We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel for a ski break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ski Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Ski Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra General s/n, Canillo AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Canillo
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely hotel for a ski break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ski Plaza is a really nice hotel for a ski holiday - a short walk to the Canillo gondola and in the centre of Canillo village. Short drive from Andorra la Vella. Great food, nice atmosphere for families, couples and groups of friends. The hotel isn't new, but well maintained, with large rooms. Good ammenities. Ski rental at the hotel. Spa area not huge nor super modern, but nice after a day of skiing. Across the road from the "Ice Palace", the hotel gives you an access pass, so you can swim and/or ice skate in there. Staff was very friendly. All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Cute little hotel, very comfortable with cozy atmosphere. Perfect for family vacation just as for couples. Only the fitness area was a little bit too sparingly. But this was compensated with wonderful rooms with a view on the river and super-soft bathrobes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just got back from staying here a week with a ski group. Like others have said there are many positives. The local is good. From the back of the hotel you have a short walk to the Canillo gondola. There are two or three good places to rent from near the gondola and you can store your skis there overnight if you wish. Across the street is the athletic building and I did go swimming there -- remember to bring a bathing cap -- men too and a towel to swim. You can buy a cap for 2 euros. The rooms come in different shapes and sizes. We had a double in the front. Couple of room things -- bedspreads are dated! Beds are hard, pillows are good. Our bathroom fan didn't work but not too much of a problem. Slept with window open and surprisingly the street is pretty noisy. There is a nice front room to relax and meet people. The bar area is nice as well and the bartenders very friendly. The dining area is large but with dinner starting at 8, there was a herd mentality to the buffet, so get your elbows ready if the hotel is busy. The food was abundant and varied. No one should go hungry, fresh fruit, bread, tomatoes for tomato bread, salad fixings, fish and meat options plus something from the grill. And of course wine!
The hotel is very close to the bus stop -- easy on and off. Desk people helpful and spoke pretty good English. The town is a sleepy town so if looking for action this is not the place for you or a place to do a lot of shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ski Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting the review of your recent stay with us; we are glad to know that your choice of Ski Plaza Hotel for your holidays was good.

Certainly, Canillo is a quiet village, but it's the ideal place for skiing holidays, and only 15 minutes by bus from downtown. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Andorra and see you again in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hotel was clean and comfortable, staff friendly. close to bars and places to eat although you can do all this at the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New yOrk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our idea was to have a nice drive in the Pyrenees and stay in a picturesque village in Andorra, and I think we chose the perfect hotel in the perfect town. It was obviously off season (post-ski, pre-summer) as everything was very quiet at the Ski Plaza and in Canillo, but we found the staff to be very accommodating and gracious, especially Alejandro at the reception desk.

We had a very spacious room that was well-appointed; our only quibble was that the beds were not the most comfortable and therefore only 4 points out of 5. They should probably be replaced. We had a lovely view of the mountains from our room.

We saw very few other guests during our stay, and we were the only ones at breakfast in the morning, but the hotel put out a complete (and very nice) buffet nonetheless. We were actually a little surprised at how extensive it was.

The fitness center was a bit small but did have a few cardio machines, and the spa area was nice. It was actually so quiet at the hotel that the machines had all been switched off, but the staff was happy to switch them on again.

The hotel is directly across the street from the Palau de Gel (Ice Palace), and we were sorry not to have had time enough to enjoy some of the activities there. It's really amazing, with a gym, swimming pool and huge ice rink; they even have go-kart racing on the ice.

We would definitely go back to Canillo and the Ski Plaza. It was very nice in the spring time, and it must be especially nice during the winter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for a ski break that we booked independently. The hotel is generally a lovely, well managed, tastfully furnished boutique style hotel, with a calm and relaxed atmosphere (with a couple of exceptions ...) The hotel has a small and cozy lounge area, and the food is wonderful with plenty of choice and variety each morning and evening. There is a separate bar downstairs where family fun and games are held throughout the day and into the evening ~ led and hosted by a children's entertainer.

We parked in the free parking bays (marked out in blue) on the main road approx 50m from the hotel, left our skis and boots in the car and drove to the El Tarter lift every day, which saved us the slog up to the Canillo lift, and the 10 euro parking fee which is charged when arranging parking through the hotel.

