We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Diamond of a Property !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours to your Saves list
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7001 Corbould Dr, Stuie, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off Meal Plan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Williams Lake, Canada
1 review
“An Absolute Diamond of a Property !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Thank you everyone at Tweedsmuir Park Lodge for making our stay fantastic in every way! We shall definately return!

This lodge is a MUST for everyone of every age group. From the moment I cast my eyes around the Tweedsmuir Park Lodge it was like entering a majestic world, in a word - BEAUTIFUL. to give you a brief description of what I saw; tall amazing mountains surround this property with the Atnarko river literally in it's back yard! Manicured grounds with lots of space for privacy, opportunities to see a variety of wild life right from this property. The air smells so fresh , clean and sweet. - Heaven...
The Tweedsmuir Park Lodge and it's staff will fufill your wants and needs with grace and precission - excellence. As this place has a VARIETY of things to do, the choice's are yours for the asking. And I am sure if it's a request that's not on hand right away they will find a way to make it happen!The point I want to emphasize to all reading this, is the lodge offers such a VARIETY of things for people to do. To list only a few you can just relax or fish on the Atnarko right in the back yard of this property or fly in to fishing places that are normally hard to get to, go hiking, skiing, swimming and the list goes on.....
As for the luxury accomidations in private chalets, ours and other peoples we visited are gorgeous!
And of coarse the food - Excellent - the best is you are gauranteed really good portions of absolute delicious.
Thanks Again.
Professional Travel Counsellor
Toni. L.

Room Tip: The Grizzly Chalet was the one we stayed in but they are all out standing chalets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
57
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived by ferry in Bella Coola around midnight, and since the lodge is one hour drive from the port we stayed at the Bella Coola Inn. A modest establishment, clean, air conditioned with a coffee maker in the room. We had a good night's sleep after a long day.

The following day we drove to the lodge. The location is magnificent and the views from our cabin (the eagle) were spectacular. The cabins have lots of big windows that do not open and not shielded from the sun. We were startled by the bright light at 5:30 a.m. There is no A/C, very poor light in the bathroom and no screen at the front door. The cabin felt like a hothouse and we were given two small fans. The sitting arrangement in the restaurant is set up for families and/or groups. Long dark tables (like picnic tables), benches and wooden chairs highly unsuitable for fine dining.

The resort is situated in the wilderness, however, the cabins do not provide even a coffee maker. Meals or cold drinks are ONLY available at the lodge. There is a BBQ for the use of the guests and the first night we enjoyed dinner on our porch savoring the views. We were equipped with a picnic basket and had all necessary utensils. The lodge has a beautiful deck overlooking the mountains and valley, however, meals are served only inside. Since there is no A/C, it was muggy and uncomfortable to even go in for a second cup of coffee ..... which is complimentary.

This is an accurate description of the lodge, and maybe acceptable by most people, but we found the Bella Coola Inn more accommodating and considerate of their guests.

Room Tip: The Eagle Cabin is the best "hothouse" with magnificent view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My family spent 5 nights in this incredible spot and I really can't say enough about what a wonderful experience we had. The cabin we stayed in was simply and tastefully appointed and very comfortable. Laying in bed, we looked out onto a mountain that was reminiscent of the Swiss alps. The lodge itself was very inviting and I enjoyed relaxing in front of the enormous fireplace with a book. My kids kept themselves very busy with the pool table, ping pong, foosball and darts during our downtime.

We went on some great excursions that the staff at Tweedsmuir Lodge helped to arrange. Heli-hiking was a particularly exciting adventure. We also enjoyed taking a river drift and hiking and fishing. The Petroglyphs were amazing -- the kind of thing you see at a natural history museum except these were up a trail with a First Nations escort to explain their meaning and history. On our last day, we used the lodge's mountain bikes and went for a 16k ride, visiting some abandoned homesteads.

Creature comforts were of the highest quality. We anticipated the dinners with particular pleasure. The manager, Rebecca, was warm and welcoming with a great sense of humor and seemingly endless patience as she helped us with every aspect of our visit.

We look forward to a return visit and recommend it without reservation. I can only imagine how gorgeous it must be in the winter.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was my trip, only this time in the summer season. I just love this place, this trip was to view the scenery, and the bears of course, if they were around. Well my expectations were not one of disappointment. I went on two great hikes with Douggie, 7 hours one day one way and 9 hours one day the other way. Two wonderful drifts down a faster flowing river this time with Kenny. The scenery was so fresh looking and ever so Green looking. My photos show the green colouring as i saw it. They say Ireland and New Zealand are Green, you can add this lodge's surrounds to the list as being Green. The lodge has four Iceland ponies, i remember Punk and Zappers' names but have forgot the other twos' name. I did not get a chance to go for a horse back ride but, these horses had the right length of legs for an oldie like me. They were -so it appeared - very docile, and they just love carrots. I saw birds, insects, slugs, flowers, rock paintings, and of course a couple of bears, but they were around believe me their poo was very evident here and there. The staff at the lodge, Rebecca, Oliver the house keeping lass, and the Chef were ever so wonderful and caring not just to me but to their other visitors. Of course the meals were again very very yummie! The cabin i had this time was just as great and warm and very welcoming as last time. The view was exceptional, and the early long walk each day around the property was exhilerating, even caught a glimpse of Bob the resident bald eagle very high up on a very very high tree. I can assure anyone thinking of paying a trip to this lodge would not be disappointed. I am now saving up for a third visit next year, i have already advised " I'll be back! "

