We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Absolutely Superb Italian Cuisine in a Tiny Mexican Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Ristorante Italiano

La Luna Ristorante Italiano
3 Luis Echevarria, Lo de Marcos, Mexico
3221016351
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb Italian Cuisine in a Tiny Mexican Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I have a home in tiny Lo de Marcos, just north of Sayulita, In Pacific Mexico. We spend as much of the winter there as possible. This village of maybe 1500 people has about 8 restaurants--7 of them specializing in (duh) Mexican dishes. Then there's La Luna. Oh good lord!--we come from Vancouver which, with its large Italian population, features some of the finest ethnic restaurants on the continent, and if La Luna were transplanted to the middle of Little Italy, it would be mobbed. Max, a superb chef, and his wife Laurie own and operate this piece of heaven, and make every guest feel like a member of family. The pasta is always perfect, the meat, seafood, and vegetarian dishes--whether traditional or one of Max's own creations--beautifully balanced in flavour and texture.. Salad ingredients are crispy fresh--the beet salad is unique and to die for--and if you caught a marvelous fish that morning, take it to Max and he'll prepare it for your party that evening......OR, since he and Laurie have a thriving catering business, they'll bring La Luna to your home and prepare your prize there.. And La Luna now has a full liquor license. The dessert menu is limited in scope but long on flavour--try Max.s special Tirimisu! The ambiance of this little gem is simple and relaxing, from tables almost into te street at the front, to quiet corners in the enclosed garden at the rear. Whether you prefer the bustle of the street or your own intimate corner at the back, Kathleen and I can assure you that Max and Laurie will serve you an Italian meal and treat you to an Italian evening you'll remember for a long time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Luna Ristorante Italiano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Buenisimo!!!! A very special place. The food was outstanding. We stayed in Lo de Marcos for a week and tried everything on the menu , from pizzas to pasta. Even after we left LodeM and moved to San Pancho for a week and found ourselves coming back in the evenings to have dinner. Laurie and Max, the owners are super nice and accommodating. I caught a 40 lb dorado one afternoon fishing and Max was kind enough to filet and prepare the fish for us . he made a delicious pasta primavera and Greek salad to accompany the grilled fish. it doesn't get any better than this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lo de Marcos, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Luna Ristorante Italiano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Luna is the best thing that has happened to our little pueblo in a long time. I have never been a fan of Italian food but there is something very different about this. I have become totally addicted! Have never had a bad meal! Primivera - vegi - pizzi and Greek salad are my favorite. But have tried many other dishes and they are all excellent. If you get to Lo De Marcos, you must try this restaurant - I promise - you won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quality Italian Food, Attention to Detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This little place offers a welcome respite from traditional Mexican fair in the village of Lo de Marcos. There is one other non-Mexican restaurant in LdeM but it doesn't touch Luna in terms of quality and originality of the food. Three of us had hand made spinach and feta ravioli, prepared perfectly al dente. The 4th in our party had the prawn/camarones. We all had the beet salad with baslsamic reduction and agreed that it was the best salad we had in Mexico. he couple who run this place also cater so they aren't always open. As with most places in the area, it is open-air. The furnishings and decor are simple but clean and well-maintained. The emphqsis is definitely on the food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“now serving wine too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining here during our stay in Lo de Marcos. Having read the previous reviews, we brought a bottle of wine with us - only to discover that La Luna now has a liquor license and serves wine and drinks. Laurie, the owner, very graciously allowed us to drink our bottle since we had carried it along - but next time....
The food was excellent - perfectly fried calamari appetizer and the special that night, duck ravioli, was delicous.
We look forward to returning very soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Lo de Marcos, Nayarit
San Francisco, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La Luna Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.