We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Vale of Gwent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Cwrt Bleddyn, Llangybi, Usk NP15 1PG, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Vale of Gwent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Having never stayed in this hotel until yesterday, and after reading some of the reviews, I can honestly say we were very surprised what we found.
On arrival a receptionist greeting me with a lovely warm smile, ( the one with dark hair)
Our room only had one cup which was quickly provided by one of the cleaning staff who was very friendly and kind.
The room was of good quality, lovely large bed, quiet location overlooking fields at the rear of the hotel, good size bathroom, plenty of draw space and large wardrobe. Yes in some instances a bit tired, But at the price paid a real bargain. The restaurant was nicely laid out staff were helpful and the food was very very good. We have stayed in lots of Best Western Hotels the food here was the best we have ever had.

The spa was clean and tidy, new equipment in the gym, large changing rooms. Plenty of showers. Towels provided.Helpful staff. Had a treatment a week earlier. Room was bit small but in no way did it detract from the care and attention to a full and correct therapy. Had this therapy somewhere else half was missed out there, Not true in this spa. excellent time keeping, so good I booked another one. Place for your face for a massage was not comfortable and no height adjustment of the bed! ( only complaint). Mas the therapist was very caring and explained exactly in detail what she would do! Overall a very good stay and treatment.
Well worth another visit.

Room Tip: Look beyond first impressions. Well worth a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We use all feedback to improve our standards. I am delighted that Mazz did such a good job. I hope you are able to return to see our new spa packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    129
    96
    58
    29
See reviews for
64
198
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were invited to a wedding at Cwrt Bleddyn at the beginning of August. The hotel is set in very nice grounds with ample car parking. We were unable to get into our room until 3.00 in the afternoon which was a bit late as we had travelled by train and wanted to hang up our wedding clothes. Lunch was a nice sandwich, reasonably priced. Having got to our room we found it quite comfortable, although we had asked for a twin room we were given a double with no twins available, we had a quiet nights sleep, our room overlooked part of the car park and gardens. We spent the afternoon in the bar with other guests and thought the bar a bit pricy. We had dinner in the restaurant and had steak which we thought a bit tough. The next morning we went to breakfast and found many complaints about the food being cold. I went to reception to complain and was referred to the manager who promptly apologised and gave us a refund of the cost, explaining that there had been problems with the heaters under the tureens and that it would not happen the next day. Which it didn't. Some of the rooms are in need of decoration with wallpaper hanging off the walls in at least one of the public rooms. The wedding went off very well and in the cab on the way back to the station our driver told us that the hotel had nearly closed recently so perhaps they need time to get going again before any major spending. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and helped to make wedding a success.

Room Tip: We were in the main building and there are annexes but I have no idea what the annex rooms are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you had some problems but pleased that we were able to sort some of them. We are just starting a program of refurbishment, so hopefully you will approve of the outcome upon your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and as we had our dog with us we were given a room in the annexe which was perfect for us if a little basic. No noise to distract or set off the dog barking and had a wonderful nights sleep every night. The bed was comfortable and the shower was strong and hot. Right outside is a large field which is perfect for exercising the dog. First impressions on arrival were of the lovely grounds.

Breakfast was plated and very nice; the only other meal we had was from the bar menu and it was excellent though I agree with a previous reviewer that the bar menu is limited and the restaurant menu looks a little pricey.

We didnt have time to use the gym or the pool but we had a quick look inside and we were very impressed

The staff were very polite and friendly and when we extended our original 2 nights to 3 nights we were offered the same special discount rate we had obtained through a late booking agency. Excellent service.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay. I hope that you are able to return to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hi all....stopped at the cwrt bleddyn hotel and spa for two nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary ...sunday to tuesday...couple of hic ups you need to know about.. we booked through spa breaks, com ..all payed for well before arriving unfortunately the reception took a little while to find the details of payment ,,, so a tence ten minutes.but all ok then. The room they give us was excellent. The Seymour suite. Very nice , the hotel is old and slightly dirty ..cutlery ,, cups,, not as clean has they should have been. The food was outstanding some of the best ive tasted well done to the chef,,, we had booked treatments over the course of monday,,( anniversary day ) and was told that they had booked the wrong month ,,,, and couldnt fit the treatments in on the day ,,, so another tence half an hour but thanks to the manager and staff everything was sorted with extra staff called in to cover,,,, well done ,,,,,overall ,,, very relaxing,,, excellent food,,lovely room,, thanks cwrt bleddyn for making uor couple of days very enjoyable. This hotel gets very busy with weddings so double check before booking ,,,

Recap,,,,,,,, double cheak your booking,,,,,,,, your treatments are right,,,,, and the dates are correct.

Room Tip: This hotel caters for weddings ,, so there are standard rooms and suites. We had a suite very nice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for reviewing it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, tall trees and a stream and would make a great location for most venues.

The room I stayed in was very nice, a few minor faults.. dripping tap, dirty cups, a sock down by the heater, and could have been hoovered a bit better.

You have choice of bar food or the restaurant, the bar menu is basic and not enough for an evening meal.
The restaurant menu is a little pricey for what you get, the food is good but is a basic and made to sound more appealing then it actually is.

A few minor faults here as well... Dirty glasses, fork, dust and could do with a hoover.

