We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just no” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Etal Castle

Etal Castle
Etal, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Etal
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Just no”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Really not a lot on offer for the price you pay for entry, I was really disappointed by this place. The best thing about it was the very chatty girl that worked behind the till.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Etal castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a trip to Etal went to see the castle we were able to take our dog in theres a display inside telling you all about the conflict that occurred in Etal and Ford and some facts about the place.was greeted by a very friendly welcoming gentleman as we went in went into grounds which showed the castle ruins was nice to see but only a small area if you want you can then go to heatherslaw which we didn't do don't think our dog would like it

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good ruins, beter museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The ruins will interest the kids that love castles and battles. Very picturesque. Even better though is the display in the museum which chronicles the antagonism between the Scots and the English through history, with weaponry, illustrations (really goos ones of Flodden) and other contextual stuff. A good small museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“etal village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Brilliant little pub there. food very good. beautiful to sit out front or in beer garden on a sunny day. never visited inside castle but gorgeous backdrop for a lovely corner of Northumberland

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place of historical interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved that we got to walk wherever we wanted and learn so much about the castle. Also close by is Ford Castle and you get headphones to wear to listen to the history.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etal Castle also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Etal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etal Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.