We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bright” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Strada Provinciale 125, 74020 Lizzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizzano
Aarschot, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very bright”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in may.
The rooms are very spaceous, with a fantastich shower.
The swimming pool is fantastic and you will get a nice view over the place.
The whole area is very bright so you will need sunglasses all the time.
The staff is very friendly.
We had dinner every day and we really had great food. Well worth to spend your money.
The masseria is located near the beach (1 km), and located in a very quiet environment.
Taranto is near by (20 km).
A fantastic place to spend your holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
89
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Masseria Bagnara Resort and Spa located in Lizzano, Puglia, Italy is for those who want to experience the real Italian country life along with all the modern luxuries that will pamper you to the maximum. I had the good the fortune of getting to stay at this place recently and it is so beautiful that I won’t be able to explain it in words. You can check out the photographs from the internet and that can give you some idea but believe me, nothing can match the experience of seeing the beauty of this place live in front of your eyes. Just after one trip to this place Masseria Bagnara Resort and Spa has become my favourite place in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Out on a limb south of Taranto this new rural hotel, lovingly converted and extended from farm buildings, is luxurious and a very relaxing place indeed to hole up and unwind. Arranged around a courtyard and in a new terrace alongside the large swimming pool, the rooms are modern, spacious and ours on the 1st floor had lovely views across flat farmland. The service is attentive, verging on overly attentive, and the owners are clearly trying very hard to give the guests a lovel hotel experience, and succeeding in our case. My only quibble is the lack of choice at dinner, none whatsoever, which seems odd for so luxurious and expensive a place. We went out in the evenings to local restaurants and had a much cheaper and more satisfying dining experience rather than sitting with a load of other tourists staying in the same place. The sea is about a km away and the beaches are to die for although they must be mobbed in August. I would go back and that is a rare statement for me to make given the number of other places out there to visit. As for being difficult to find, nonsense, just drive along the coast road and turn inland up road 125 and the Masseria will be found after a km or so on your left hand side up a long private drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've just returned from staying 7 days at Masseria Bagnara with my 2 children and my grown up niece. I can't say enough, how super this hotel is. I having been coming to Puglia for 5 years and just came across this hotel a few months ago. I'm sorry I've missed out on it during my previous stays. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The food was fantastic, the best I've ever had in Puglia. Every menu and dish was different every night. I had planned to eat out a lot more but the food was so delicious I really couldn't find myself to eat else where.
The pool was beautiful but in November a little too cold. I would love to return when it's the summer months to enjoy the heat some more. The hotel is in the most beautiful surrounings and a perfect place to unwind and be pampered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at this charming place in October with a group of our customers .Wonderfull wether - 25 - 27 degrees C, and beautiful sunny days. Masseria Bagnara - this is an unusual place - elegant and very aesthetic, tastefully decorated with a large taste, very friendly and made me feel as good at home. Here I was resting real - tranquillity and quiet, beautiful views all around. Staff very polite and helpful, very discreet. Excellent regional cuisine and wines. The owner took care of every detail. Close to the attractive tourist destinations in Apulia - Ostuni, Arbelobello, Porto Cesare, Lecce.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pinte, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

splendid resort, superfriendly owners and crew, superior food. We had a wonderfull time, superrelaxing vacation. Magnificant architecture. Swimming pool is very large. We had a suite-room with private terras, interior very nice. Also suitable for family's with children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Although the hotel is pretty hard to find, it's well worth the search when you arrive.
The staff is very welcoming.
The rooms are basic, but clean and there's a lot of space.
My room did have a few flaws: the fohn didn't work and for the first two days, I had to shower with cold water. The pool is large and clean and there's pool service.
You can choose to eat dinner in the hotel, but be warned: it's pretty much fish, all the time. They also offer lunch every day.

In general: it's a quiet, clean and pleasant hotel, great for some relaxation. But don't expect to head out every day and discover what's out there: the area doesn't really have cities to discover.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa

Address: Strada Provinciale 125, 74020 Lizzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Lizzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa is set in an old farm house completely renovated to welcome a bright oasis of calm, less than a mile from the crystalline waters of the Ionian coast of Salento. The entire complex of the Resort is the result of sensitivity and skill of several architects who have incorporated environmental and logical design with an original interpretation of the personality and history of the place. Immersed in nature, the resort offers its guests all the charm and cachet of a wellness vacation, made even more memorable by the taste and refinement of taste typical of Puglia. The Farm Cottage retains the original structure, characterized by white walls and arches local tuff and obsolete pagliare made of ancient stones furrowed by time. Indulge pleasantly at the lobby bar or in the large courtyard where breath smells and sensations of past seasons. Just enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, set on a higher level than the area of the court and has a sun terrace to enjoy magnificent panorama of open air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masseria Bagnara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.