I would stay again as the location is ideal for my business trips, but would eat out.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms pick up the noise from the patio areas..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay. We value all feedback and will work on the points you raised to make improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Though a number of recent reviews have described issues with the decor, food and standard of service at the Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel, I have to say that our stay here was close to perfect. My husband and I booked a Superior Double Room very last minute as a treat for our 5th Wedding Anniversary and upon arriving, we were blown away by how beautiful the place was.

The grounds were landscaped and well looked after and the hotel exterior looked stunning in the afternoon sun. The young lady who dealt with our booking at the reception desk was extremely friendly and informative and within minutes of arriving we'd booked a table for dinner at the hotel restaurant and were on our way to our room.

As we'd literally only booked our stay two days before, we didn't have high expectations for the room, especially as it was only priced at £80 for the night. However, when we opened the door to the Valley Room, we were really taken by surprise. Clean, spacious and furnished with stunning antique furniture that perfectly suits a hotel rumoured to be over 500 years old, we couldn't ask for more in a room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and tastefully decorated. And while the hotel website advertises tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, they've really understated this point, as in our room we had a kettle and a coffee maker with a vast selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate and even a Cup-a-Soup!

The other services and facilities at the hotel we found as equally impressive. As we were only staying for one night, we wanted to take advantage of what the hotel had to offer, so after settling in and unpacking, we quickly changed and headed to the hotel's Leisure Club. Though my husband is an avid weight-lifter, I have to admit, a gym is not my natural setting, however the Fitness Centre at Cwrt Bleddyn is well equipped with state of the art cardiovascular machines to suit all interests and abilities. In the end, I actually quite enjoyed having a go on the cross-trainer and rowing machines, while the fitness instructors are always on hand to assist where necessary.

We also indulged in some of the other Spa facilities there, which include a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, all laid out in an adjacent room to the gym, wonderfully decorated with a Roman theme in mind. At an extra cost, you can also take advantage of the numerous Spa treatments that are available. The morning after our stay, I had an extremely relaxing Facial from Liz, one of the highly trained young girls working at the Health Suite, which was well worth the £50 cost.

After scrubbing up, jumping into our best clothes and downing a bottle of Champagne (it was out Wedding Anniversary after all), we went down to the hotel restaurant for dinner. Though you might describe the menu as limited, even perhaps a little pretentious and certainly more expensive than your average dining experience, our Anniversary dinner was anything but average. The food was well-cooked and tasty, while the portion sizes were just right. Two starters, two mains, two side dishes and a bottle of wine came to £70 and it was totally worth it.

As a side note, though we didn't stop for a night-cap, the bar area is another tastefully decorated corner of the hotel,with plenty of old world charm and it's own menu to boot. If the restaurant menu doesn't float your boat or if your on a budget, there's lots to choose from on the bar menu and all reasonably priced from what we could see.

After a great nights sleep, we returned to the restaurant area for breakfast and we found this to be of a high standard also. The ladies attending the dining room were friendly and welcoming, while the breakfast menu was vast with plenty to choose from. As described in previous reviews, there is a self serve cold buffet offering fresh fruit juice, toast, warm pastries, yoghurts, cereal and fresh fruit. If that's not you cup of tea, there is a great cooked breakfast menu available on request, offering the standard Welsh Cooked Breakfast, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs, Pancakes and Syrup and much more. I had the Soft Boiled Eggs and Toast Soldiers, while my husband had Eggs Benedict - all well cooked and all extremely tasty.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel and Spa and it really made our anniversary one we won't soon forget.

Room Tip: Book Spa treatments well in advance as they fill up quickly and pay a little extra and have a Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Cwrt Bleddyn. I hope that you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have visited this hotel regularly over the past 20 years and have seen the decor, ownership and staff come and go. Unfortunately, we are now sad to say that our most recent visit will be our last. The once immaculate exterior is now shabby, with dead plants in pots around the place producing a first impression of a building that is now uncared for. When we arrived on Friday afternoon, all the outside tables had dirty glasses and full ashtrays that were still there the next morning. It always feels that there are not enough staff available to do the basic job of tidying up and looking after the guests, as we also noticed that an uneaten breakfast plate was left for 24 hours in a hallway.

Breakfast was a cold, buffet style service that was inedible, so we did not eat in the hotel for the rest of our stay. Our room was in the annexe building that we had not even known existed at the back of the main building, just past the skip containing an old mattress and other assorted rubbish. We were really saddened that our stay was disappointing, as we have many good memories of visiting here, both as a couple and with children over the years. However, things change and this hotel has certainly not changed for the better.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in the old house if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. I only wish you had spoken with a member of our team during the time you were with us and i am sure that we could have sorted any problems out. If you wish to discuss these points further please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Again I am very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llangybi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwrt Bleddyn, Llangybi, Usk NP15 1PG, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk > Llangybi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, beauty and luxury at your convenience. Welcome to The Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, we've been looking after our guests expertly since the 16th century. With over 45 en-suite rooms with magnificent views over the beautiful surrounding countryside of the Vale of Usk, your stay with us is guaranteed to be a tranquil haven to take you away from the hustle and bustle of modern life and the perfect venue for your off site, focused business meeting for 2 to 200 delegates or your ideal fairytale wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel And Spa
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel Llangybi
Cwrt Bleddyn Newport
Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel
Hotel Cwrt Bleddyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.