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived at midnight off the Bella Coola ferry to a very warm welcome from Rebecca who showed us straightaway to our cabin without bothering about the paperwork. She proved incredibly knowledgable about the area, local flora and fauna and gave us excellent suggestions on where we should go in our very limited time - the salmon hatchery was an unexpected highlight. Food exceptional, served by the very friendly and attentive Olivia. We loved it.

Room Tip: Two tips - if it's available ask for 'The Grizzly'. If not, ask for a cabin where the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a glorious place to stay. The views are unbelievable, the rooms are spacious and clean, and to top it off, you are so close to awesome bear sightings. Did I mention the food is excellent too? Don't hesitate about making this your destination. Wish I could go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We needed a break after intense work projects, and planned on lazing around a beach in Hawaii. A friend sent us a social-media deal for three days in July at Tweedsmuir Park Lodge near Bella Coola. We'd heard of the lodge - in relation to helicopter skiing combined with luxury accommodations - plus, the central British Columbia coast was on our bucket list.
It was quiet while we were there, before the busy Grizzly-viewing season, and we are not fishers, so we used the lodge as we'd use a Hawaii resort - to read, laze on the deck watching the mountains become moving tapestries with white clouds and blue skies, use the fitness room, and for a couple of forays into the area - once on an excellent guided hike and once alone on our bikes.
Rebecca provided us with a seemingly-endless parade of delicious foods from any breakfast item we asked for, to dinners ranging from Arctic Char to grass-fed BC beef. We had the lodge mostly to ourselves in the evenings, and watched a few movies on the big screen.
I expect the busy ski and Grizzly and fishing times are a different experience, but next time we need to chill out in July we'll head to Tweedsmuir rather than Hawail.
The only thing I'd change is, we'd fly in next time. We drove, and the Chilcotin was gorgeous, but once was enough.
(And although the Tweedsmuir lodge recommends it as a stop on the way for drivers, I do NOT recommend the Historic Chilcotin Lodge Country Inn at Riske Creek. The idea of a B&B on the way sounded lovely, but it was expensive and uneven quality - lovely accommodations one night, a cramped room with cramped single beds the next. A line up for the shared bathroom in the morning. The food was Walmart/Costco quality: artificially sweetened juice, plastic jam packs and dishwater tea and coffee - maybe OK for an adventure trip off the beaten road, but a big disappointment considering the prices were the same as at a serious foodie restaurant.)
Tweedsmuir itself had no such issues - everything was top quality, and for fair prices.

Room Tip: If you're afraid of wildlife, ask for a cabin close to the main lodge. There is always a chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours

Address: 7001 Corbould Dr, Stuie, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Stuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Grizzly Bears! The historic Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, set on 60 acres of private land within the vast wilderness of British Columbia's largest protected park, is the ideal setting for your wilderness adventures. Originally built in 1929 as a hunting and fishing resort, today the lodge accommodates those seeking out a more eco-friendly adventure as well as a relaxing refuge from the pressures of modern life. The surrounding environment is stunning. Rising above the valley floor are the majestic Coast Mountains, to the west is the largest fjord system in the Americas, and to the east the high Chilcotin Plateau. It is a bio-diverse and spectacular wilderness, home to the totemic wildlife of the Great Bear Rainforest. Nestled in the largest protected park in British Columbia, the Lodge is only an hour flight from Vancouver. Consistent winners of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence and the Traveller's Choice award as part of their Top 25 Small Hotels (Canada), guests stay in private timber chalets on property bordering the Atnarko and Bella Coola Rivers. Thanks to healthy fish stocks, the Lodge is situated amongst one of the world's largest Grizzly Bear populations. The Canadian Tourism Commission has included Tweedsmuir Park Lodge's Grizzly Bear Safaris in their prestigious 'Signature Experiences Collection'. Participants enjoy the tours due to the small group size (maximum of four people) and the absence of man-made fishing channels. All river travel is on non-motorized drift boats, giving participants a more natural experience. In addition to Grizzly Bear Viewing guests can also enjoy; heli-fishing, heli-hiking, fly-fishing, Guided Nature Hikes, photography, First Nations culture, excursions on the inlets or even summer heli-skiing! Relax by the fireplace, enjoy a new spa and a massage, soak in the outdoor hot-tub, or simply retire to the lodge deck for drinks. Definitely keep your eyes open for local wildlife, including grizzly bears, which may lumber past on the lawn. Tweedsmuir Park Lodge is a founding member of The Magnificent 7 - Luxury Wilderness Lodges of Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweedsmuir Park Hotel Stuie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tweedsmuir Park Lodge - Bella Coola Grizzly Bear Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.