We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service - simply fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Handley Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Handley Farm
Save
You added Handley Farm to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   B3227, Waterrow TA4 2BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2014 Offer
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service - simply fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from a great stay at Handley Farm after 8 of us booked the self catered, Handley cottage and 2 of their BB rooms as we had a wedding to attend near by - have to say, extremely impressed, the owners were just so friendly, the location was beautiful, the hot tub was ace, the breakfasts were delicious, it was about as close to perfect as it could be! Now, don't expect 5 star accommodation (although they said that they were upgrading the properties to that standard in the coming months), the decor is a little on the tired side (at least in the cottage we stayed in) but if you want clean, warm, happy, welcoming and honestly great service (Dan bought us his freshly home baked bread every morning) then you can't get any better than this splendid find - just go book it, you won't regret a moment.

Room Tip: If with a large group, book the barn with the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, you were such a great group of people to host, we really do hope you come back and book with us next time you are in Somerset. Don't forget, we can sleep upto 18 people at Handley Farm, so a great location for a get together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Myself and various members of my family stayed at Handley Farm for a nearby wedding. It was on a list of places to stay near to the venue, it suited us as my sister was looking for a room for both her, her partner and their 2 children, but wanted breakfast and not self catering.

It wasn't the easiest place to find due to most sat navs sending everyone through loads of tiny country lanes with grass growing in the middle, however is located right on the B3227. The is a very uneven drive that passes in between 2 fields one of which had some massive cows in. This then becomes a small courtyard for parking, there is also a children's play area there. Watch out for the free range chicken "Maud" who wonders round the place.

I stayed in the Nuthatch room which was a really good size, containing a very comfy bed. There was loads of storage for items. There was a tv and dvd player and a fridge in the corner that had a small jug of milk in, perfect for keeping bottles of drink cold. Upon arrival in the room there was a fruit basket with a bottle of apple juice, s packet of homemade fudge and some freshly baked macaroons, what a lovely welcome.

Attached was a good size shower room, the shower was fine, nice towels and robes for use while there. There is also a games room that can be used containing a table tennis table, pool table and dart board, one tip make sure you've got some ping pong balls as I think the other group staying had either trodden on them all or stolen them :0)

The best reason to stay here however is the breakfast... what a fantastic farm house breakfast. There was a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, freshly made croissants, and then a cooked to order breakfast. The full English is cooked to perfection, and accompanied by loads of toast and fruit juices.

Daniel and Catherine are the perfect hosts, there are incredibly welcoming and friendly, they are really easy to talk to, and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. One issue, the mobile phone reception is rubbish in the whole area (nothing to do with the farm itself)

I would return in a heartbeat and we are thinking of holding a family get together there in the future!

Room Tip: I don't think you would find a bad room in the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review. We do like to ensure our guests are well looked after at all times. An order for a large amount of ping pong balls has been placed. :). Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable two night stay sleeping in the Nuthatch room at Handley Farm. This attractively decorated room is spacious and very comfortable with everything you need to relax and enjoy the stay. All the little extras made the stay more enjoyable and special e.g. a jug of milk in the little fridge for cups of tea and coffee, home made biscuits and local chocolates were all enjoyed. Daniel and Katherine gave us a warm friendly welcome and Katherine cooked us a hearty breakfast and a delicious evening meal which surpassed our expectations. She is an excellent cook and we bought some of her award winning homemade jam to take home. We loved the area and enjoyed looking around the pretty town of Wiveliscombe. All in all we will be recommending this quality accommodation to all our family and friends and it will be our first choice of B&B when we visit the area again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It was wonderful having you to stay at Handley Farm. Delightful guests and a real pleasure to have made your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you and some of your friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked the self catering Cider Barn at the last minute for a long weekend over the February Half Term. We knew that the owner Daniel was in the middle of renovating the bathroom and this was not a problem for us.

The Cider Barn is lovely and cosy and the reason we booked our stay there is for the lovely new Hot Tub! We spent most of our weekend in it! We imagined that our 2 children might have been a little bored as the location is very rural and fairly isolated but they both loved it and were rarely out of the hot tub. When they were dry and dressed we ventured for a walk around Daniel's land and he took us on a tour to meet his lovely Aberdeen Angus cattle. We also wandered around the lakes. We didn't venture too far as it is was cold and rainy but we did make it to Dulverton the nearest town which had a some lovely independent shops,

The barn was lovely and peaceful, we were the only guests staying I think but even so I don't think noise would be an issue. Daniel showed us around the other accommodation all of which looks wonderful and inviting and we would be happy to stay in any of them.

The self catering kitchen was really well equipped with top of the range items including dish washer and washing machine. We did have a few issues with the TV reception and the WIFI didn't work properly for the last few days of our stay but I am sure these will be sorted by now.

Daniel popped in with some homemade sweets and bread which just added to our lovely stay. We really intend to return soon, such a fabulous break and we are very lucky to have found Cider Barn.

Room Tip: Watch out for the lone chicken on arrival !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is lovely to hear that you had a great time and you will be back again in the future. The TV is fixed (the aerial had been knocked) and the Wifi is up and running. We have a new Outdoor Play area as well now, so plenty of things to do on your return. We also have 4 new chicks so they will be penned in with our very friendly free range one when they are a little older.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at Handley Farm on New Years Eve. The weather had been terrible but we received a warm welcome. We were served home baked biscuits still warm from the oven and the tea and coffee making facilities were very well stocked with mugs and cups and saucers. Even a tea cosy. We had a good nights sleep and were served a really excellent breakfast. Overall the room was excellent, spotlessly clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed hosting you all, you were all such fun. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbys
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night, but would've loved to have stayed longer and spent more time here.
The accommodation is really easy to find, and up a driveway off the main road. (Quite a relief as many of the roads are incredibly narrow single track ones in the area! There was no traffic noise though!)
The family room was perfect - warm, lots of space, quality furniture, and an awesomely comfortable bed, which we didn't want to get out of!
Catherine had left us home made biscuits, and a fabulous selection of drinks, fruit and snacks, including chocolate fudge. There was a mini fridge in the room with a jug of milk - also handy for chilling bottled water etc!
Breakfast was delicious. Freshly baked bread straight out of the Aga, home made jams and a good choice of English breakfast, omelette, yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals, and fresh orange and apple juice.
At night the sky was clear, and with there being very little light pollution, the stars were fantastic! You could even see the Milky Way.
My only criticism would be that the shower lacked power (I'm not used to electric showers!)
I'd certainly recommend Handley Farm, and we'd gladly stay there again. It's perhaps more expensive than other bed and breakfasts, but we think it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We needed a bed for one night for us and our dog. Although the dog friendly room was occupied, they still allowed us to stay in a different room. We received a basket with fruit and chocolat. And they baked fresh cookies! Beautiful surroundings were our dog could run around. Add to this a super breakfast and all round friendliness and you have a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Handley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handley Farm

Address: B3227, Waterrow TA4 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Waterrow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Waterrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Handley Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handley Farm offers top quality self-catering cottages and bed and breakfast accommodation. Set in a stunningly beautiful rural location you are ideally placed to enjoy the natural delights of Exmoor, the rugged North Devon coastline and the countryside of Devon and Somerset. Set in a pretty south-facing courtyard, all our accommodation is equipped and furnished to an exeptionally high standard, which is matched by our hospitality and commitment to customer service. Enjoy a truly memorable holiday - treat yourself to a stay at Handley Farm and you may become one of our many visitors who come back again and again. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handley Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.