We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Just Right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pequeno Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chapala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pequeno Hotel
Save
You added El Pequeno Hotel to your Saves list
Zaragoza 313, Chapala 45900, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chapala
Mendoza, Argentina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Small, little noise, central location and very near the Lake Chapala waterfront, clean, newly decorated and loaded with character. Yes, it has strong and free wifi connection in each of the spacious rooms. Best of all, the price is right. It represents value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for the review, glad to have you as a guest. glad you found value in staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were so glad to find this beautiful hotel! After a long day ride on motorbike we arrived to Chapala and started looking for a place to stay, found a couple very pricey places, that were only ok, but then we found this hidden gem. This boutique hotel has a beautiful roof patio, kitchenette and all the rooms are different, very clean and cosy. The owner is really nice and helpful! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for the review, it was a pleasure having you as guests and the information you gave us about your travels was fascinating and helpful. Should you plan another motorcycle trip make sure to come by and at least say Hi. Glad we were able to accommodate you and your motorcycle in our facilities. Please recommend us to any of your friends who may be traveling by motorcycle through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

El Pequeno is in the perfect spot, no car needed. The hotel is full of Mexican Charm.
Beds are very comfortable and everything is very clean.Really like the morning kitchen to
start the day with home made breakfast.
I am going to make reservations again soon and bring family with me next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for the nice review Happy Traveler, you are always welcome back and would love to host you and your family next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Currently here for a week"s stay after a three day stay in Guadalajara. I booked through vrbo.com after seeing videos and pictures of the property online. This is a small boutique hotel that is tastefully remodeled and decorated. The owners have been helpful since arrival with questions regarding the surrounding community. Literarily two blocks away are the Lake and the town square and cathedral. 6 blocks away is the main bus terminal, however a Ajijic bound bus that runs every 15-20 minutes for 8 pesos, can be stopped just 3-4 blocks away. Approximately 6 blocks in the other direction is a great, huge, public park with tennis, basketball, track, pool, and an immense space of benches and picnic tables. And if your one who likes a workout every day, there's a small gym about 4-5 blocks away that has all the equipment you"ll need. The hotels location is great.
There is no air-con and frankly that worried me a little because I can be heat intolerant. However, my room is cool with the windows open and the fan on during the day. There is a nice kitchen area, a secure front door and reliable, fast wifi.
It's very clean and smartly decorated with caring owners. A great find. When I return I will surely try to book a room here first.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the second floor makes runs to the kitchen (on the second floor) quick and easy. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us Bill. Please come back and stay with us again if you are in Chapala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This boutique 4-room hotel is 2 blocks from el centro in Chapala and 2 bocks from the lake has to be rated against others of its type. 5-stars full-service it ain't, but then you are not paying for a pool and a concierge either. It's the kind of hotel I look for when I'm in Mexico: modest rooms, CLEAN! comfortable beds, newish mattresses, clean fresh sheets, clean & thoughtful bathrooms. Fan (which I personally prefer) rather than air conditioning. There are just 4 rooms on 2 floors. Everything is tiled and decor is local-rustic and appealing. The friendly and helpful Canadian owner/operators live on the 3rd floor. There's free wi-fi and help or advice available for anything you need. There's a communal kitchen shared with the other 3 rooms. So you have a fridge and your own personal lockable cupboard in which to store your food and your (provided) dishware. So you can cook, which encourages you to shop at the local central market, which encourages you to use your Spanish. Which means this is a hotel for those who really want to be in Mexico, not in some hermetically sealed Gringo survival capsule. Middle class Mexicans stay here also. In fact, if you stay for as long as a month, besides a price break, you are all but certain to hear in the kitchen languages spoken beyond just English and Spanish. Great little place! I will happily have this as basecamp when I am in the area.
The Area: You are on the lake, and 10 minutes by bus from local artisan enclave and ex-pat mecca, Ajijic. There's a protected bike path to ride the distance if you like. You can explore the whole shore of Lake Chapala, or you are just a 45 minute drive from Guadalajara. I want to see Tlaquepaque again, one of the artisanal suburbs of Guadalajara. This area has been an arts & crafts trading crossroads since pre-Columbian times and it still is that. And then there is also the climate bubble around Lake Chapala, which keeps it from getting so darn hot. Hence the attraction to ex-pats from the North who want to live all year in Mexico.

Room Tip: The 4 rooms are all but identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thanks for the review John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

When it is said that location is everything you will find at this little gem it is not just the location that is everything. Hospitality from the owners, Lynne & Murray was warm and friendly. The rooms are new and like the rest of the hotel spotless. Bed linens are good quality and being able to wrapper yourself up in one of the big bath sheets stepping out of the beautifully tiled walk in shower was wonderful. Step out the door into the best location in Chapala. Just a block from the Melacon and two blocks from the Plaza. On your walk to beautiful Christina park just a few streets away you will pass the American Legion. Restaurants are in abundance along the Melacon but watch out for the free Margaritas with your meals, they are strong. Dessert is easy to find everywhere anytime of day if you are looking for ice cream or gelato. My stay was in February 2012 for the month, female, age 60’s traveling alone, while at the hotel I made friends with other guests we hope to reunite again next winter. Very safe location for women travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
One of the nicest things about our hotel is how close it is to everything including the lakeside. We offer a secure environment which appeals to a lot of our female travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pequeno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pequeno Hotel

Address: Zaragoza 313, Chapala 45900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Chapala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chapala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pequeno Hotel (The Little Hotel) is a grand 75 year old Mexican home that has been completely modernized into a cute little hotel/guesthouse located in the most convenient part of Chapala. With only four guest rooms, and the English speaking owners' apartment on the third floor it feels like home. We offer accommodations per night, week, month, and multiple months to the adult traveler. All of our rooms are decorated in bright, vibrant Mexican colors and decor. They all are furnished with one double bed, end tables, a table and two chairs suitable for use as a desk or to eat at, a wardrobe, and have adjoining private bathrooms with walk-in showers, endless hot and cold pressurized water. We have two rooms on the second floor that are furnished for extended stays with a sleeping area and a sitting area containing a couch or soft chair, and a private refrigerator. Just outside these rooms on the second floor we have a fully furnished kitchen for these guests to use, providing everything needed for a multi-month stay. This in conjunction with offering discount pricing in the low season presents the perfect solution to those who are considering retirement in the area and wish to stay for months and become familiar with lakeside before investing here. We keep the two rooms on the first floor for our guests that are here for only a few nights. You can also enjoy the common areas such as the courtyard, with it's relaxing water feature or the rooftop patio with it's incredible views and greenery. Here you can watch the sunrise while enjoying a cup of coffee, or dine on a meal you prepared in the kitchen, or watch the sunset, perhaps with an evening cocktail. For those arriving on motorcycles we offer secure indoor parking in our single car garage. We are located in the downtown core a block from the lake shore and in the heart of all the tourist facilities. A short walk of a block or two will take you to almost all attractions and services. All the streets in the area are paved with sidewalks, which provides well lit secure walking to the Malecon, local shopping, banks, restaurants, bars, bus and taxi, and almost all the attractions Chapala is known for. NO NEED FOR A CAR HERE. We have helped a lot of people looking to this area for possible retirement make that most important decision and become friends to many along the way. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pequeno Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.