We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyvourney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weston House
Save
You added Weston House to your Saves list
The Mills, Ballyvourney, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballyvourney B&B and Inns
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I spent four nights here during a festival in Ballyvourney.
The property is a lovely house at the very end of the town blessed with a huge and well maintained garden. Its right next to the Mills Hotel, Bar and Restaurant so there is no shortage of entertainment. The room was huge, well provisioned, comfortable and very quiet, I slept very well during my stay. The breakfasts were wonderful, frequently supplemented with freshly baked bred and other treats. The all important welcome was second to none.

All in all, my stay at Weston House was much cheaper then my previous stays in the town's hotels, but not one bit less enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we all hope you will be back next year again.

Kind regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a week at Weston House this Sept. Along with being a beautiful home, this B&B is comfortable and clean and Peggy makes you feel like you have come home! Her breakfasts are excellent. Peggy takes a great interest in her guests and will make sure you make the most out of your time in Cork. 100% recommendation !!!!!
Also, with The Mills next door, just a walk across the lane to a good restaurant and pub. Weston House is also a great location on the N22, close to Killarney and easy to Cork City.
Loved meeting you Peggy, Our best to you and Peter, Austin, and the GrandBaby !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our stay with us last September. I hope to see you all again in the future.

Best wishes

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thanks Peggy for an exceptional stay in your beautiful manor house. Your cooking skills are only matched by your helpfulness in directing us to places and things we might be interested in doing. We ended up well rested for the rest of our journey through southern Ireland. See you next time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Weston House, and also for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to West Cork.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the positive feedback. It is always wonderful to receive such great comments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Weston House hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

To whomever,

My family and I stayed here this past Easter for 2 nights, and we were most pleased with the service and welcome we received from Peggy Twomey. She was very helpful in recommending things for us to see and do, en route to the Ring of Kerry, and providing us with information on good locations for hill walking in the area.

The room we shared was very comfortable, and the kids enjoyed themselves playing in the garden in the evening. The breakfast was delicious, and no complaints from the little ones. I would recommend this B&B to anyone, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you Peggy, and keep up the good work!

From the Gilbertson's.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large family room, which fitted my wife and i and 3 kids. So ask Peggy for the family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Leonard and family,

I hope you're all well. Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you and all the family enjoyed your time in Ireland last Easter. I hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes,

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in February '12 during our travels through beautiful Ireland. I must say the hostess Peggy and her husband Peter were excellent hosts. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome. The house was very comfortable, clean and the area is very peaceful. We enjoyed a delicious Irish Breakfast in the morning.

The house was easy to find on our way to Killarney, and also next door to a very cosy pub and restaurant, where we enjoyed a few tasty pints of Guinness .

Thank you and hope to see you all in the future.

Joseph and Catherine!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomh21, Owner at Weston House, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words.I'm so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed Ireland. I hope you will come back and visit us again some time in the future. Peter is well, and still busy with his old Vintage Tractor!

Kindest regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had a great stay here and was a wonderful break to driving through Ireland. Beautiful local scenery and easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomh21, Owner at Weston House, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words.I'm so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I and two other couples stayed at Western House in August this year. Peggy was a lovely hostess and we certainly can recommend this accommodation to
others. Thanks Peggy and we hope all goes well for you in the future. Liz

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomh21, Owner at Weston House, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words.I'm so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hearing from you all in the future.

Regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Weston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston House

Address: The Mills, Ballyvourney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballyvourney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvourney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston House B&B is Failte Ireland 4 Star rated exquisite old world house located next to the Sullane River with award winning gardens. The rooms are spacious featuring TV and tea and coffee making facilities with cots also available. A child price reduction is offered for children under the age of 12. Babysitting is also an option for date night. Weston House B&B is an ideal place for touring the eclectic and awe-inspiring scenery of West Cork and the Ring of Kerry. Located in the quaint Ballyvourney Village and within a short drive of Macroom and Killarney, guests here will be within easy access of welcoming pubs and good-quality food. Golf enthusiasts will be thrilled with the 18-hole course at Macroom Golf Club while those with a taste for the outdoors will love the great forest walks and angling at the Sullane River. Should you be after a quieter and more modestly paced afternoon then make for An Siopa at The Mills where you can explore your taste buds at the fantastic food and wine hall. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.