet and got a better price. Do the same.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This hotel is set up the mountain from the village of Canillo. They only have 2 small buses to take people down to the gondola every day and they don't start until 8:45 so the queue was huge. There was lots of pushing and shoving going on when the buses arrived and we didn't get up to the mountain until mid-morning every day. The same on the return journey, we had to queue for an hour in the freezing cold to catch the bus back to the hotel. They stop one of the buses at 5 o'clock, their busiest time, and only have an 8 seater bus to transport all their guests back to the hotel. There is no other means of getting back to the hotel unless you walk, which is a considerable distance, so going for a beer to warm you up is also out of the question.
There are no taxis in Canillo, if you want a taxi they have to come in from Andorra La Vella and you have to pay the cost of that journey so its 20 euro before you go anywhere. The hotel are very unsympathetic to you wanting to leave the hotel at night as well and we found they were unwilling to help.
All of this wouldn't have been too bad if the hotel was great, however the staff in the bar were very unfriendly to the point of being rude and the food was awful.
If you do end up at this hotel on a Ski holiday, I feel sorry for you, however if you get ready early and get the bus back into town before it finishes at 6 pm you can then get the ski bus to another resort. We went to Soldeu which actually had apres ski and a lovely feel to it. A warning though taxis are hard to find and half of us got back to the hotel OK, the other half of us had to hitch a lift because it was after 10 and there were no taxis on the streets.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillo
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Ermita
Hotel L'Ermita
#1 of 1 in Meritxell
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Andorra
Holiday Inn Andorra
#4 of 38 in Andorra la Vella
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Obaga Blanca
Hotel Obaga Blanca
#2 of 10 in Canillo
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
5.5 mi away
Andorra Park Hotel
Andorra Park Hotel
#1 of 38 in Andorra la Vella
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
3.5 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#6 of 18 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Canillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Canillo

Address: Ctra Del Forn s/n Urb Riba Grossa, Canillo AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Canillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canillo
#5 Spa Hotel in Canillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Magic Canillo 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Magic Canillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Magic Canillo Andorra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Canillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.