The hotel is directly opposite the Ice Palace, which we looked around but didn't use. There is a nice ice skating rink, pool, restaurant and other facilities which would be great to use if we had the time ... but we didn't.

The hotel is next door to a pharmacy, and there is a ski hire shop within the hotel and another a couple of doors away. There are also restaurants and a supermarket virtually on the doorstep.

The doorman was hilarious in that he was never on 'door duty' and spent all his time talking to the reception, bar and waiting staff. The reception staff were very helpful and arranged for us to have a packed lunch made available as we needed to leave before breakfast for our return journey. I had requested a 'non smoke smelling' room and mountain view and we were given both. Check in and check out was smooth, efficient and professional.

One of the waitresses was excellent and really stood out as being very competent and highly skilled (she has short, dark, bobbed hair). The rest leave a lot to be desired; and one waitress was noticably chewing gum. I lost count of the amount of times a waiter/waitress leant across one of us to retrieve plates off the table. I also didn't like having the plates scaped and staked in front of me on the table.

The bar staff are very laid back and have a wicked sense of humour. A plus is that they don't jump down your throat as soon as you sit down in the bar or lounge area. The drawback is you might wait a while before you are approached; easily overcome by popping to the bar and having your drinks delivered to your table.
Drink prices were very reasonable; house red wine at 8.5 euro and bottled water at 3 euro.

The hotel room was bright and airy and large enough to accomodate our ski clobber. The beds were lovely and firm. We had a 'double' room which is essentially two singles pushed together. The bathroom was fairly large with a nice, long, deep bath with an overhead shower ~ the bath was bliss after a hard day skiing. The hotel provides bathrobes and plenty of towels and complementary toiletries. There is a safe in the wardrobe which is free of charge, and a fridge with a mini bar. There is also free internet access throughout the hotel, which is ideal as we had our laptops with us; reception instantly supplied us with the access code upon our request. There are also two internet connnected pc's set up in the reception area that available free of charge.

Some hotel residents were less than respectful when returning from their night out; stomping along corridors, singing and talking loudly; but that isn't the fault of the hotel. Likewise, smokers had no hesitation in lighting up; even in the designated non smoking area of the hotel lounge area, so the lobby and hotel corridors are smoke ridden at times.

There are some building works taking place outside the rear of the building, but they didn't disturb us as we were out all day. I can't comment on the leisure facilities as we didn't use them but they did look nice.

Overall, a very nice hotel which I have awarded 4/5 ~ only because the restaurant staff could do with some training to increase their finesse and the doorman could be better placed doing his job and welcoming you as you arrive.

Lastly, we don't know what happened mid way during our stay (on Wed 23rd Feb) and guessed there might have been an inspection or management visit? ... the atmosphere changed and the staff morphed from relaxed and efficient to edgy and harassed. The restaurant seemed to be overbooked, tempers and attitudes of hotel guests were frayed with lots of elbowing and pushing in around the food service area, and the attention, service and attitude of the waiting staff service was very poor. However, this was a one off and I'm only mentioning it so the hotel are aware.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelplazaandorra, Quality Manager at Ski Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Clients.
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion concerning your recent stay with us.
We constantly review the quality of the service offered to our guests, so it is very useful for us to take into account the thoughts and opinions of our guests.
Furthermore, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about the room and other general services that offers the Hotel.
Naturally, I feel distressed to read about the comments of our restaurant staff and doorman. Our Quality System includes some training to improve our services and foremost the customer care.
I trust that this incident did not completely detract from your enjoyment of your stay and that we may welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

stopped there a night,
don't know why it has 5 stars... it is more a 3-4 star range ski hotel but it's OK cos the price is also 3-4 star range so it's fine
rooms are very clean and has everything one needs, got a room on the river side so it was so quiet that we slept with the window open, very nice.
the restaurant was OK for dinner... breakfast was very very good.
good facilities like hot tub , sauna, gym.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ski Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Plaza Hotel

Address: Ctra General s/n, Canillo AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Canillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Canillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ski Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical Pyrenees village, romantic and peaceful, stands at the foot of the Roc del Quer (1990 m), in the heart of Canillo. Aromas of solid wood and its evocative rustic chimney invite you to dream and talk. Very close by, the Palau de Gel d´Andorra -which customers have free access to- and the cable-car which goes up to the Grandvalira pistes. Welcome to the heart of the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ski Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ski Plaza
Ski Plaza Hotel Andorra/Canillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.