We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birling House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birling House B & B
Alders Road | Capel Tunbridge Wells, Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 6SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Capel B&B and Inns
Yateley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a great few days in August with Bob in his very comfortable B&B in the Kent countryside and would not hesitate to visit again should we be in that area.

It is only about 20 minutes from the M25 junction so easy to find. The county lane in front of the house is a little busy during morning and evening rush hours but very quiet during night and the rest of the day. Bob has installed secondary glazing in the bedrooms so any traffic noise does not cause a problem for anyone who wishes to have a lazy start to their days

We had the double bedroom with its private bathroom just across the corridor, that suited us well. The room is well presented and clean with an amazing WHITE carpet!! How trusting is that? The bed is comfortable; the linen clean and crisp; the rooms spotless with plenty of towels in the bathroom

A great deal of thought has gone into the running of this establishment and it could not be bettered. The guests' lounge is on the ground floor and leads to a 'study' area with plenty of information on local places of interest to visit - or just countryside walks. Bob is always eager to answer any queries too

The Conservatory is ideal for a Dining area and looks out onto a secluded garden

Bob is an ideal host who is attentive without being intrusive

Room Tip: The two rooms have their own private bathroom with basin and toilet facility. The double room has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Many thanks for such a great review! It was lovely that you could stay here long enough to take in the best of the local attractions, our excellent local pub and my "Kent Breakfasts" I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I found this on trip advisor - we have friends who live nearby and we wanted somewhere to stay.

Well this is a wee gem of a place to stay - Bob the owner is very friendly and if he can help in anyway then he will.The house is stunning and the rooms were just lovely. Clean, warm and well appointed. There is everything that you could want from choc bics to decaf coffee.

We had the double bed room with its own bathroom just across the hallway. I wanted to take the bathroom with me when we left as we had 'bathroom envy'!! This is the room to get!!!!

The breakfast the next day was wonderful - anything that you wish for is yours. The food is well cooked and locally sourced. It tastes great!!!

Bob even gave us a lift to our friends house rather than get a taxi - he had just taken the other guests up to the wedding that they were attending.

This is a great wee place to base yourself for travelling and coming back to a warm and friendly welcome.

Although parking is at a premium Bob gives up his own driveway to allow guests to park.

This is the place to stay and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Following such a marathon drive, you desrved a great weekend, and I am delighted it turned out that way! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - and such an encouraging review too. Provided my schedule allows, I really am always happy to help with lifts to local venues if it helps make the weekend stress free. The "Kent Breakfast" I serve is just a taster for some of the great produce we have locally - come back soon for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Many thanks to Bob for a great one night stay for me and my family! We were attending a wedding nearby and Bob made everything very easy, he even organised the taxi for us!

Completely agree that the breakfast is great and the quality and cleanliness of the rooms superb!

Would definitely stay again if I was in the area

Thanks again Bob!

Fabio

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am so pleased that your weekend went so well and I was able to help make it stress free. Thank you so much for your positive remarks, I look forward to you returning to visit some of the great attractions around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Birling House is exactly what a good B&B should be. Really comfy bed with quality linen in a spotless room, and a top notch breakfast - eggs from the hens in the field behind the garden, tomatoes from the garden and excellent bacon and sausages from the pig farm up the road. Lots of cereals and fruit etc on offer too. The house is on a quiet lane and although Bob said cars did pass by in the morning, we didn't notice. Bob is a great host who clearly treats his guests as if they're family members staying over and we would thoroughly recommend Birling House as a great place to stay. Great value too. Forgot to write in the guest book before we left so, if you're reading this, thanks again Bob. Steve and Jo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your encouraging comments - especially about the "Kent Breakfast Scheme" which has focussed me on getting great LOCAL produce onto the breakfast table. Glad you were able to visit some of the best attractions, including Batemans, lots more to see so come back for longer next time! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, spotlessly clean and maintained . Superb breakfasts , with virtually everything on the plate locally sourced . Bob is a superb host and you get the impression that nothing is too much trouble for him. Genuinely a great bloke who loves what he does. Highly recommended , we will definitely stay there again the next time we're in the area.
The nearby dovecote pub is also a must , excellent food . Ask bob to book you a table or they'll be booked up. Martin and Marie.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - and such a great review too! I am delighted that your weekend was such fun, and you were able to enjoy the delights of our real Kent local pub just down the road. Thanks for your good humour and lots of laughs, come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ok this B&B is in Kent the garden of England so thats a plus Bob the owner is a great guy nothing is to much trouble the rooms are spotless and comfortable . Every day a different breakfast better than we have ever had in some of Londons 5 star hotels, you can even see from the back garden the hens that laid the eggs, you cant get better than that all produce is local and fresh. We live now in Spain and it takes something special to get me back even to Kent, but when I do it will Bobs place we stay at.
Jim & Marian

  • Liked — friendly and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and all the arrangements for the family wedding worked out so well - even the weather was kind to us! I look forward to your return, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

4 of us we're attending a wedding in nearby Tonbridge and Birling House offered the perfect location to stay for the weekend. This charming Kent country cottage is easy to find with good access to the main roads, yet at the same time offers peaceful rural seclusion and the feeling of being off the beaten track. The rooms are cozy, clean and have everything one would find in a 4 star hotel. The en suite bathrooms are again of a standard one normally expects in a 4 star hotel. Guests can also enjoy their own lounge downstairs with access to a beautiful garden via a large conservatory where breakfast is served. There are some beautiful meadows and Kent hop gardens to the rear. Bob is the perfect host, the breakfast is spot on, if you're staying for more than one day, expect slight changes to the breakfast such as different types of sausages or black pudding, all sourced from local ingredients. For our evening meal, Bob was kind enough to book us into the Pub down the lane, which is a cracker, a great selection of local ales and English ciders on tap, and a great menu including large pan fried rostis which come with various toppings. Highly recommended if your'e looking for somewhere in the Tonbridge area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! I could see that you were all up for a really chilled weekend at your family wedding, and so it turned out. The weather was kind to all and in addition to the wedding festivities you were able to enjoy the delights (and the Old Rosie Cider) at our local pub. Thanks for your good humour, come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birling House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birling House B & B

Address: Alders Road | Capel Tunbridge Wells, Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 6SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Capel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Victorian cottage, surrounded by orchards and hop gardens in Kent. We are near Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells, Paddock Wood, Pembury, and the M25, making London accessible. We have a four star Enjoy England B&B rating, with silver and breakfast awards. Bob, your host, looks forward to welcoming you to this peaceful and tranquil B&B in the Kent countryside. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birling House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Birling House B & B to your Saves list