We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family over night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grange Park Lane, Willerby, Kingston-upon-Hull HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family over night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We booked a family room for an overnight stay as we was just visiting the area. The room was massive!!! The biggest family room we've ever stayed in, it was clean and tidy. The only downside abut the room was the bathroom, it was a bit dated and needs a bit of TLC. The staff where really friendly and helpful. The best part to this hotel was the swimming pool and spa facilities, even though the changing areas are a little dated the pool itself was great. Basically as it was a Sunday when we stayed, the pool was empty, the kids had great fun.

We had our evening meal in the hotels restaurant, and wow it was gorgeous did not falter at all. The only thing I would say is when you book dinner, bed & breakfast this does not include the cost of the children's evening meals only the adults. It isn't that clear when booking on their website. We did mention this to the receptionist and he kindly wavered the cost of the children's meals.

The only negative for us was that on the same day there was a wedding on in the hotel. During the day this didn't effect us what so ever but unfortunately between the hrs of 2am-3am all we heard was shouting, swearing, arguing, doors slamming, people knocking on doors.....I understand that this is not directly the hotels fault but it did effect us during the night.

We would definitely come back and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Debs172013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following on from your recent stay.

I thank you for your comments, to which I will share with the team as I am sure they will feel motivated by your review.

Many Thanks


Peter Nye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    101
    54
    27
    12
See reviews for
52
93
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just had a two night stay at Mercure hotel Willerby, excellent value. Staff very friendly and helpful.Room quite large with very big double bed ( 2 x 3' 6'' single beds ) shower good, usual TV, coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice, did not have evening meal so can not comment on that ( it seemed a little pricey ) Only downside is quite a way to walk anywhere, a couple of Pub diners nearby but no proper pubs ( bear in mind if booking ). Other than that it is an excellent Hotel to explore Hull and surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear David L,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review on our Trip Advisor page following your stay with us. We are all really pleased with your feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast so much as a lot of effort and investment has gone into this area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon,


Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The accommodation at the above quite good, comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful also.

The restaurant decor is definitely a bit cold and stark, and needs to be a more cosy and warm. The food whilst not exceptional was nice enough and reasonable value including the breakfast which was fine. What let the place down was the cost of drinks £4 or more for a pint of beer, which is London prices. No house wines on the wine list, the cheapest being about £18/bottle, which again is on the highside for this type of establishment. I'm sure they would sell more wine if they had a house wine for £11 to £12/ bottle.

The Spa centre was very good and also very clean and does compliment the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel following on from your recent stay. We are always grateful to receive constructive feedback.

Its great that you think our team is good, and our rooms of a good standard. I am disappointed to hear that our drinks prices were a let-down for you which is something I will review with Mark our Food & Beverage Manager.

Once again many thanks


Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Staff here are excellent, friendly and efficient. The room we had was comfortable but a little drab and on the small side, we had stayed at the Holiday Inn on the quayside in Hull the previous night in a standard room which was brighter, larger, more modern and with air con. The bathrooms here certainly need upgrading and modernising. With no air con the room was quite hot and stuffy. The hotel is clean and is set is well kept grounds. We had breakfast at 0900 hrs, plenty of choice but some of the cooked food was dried up, so very average. Would not be first choice on our list if we visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear John WAP,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay as much as you could, but delighted to tell you that we have just finished decorating over half of our bedrooms.

I hope that your experience will not deter you from staying here, or at other Mercure Hotels in the future.

Many Thanks


Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night for my son's wedding - where the reception was also held. Reception was efficient and friendly. The room (127) was quite good for the price we paid - apart from a couple of minor niggles, which I'll deal with later. The location is quiet but easily accessible and there is plenty of free parking. The facilities in the hotel were very good indeed and the room where the reception was held was immaculate, which, along with the beautiful setting outside the rear of the hotel really made the day perfect. The bar prices were a bit steep, but not outrageously so. Breakfast was well cooked and very enjoyable. The only slight criticism I have is that whilst the bathroom may have been quite clean in other respects, around the W.C. area smelled of urine. A little more disinfectant/antibac required in the cleaning water - or changed more often is the answer here. Easily overlooked by the cleaners, I know, who no doubt work hard and probably develop an immunity to the whiff, but not very pleasant for the guests, who have to keep the bathroom door closed to keep the odour from entering the bedroom. The Wi -Fi was free as advertised, quite fast and easily accessed by a phone call to reception, who provide the password. Unfortunately the following morning I was unable to connect at all there was no signal. Other than that, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a lovely outlook over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear iggers386_11,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel on Trip Advisor, myself and the team always enjoy receiving constructive feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed 127 which has just been decorated, however I will discuss your comments around the bathrooms with Toni our Housekeeping Manager.

I will log our called with our IT support team about the WiFi issues you have encountered, which will ensure are resolved immediately.

Many Thanks


Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years - the last time was too long ago (when it belonged to a rival chain). Our room was on the ground floor at the back, facing east. We had a room in the corner so double aspect windows looking out onto a treeline road, plus nice shade (the whole week we were there we didnt see a cloud!). This meant that even tho it was hot the room was always nice and cool. Very clean, well maintained, no problems for the short visit (Monday to Friday). Staff very friendly, both in the hotel and in the spa. We made use of the pool which was never very busy. Made use of the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi too. Couldnt bring ourselves to use the Gym - it was enough to watch others!
From our perspective, its very well placed, positioned as it is on a parallel road to the main road, which gives easy access to Hull, Lincolnshire (via The Humber Bridge) and all points North. Their is also a reasonable selection of shops in the strip mall within walking distance (5 minutes), plus a garage.
The only meal we ate in was breakfast which was good as expected. The only reason I didnt rate it as excellent was a lack of Gluten free subsititutes for things like sausages at the breakfast buffet(I am a Coeliac). But honestly this hotel is not alone (as I have found). I will stay again.. its a favourite for trips to see family. Maybe they will have some GF breakfast options next time?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear TheDirger,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park, we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much.

When you are next staying with us please let us know about your breakfast requirements and we will be more than happy to ensure there is Gluten Free options.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon,


Thanks


Peter Nye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, exploring East Yorkshire and York. Our first impressions of the hotel were very favourable, with reception staff generally being very friendly and helpful. The room was well equipped and very large, with the living space being big enough for a full size snooker table! Breakfast was good and included as part of the package, which meant overall the hotel was very good value for money.We did also use the leisure facilities on site on one day. Based on this experience we would happily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Graham C,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it will serve as a great motivator for our team.

We are glad that you enjoyed the size of the room (We are guessing you stayed in one of our newly redecorated Privilege Rooms).

Once again many thanks


Peter Nye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby, Kingston-upon-Hull HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull > Willerby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant three story hotel offering modern amenities; set on twelve acres of landscaped grounds; situated 4 miles from Hull City.The hotel has a swimming pool and leisure area, as well as Free WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.