We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A characterful pub with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatchet Inn

The Hatchet Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hatchet Inn to your Saves list
The Hatchet Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower Chute, Lower Chute, Chute SP11 9DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lower Chute B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A characterful pub with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday lunch time as a welcome halfway stop on a walk. The pub is obviously very popular with the tables soon filling up. The menu is written on chalk boards in the entrance hall which causes a little but of congestion but is part of the fun. It was a nice touch to be able to read the newspaper while waiting for the food to arrive. The food was very good especially the tempura battered prawns and the moules with frites. We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed seeing Marmite, the landlords small dog. We hope to be back soon to enjoy lunch in the garden in the sunshine so we can admire the pretty thatched inn from the outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hatchet Inn for 2 nights B & B and we also ate our evening meals in the pub (it is in the middle of nowhere).
The rooms are clean and have all the facilities you need but the main thing is the building and the surroundings, we stopped in the thatched building (rooms 5 to 7), rooms 1 to 4 are in another building which looks good but is not thatched.
The landlord Gerry is very friendly and his dog Marmite is equally so - it is a very 'Dog friendly' place with several dogs usually there.
The breakfasts are excellent with plently of good quality food - the same goes for the pub meals, there is a large choice and again excellent quality.
The main reason for our visit was to go to Thruxton for the Touring Cars - it is only 15 minutes away, but we would go again just to stop in this perfect old English village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Although we've been to the Hatchet plenty of times in previous lives (1990s), this was our first visit since 1998. We'd been to Buddha Chinese restaurant in Andover and wanted to continue the evening somewhere convivial but out of town. We arrived around 9pm to find a live band in full swing (covers of Kaiser Chiefs and Kings of Leon, apparently, performed with enthusiasm but somewhat rough around the edges) and the bars packed with the usual cosmopolitan Hants crowd of weekending City types and locals.

Lots of people were eating or had been and seemed to be enjoying themselves, as we have done in days gone by. We got lucky and found a long table to accommodate our group of eight. Drinks in, we settled down to carry on talking and mulling over the day.

Lively atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff rounded off the evening of what had been an emotional day (funeral). Glad to see the Hatchet has still got it - perhaps we'll be back next time we're in that neck of the woods, wherever it was! Signposting locally is poor and the narrow lanes are in a shocking state, so take your satnav, 1:50,000 OS map and watch out for potholes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have not stayed at the Hatchet but eat there when in the area. Beams, Real Ales, Log Fires in winter, welcoming landlord, and reasonable food.
Full of friendly locals, lovely garden area in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you ever wanted to show a foreign visitor what a proper English pub should look like, The Hatchet is the place.
Massive warm fire, full of country folk and well kept beers.
The landlord is friendly and food is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

was driving behide the hatchet van and read the wording so thought i would have a look.
So i took my sister the with my mum and Dad as we were visting her in luggersore. If you are ever in Andover go and have a meal there as food very good and it is the best Old English Pub i have been to in years, it what English Pubs where with all the old charm but with all the moden cons. did not stay but if the Pub is anything to go by the rooms must be good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a meal here on a Saturday night with no booking, staff were very friendly and accommodated us with no fuss, food was very good all homemade and very tasty! The homemade banoffe pie was to die for! Reasonably priced and we will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatchet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatchet Inn

Address: Lower Chute, Lower Chute, Chute SP11 9DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chute > Lower Chute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Chute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hatchet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th century thatched country inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hatchet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatchet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.