We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nhonguane Lodge: An exceptional holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nhonguane Lodge

Nhonguane Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machangulo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nhonguane Lodge
Save
You added Nhonguane Lodge to your Saves list
Machangulo Peninsula | Santa Maria, Machangulo, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Durban
1 review
“Nhonguane Lodge: An exceptional holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

After returning home recently (January 2012) from an 8 day stay at Nhonguane Lodge, I must take exception to the above comments. I cannot believe that somebody would complain about accommodation because their child got bitten by something in the night. IT IS AFRICA, if bugs bother you, you shouldn't be vacationing in Africa.
After a grueling drive (our trailers collapsed en route), we were ecstatic to find this oasis on the shores of Maputo Bay. For us, it was paradise. White sandy beaches, air-conditioned bedrooms, a beautiful pool, and an exquisite kitchen. The staff were incredibly friendly. To Leisa J who did nothing but moan above, how on earth can you complain about the fluctuations of the tide? We used this time to explore the area or walk the few minutes around the peninsula to the mighty Indian Ocean, and then did our swimming and snorkelling when the tide came in. We caught our own fish, or bought from the locals who came to find us. The owners of the resort have become close friends because of the wonderful, unforgettable time we had there. Africa is about adventure. If you cannot handle it, Leisa J, do not ruin it for the those that can. The Nhonguane Lodge rates on my top ten destinations, and I am a travel show presenter.

Room Tip: All the properties are great, but only a few look directly over the beach, ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The travel Agent we booked through has a lot to answer for!

We arrived on Thursday evening after battling big seas in a 17ft boat from Maputo...we got battered - We were expecting a much bigger boat....

The accomodation was represented to be 5 star - The place was more like a 2-3 star adventure fishing tourist place.

We went there for relaxing and fishing - We didnt do any fishing as the only boat they had for fishing had NO SHADE! (I have fair skin,,,, i would become PeriPeri Chicken without shade!) This was really disappointing.

So we stayed one night and left the next morning.

The place is a good for really keen fisherman..... it did not suit our style and thus its more so our travel agents fault.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

When we booked this trip I should have known that the "special deal" we were given was to good to be true. We were so excited and decided to take the long drive for this so called "piece of heaven on earth". How disappointed we were, the accomodation was filthy, my child got bitten by something whilst sleeping, the whole family came down with upset tummies after being advised to drink the "safe water", the boat, fishing, snorkelling trips that we were offered were non existent and the "fresh prawns, fish and crab caught daily and for sale" and offered to us upon making our reservation did not exist. The resort is on a Mangrove and if the tide is not right there is no beach at all for swimming (no one ever advised us of this, one would think they should have especially with young children). If you choose to visit the beach you have no choice but to drive to another beach and walk down the steepest hill. This was pretty difficult with a hip replacement and small children. We booked for 10 days but it was so unbearable that we left after 5 loosing the monies we had saved for our holiday. I would not recommend this for a family holiday or any other holiday for that matter.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLAnton, Owner at Nhonguane Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Traveler
After owning this establishment for 8 years I can assure you that "Leisa J's" opinions are the exception and not the norm.
As I stay on the premises full time - but unfortunately was not at Santa Maria during this particular Guest's stay because of car problems - if she had communicated her problems during her stay - not as she was packing "with a sick teenager" we could have resolved many of her issues regarding "activities" by using other operators in the area.
The one time they did phone to say there is a problem and they will be arriving late I even had a meal prepared for them - so that they wouldn't have to cook late at night after such a long drive.
The seafood we sell on site is always fresh though it is frozen.
And all who stay here drink the water.
Our cleanliness is impeccable and our staff always willing to assist.
It is unfortunate that some Guests expect to be bought into silence because they threaten to smear your name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nhonguane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhonguane Lodge

Address: Machangulo Peninsula | Santa Maria, Machangulo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Machangulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Machangulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponta Torres - Nhonguane Lodge offers self-catering accommodation in luxury houses, overlooking Inhaca island. Our warm climate ensures we enjoy the ocean year-round and all it has to offer: snorkeling, whale-watching, scuba-diving. The area has excellent sea-food, and the Maputo Elephant Reserve is just an hour's drive away through the pristine pans and sand forest. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhonguane Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.