We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great big room at very reasonable rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grange Park Lane, Willerby, Kingston-upon-Hull HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great big room at very reasonable rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a huge family room. Large double bed ( very uncomfortable though, felt like I was sliding out!) with two single beds for my two boys plus a sofa and usual furniture. Bathroom basic and in need of an update but otherwise clean. Family rooms are simply huge! I agree with other comments that breakfast although nice was a bit basic. More of a small B and B standard, not an international chain. Staff lovely and welcoming and the kids loved the Sebastian Coe leisure facilities. Huge car parking facilities and plenty of room for the kids to kick a football about. I went to university in hull so knew the place really well. Lots of changes and new developments for the better. Loved the old town and museum quarter and new land avenue and princess avenue almost unrecognisable since my university days! Lots of trendy coffee shops and restaurants now. Lovely to be back and the kids loved the deep. Better to pre-book your tickets though as we had a huge wait to get in. All in all I had a lovely time reliving my student days and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you for visiting our hotel recently and posting a review.

Your constructive feedback is helpful to us and we will look into the comments you have given us so that improvements where possible, can be made.

Thank you for mentioning the team here as well and the leisure facilities available.

It certainly is good to learn that you were able to relive your students’ days with your family whilst enjoying the ever improving city, which is so worth exploring and does not always receive the press it deserves.

Hopefully you still have more to explore on your next visit to Hull and East Yorkshire.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    101
    54
    27
    12
See reviews for
52
92
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

"Going to 'Hull' in a handcart" from Norfolk just about sums up one of the most torturous road journeys in the UK. A combination of the A47, A17 and A15 is a monument to the worst of British road planning with only the sight of Lincoln Cathedral and the Humber Bridge to relieve the experience. The city itself has much to commend it though, and the Mercure Grange Park with its 100 rooms is an okay hotel. Very comfortable, warm and welcoming it is surrounded by pretty leafy gardens and boasts an excellent spa with gymnasium under the Sebastian Coe brand (free to residents). As you would expect from Yorkshire folk the staff are friendly without being obsequious. Before I established my own guest house and award winning restaurant I was a hotel critic for airlines and bank privilege programmes so my expectations are frequently unfulfilled, particularly in the catering department. To be fair I only had a couple of breakfasts which were included with the room rate but at menu price these could have cost me £13.50 per person and for that money, I would expect better that an average to poor B+B offering. So if breakfast is a reflection of the standard I'd not hold out much hope for the lunch/dinner menus. I'm also suspicious of too ambitious and expensive a menu in what is obviously not one of Hull's more popular dining venues. So in summing up, the catering department is in need of a real good shake up particularly at breakfast and the bathrooms could do with some fine tuning. Aside from that not bad for the money and a tasteful modernisation of an old manor house in Willerby, a pretty suburb of Kingston-upon-Hull.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Tina,

Thanks for sharing your recent travels and stay here.

We are so pleased that you chose to stay here and thank you for your comments about breakfast which will be addressed.

Willerby is a good location to explore both Hull and the East Yorkshire Wolds.

We hope you will return again when we will try and persuade you eat in the brasserie.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a large function with a prominent after dinner speaker. It had the makings of an excellent evening in prospect, drawing experienced and discerning people from the business world.

The meal was a simple one - soup or salad for starter, chicken or vegetarian for main course, choice of 2 desserts. Difficult to mess up, one might think - but they succeeded where others might fail ...

The soup, allegedly 'freshly made carrot and coriander' tasted anything but. The chicken was rubbery and unassuming, despite being embellished with 'sun-blushed tomatoes' etc (one could imagine why they might have been blushing...). The 'glazed lemon tart' with raspberry salsa appeared to be several days old. The raspberry salsa was the best part - presumably from a tin.

Service was very poor, as service from the bar had been earlier. The 3 staff behind the bar excelled in avoiding eye contact and interaction with customers and were very slow and inexperienced.

Why don't hotels like the Mercure invest in training their staff - and have a hands-on management policy to make sure they're coping?

What a let down. I don't think it will be the chosen venue for future functions for many of those attending.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of the dinner that you attended here recently.

We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion because you found the food and service below par.

Your comments, whilst disappointing, will be shared with the team and taken on board so that improvements and further training can be made where necessary.

We appreciate feedback from our guests as it enables us to continually assess and improve our offering.

Please be assured that we do have a hands-on management approach in our business but accept that we failed you on this occasion so need to do better.

With thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we were greeted politely, given very nice, spacious room and served beautiful food and even when there was a problem with a meal, it was rectified with no qualms. Swimming and spa facilities impeccable and no-one around so doubly good. Ideal spot for nipping into Hull and tucked out of the way of busy roads. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Emma,

Many thanks for highlighting what made your experience here enjoyable.

We are so pleased that you and your family had a good time and hope you will be back to see us in the near future.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A lovely place to stay, the room was very clean, well decorated, everything you needed was there,
The restaurant was excellent, very nice food, staff were excellent, always polite and very seemed very happy to be working there.
It was a very short walk to the bus into the centre of hull, £3.50 day return, even if we had the car there(which we did,'t) it was not worth driving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Hana,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We are grateful for your comments about the food and service you enjoyed whilst here and for highlighting the easy access into the centre of Hull.

All the team enjoyed looking after you during your visit and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good facilities,Pool Gym etc. Clean. Good Food. Bar and Restaurant Staff excellent. Only down side the hot water in the morning took an age to get warm and the TV in the rooms the picture wasn't great and not a great channel selection. Other than that a good week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr Ellis,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that in the main your week was a good one and that you felt well looked after.

Your maintenance feedback has been passed on and TV picture has now been restored, whilst the hot water pump will be investigated further.

We hope you will be back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I am a regular at this hotel staying on average four to six times per year for periods covering two nights to five nights. Just returned from another excellent stay. Staff as usual helpful and friendly. Always difficult to pick out individual staff for praise but this visit Michael, Ann Marie and Jackie in the restaurant together with Gary and Helen on reception. Food as usual excellent. Rooms clean and well serviced. The recreational facilities are excellent. Looking forward to my next visit in April.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Roy,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel and particularly the team that work here.

It is always pleasing to learn that we have been consistent in our service levels and those you have named will be delighted with their special mention.

We constantly strive to improve our hospitality and leisure facilities and welcome your feedback which guides us on.

We look for forward to seeing you in April.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby, Kingston-upon-Hull HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull > Willerby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant three story hotel offering modern amenities; set on twelve acres of landscaped grounds; situated 4 miles from Hull City.The hotel has a swimming pool and leisure area, as well as Free WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.