We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting - attention to detail would add value.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Spa   |   Jahuel s/n, Around Town, San Felipe, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Felipe
Erin, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful setting - attention to detail would add value.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a beautiful property but is not by North American standards a 5 star resort. It is at best 3 star. The value for money is low. Our room was a superior room but lacked space, was in the middle of the building and had fishbowl like windows for all to see in. The room was small and cramped. It was a holiday weekend in Chile and there were many families. Children everywhere and lots of noise. The location of our room was by the staircase and whenever anyone walked in hallway, you could hear, doors banging and children screaming at all hours. At checkin there was not one person who spoke English. Our saving grace was Victor the Manager of HK. He translated for us throughout our stay and was fantastic. We had sent numerous messages to the people that took our reservation to help us with excursions and we received no replies. Freddy our server was also fantastic. He did an outstanding job and took great care of us. If only the management would have taken the extra step and ensured that we were taken care of it would have made a difference. Scenery is great but it is not a very relaxing resort. The meals were hit and miss...not indicative of the high rating it received from Conde Nast.

Room Tip: There is a private house with suites that is removed from main building and seems to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
38
62
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

the hotel location is wonderful but skimping on food ruins the whole experience for what is priced as a premium product.

The hotel sells an all inclusive package and seems to try to save money on food. On the first night towards the end of dinner service desserts had already been consumed and no replacements were forthcoming.

Breakfast was a similar experience; fruit ran out, coffee pot emptied and not replaced; no plates available; juice ran dry etc.

This coupled with over 30 minutes queuing up to check in and check out is hardly the type of service to be expected for an establishment charging close on $US 500 per night.

There are better services available and better spas - location does not compensate for service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

5 Star Spa & Resort, beautiful landscaping views and excellent Food!, service is very good as well, you pay more but you certainly get much more! We have been there twice and we love to go back every time we go to Chile. Located only 2 and half hours from Santiago, very convenient.

Room Tip: Hotel & Spa have 2 diff. types of rooms, new and old ones, both are good and the view is great n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

What a strange experience. Unlike all the other reviews, we arrived to a deserted resort on January 3rd. There were perhaps 4 other family's at most. The indoor pools were under construction, the food was brutal and it was very expensive considering what was available at the time. The views are stunning, the room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. We cut our losses and moved on after one night stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Spa Jahuel is the best in Chile, probably at the same level as the Spa in the Swiss Alps. considering the geographic location, the quality of the hotel, the quality of restaurant and excellent wines they serve there.
The outdoor park (over 20 ha) is like a heaven on earth, pure nature.
In general, each and every detail is cared about, each tree, plant, towel or whatsoever is at the right place, so perfect that it seems unrealistic.
Best option from Santiago (90 minutes away), for relax.
Congratulations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Positives:
- Rooms are nice and quiet
- Location is fantastic and the countryside breathtaking
- Service and attention is OK

Negatives:
- Maybe just bad timing but I went with my wife to enjoy a quiet relaxing weekend but the place just ressembled a huge kindergarten. There where over 100 young kids (with parents) and buffet time (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was nightmarish!
- It describes itself as "Termas" but that is mis-leading as in winter there is only a small indoor swimming pool with 100's of kids splahing about.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Our third visit to Termas de Jahuel Spa to celebrate my wife's birthday was almost completely relaxing. The Spa and hotel were recently remodeled and the setting in the Andes foothills is spectacular. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable . The rooms are clean and well decorated - very comfortable bed, nice linens, Directv, broadband via cable or Wi Fi. All meals are included, and the chef was very attentive. The Spa is well equipped, and attended, but if you plan on having one of their great massages reserve in advance. The outdoor thermal pool is stunning and a great place to relax when it is warm and sunny, and the heated indoor pool/jacuzzi is open until late.
The hotel caters, in a large part, to business clients who go for company retreats, however, families, and couples are well attended to by the staff.
Right from the hotel you can start off on a long hike, bike ride, or horse ride on the numerous, well marked, and maintained trails through forests, and up into the hills. This is a child friendly hotel and there are supervised activities all day long for kids with a break for lunch.
We love the fact that this relaxing retreat is only 90 mins from Santiago, we did not love being woken up by a faulty fire alarm at 5am, or having a guard knock on the wrong door at 6am to let us know the gym was open.
Still....... looking forward to our next weekend getaway to Termas de Jahuel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa

Address: Jahuel s/n, Around Town, San Felipe, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > San Felipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Felipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termas de Jahuel Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.