We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sovjetstyle but charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sevan Resort Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Sevan Resort Centre to your Saves list
Blue Sevan Resort Centre
Gegharkunik Marz | Chambarak, Chambarak, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chambarak B&B and Inns
holland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sovjetstyle but charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Indeed this was a resort in Sovjet time, but this did not mead that the hotel was nog convenient and comfortable. The sovjet elements were very charming and in my opinion not "cold"at all.
The room were big clean and the ones with seavieuw were wonderfull. The breakfast and the dinner were in a building very nearby. Quality was oke. Beiing on Sevan lake we ordered fish. It was good but a little small. Breakfast was oke. Not too much but enough to choose from. The staff was frienly helpfull and some of them spoke English very well. Of course the location is perfect; ON the sevan lake and very quiet. A walk along he lake after dinner is obligatory.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location is fantastic next to the shore of Lake Sevan. The rooms also good, but very "Soviet Union" . . big "cold" rooms, The breakfast was os and so, and the restaurant was in another house which was even more "Soviet Union" that the hotel itself. . .
But the location was great so I guess when the weather is nice and sunny its a good place to stay for a swim. . . . even its about 2000 meter above sealevel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the lake, and at least in the 2nd floor. . its more expensive with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
257 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel as part of a tour group, so I can’t comment on price/value. The room we had was of decent size, with a nice view of the lake, partially blocked by some trees. The bathroom was quite large, but the shower stall was very small (a large person would have a lot of difficulty using it). There was plentiful very hot water, but the shower setting was difficult to adjust. The beds were firm, but OK for us. The room was very clean and everything was in good repair. It was quite cool the night we were there and the room cooled off some during the night, but heat came on about 6 am and warmed the room up nicely. There was a refrigerator in the room and a TV, but we arrived late and didn’t use the TV, so I don’t know if there is a channel in English. Wifi is available in the lobby but the Internet connection was down when I tried to use it early in the morning and there was no one around to fit it. Breakfast was in a separate building and was cold items, carefully portioned by individual. Being isolated, this is a very quiet place. The resort has other facilities, but since we just stayed overnight I can’t comment on them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is small hotel on one of the most beautiful lakes that I have ever seen - a massive lake in the middle of Armenia. Our volunteer team (Habitat) stayed there for many days. The hotel was not officially open for the season (it snowed a couple of days), but they made an effort to see that we were comfortable. There is a nice beach and playground and the grounds of the hotel are extensive and enclosed with a Security fence and gate, so taking long walks is very pleasant. There are many things that I cannot give a review on, as they were not in operation, but I would recommend the hotel. The bathrooms are modern and the rooms, depending on which one you get, have chairs or sofas. There is a lovely huge room on the lobby level for just hanging out as well as one on the third floor; there is a tiny elevator. Bonus - no traffic noise as the hotel is right on the lake. The staff was very responsive to our requests, although English did seem to be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first so you can pick one with more space/furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Got there late and left early, breakfast was just ok, rooms we ok, showers were small. Not much service. It's ok, but not great. Had a room facing the lake but it was cold out so didn't really see it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First of all, the rating of the service does not reflect any bad service experience at the hotel, there were just nobody present to offer services.

We made a 2 nigth stop on our way north, and had prebooked/paid these two nights. As I was not paying attention, I had booked wrong the dates, and even though we had passed the dates, I was allowed to transfer the booking to the correct dates free of charge.
Thumbs up to ArmHotels Customer Service.

We was a the hotel out of season, which meant that whatever small a staff that was present, we hardly saw them and was left to ourselves, being the only guests at the hotel.
To keep us company a night we had a grand piano, a television set and two friendly horses.
I am sure the level of service will increase during summer.

Rooms are nice in the old building - all rooms were left open, so we checked them all - get one with a balcony facing the lake.

Be aware, that eventhough the location is great, you will be far away from anything, Sevan is aprxm 7 km´s away, and there is very limited public transport.
If going out of season, make arrangements with a taxi driver to pick you up for your further travel.

Breakfast is, during the season, buffet, but in our case the standard Armenian, some bread, coffee/tea, salad, cheese, egg and honey.

For dinner, the restaurant has an extensive menu, but the local whitefish "Sig" is recommendable.
As stated in another review, the restaurant is in another building, that is correct, but the distance is not much more than 200 meters, though I admit it could feel that way in bad weather.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel is quite new and quite spartan in it's decorations. The best rooms are obviously the ones with the great view facing the lake. The rooms we had was very big and it seemed all rooms were comparable in size. The double bed was huge and very, very comfortable. We had a great nights sleep. The downside is that the restaurant is located in a separate building, and as we had quite bad weather it was no fun to walk there. it is about 500 meters from the main building. The restaurant is large but has absolutely no atmosphere, but staying at this hotel means you have very little other choices for dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a Lake View on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambarak
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bohemian Resort
0.0 mi away
Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh
0.0 mi away
Harsnaqar Hotel Complex
Harsnaqar Hotel Complex
#2 of 5 in Lake Sevan
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Paradise Dilijan Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tsaghkadzor Marriott Hotel
Tsaghkadzor Marriott Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tsakhkadzor
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sevan Resort Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sevan Resort Centre

Address: Gegharkunik Marz | Chambarak, Chambarak, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Gegharkunik Province > Chambarak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chambarak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Sevan Resort Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sevan Resort Centre Armenia/Chambarak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sevan Resort Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.