We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mabula Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mabula Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mabula Game Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Private Bag X1665, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 2 days over last weekend at Mabula. We found the game drives good and guide knowledgeable but found the choice of sundowners on the game drive very limited and disappointing and snacks very basic and stale. The biscuits prior to the game drive were also stale and no coffee and tea was offered during the game drive in the morning. Meal times are very rigid and by the time the game drive was finished breakfast was nearly over and food not replenished. The food was very average and in some areas quite poor and when we requested a jug of milk in the room at night we were told no-one is allowed to go to rooms, come and fetch it. We found the staff polite but very unhelpful. We requested some bar snacks with evening drinks and were told the bowl of chips is over there if you want it along with a very old set of peanuts. If you are going to attract visitors, other than people for just a night, you really need to upgrade your facilities, encourage your staff to be helpful - every request we made was either met with no, or I dont know. I won't be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy C, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Good Day Karyn
Thank you very much for your comments it has been noted and a lot of emphasis is now being placed on these areas of concern, this is not the standard Mabula wishes to portray and you can be assured we will improve on this going forward.
Regards
Hennie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    49
    24
    6
    10
See reviews for
51
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Would like to start the review as we go in....
Got down from the coach & we were welcomed by a welcome drink & Guest relations manager.
Keys were ready. Map is provided for self guidance till room from reception...
There is a Indian Chef who almost prepared everything on our request whilst we were there for 02 Nights. Excellent & experienced rangers for better sight of Animals during Game drives.
We fortunately were able to sight a kill....That experience was superb....
Overall I would rate Mabula the best property for Indian market atleast....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I can only imagine your excitement when you witnessed a kill... Wow!!! That is a rare sighting. I hope we will be seeing you soon again at our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife myself and two friends had the opportunity to visit Mabula Lodge the accommodation was spacious well furnished functional and had the perfect setting overlooking the setting sun in the African bush. The huge disappointment was the game activities this department has become a sausage machine with vehicle and field guides that should
not be permitted on the road - Game activities are the primary source of tourism the management are missing the opertunity

Room Tip: We had unit 36 wonderful views and enjoyed our time with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Good Day Mr Pullen

Thank you very much for your comments, we here at Mabula are placing a lot of emphasis on our guiding department at the moment and the experience when next you visit Mabula will be very different as the standards are being raised every month. We look forward to welcoming you back at Mabula Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Even though the lodge is located amidst a forest reserve, the quality received is commendable. The rooms are basically splits in a villa. The rooms though contemporary are very modern with respect to the amenities provided. The bathroom was one of a kind built out of no tiles. the food provided was quite good being a vegetarian.
The game drive was decent spotting all the possible animals there. Even wild African elephants. The staff is very courteous & friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on Mabula, we value your comments as part of our drive to maintain guest satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you soon at Mabula Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The timeshare accommodation was perfect. And the personnel were helpful and friendly.

I do have two complaints:

1. The game drives was a waste of time and money. We saw very few game and when we came across other (timeshare) drivers, they were indicating the same – nothing. One fellow passenger told us that they have a timeshare and that it was her 7th visit to Mabula and she have never experienced anything like that. We were always driving in the most eastern part of the reserve. We never came across the other drivers from the lodge. Are they more important and taken to where the game actually is? This does not make sense at all and people can put 2 and 2 together.

2. The buffet lunch on Sunday at the main lodge was really not on standard even for a 3 star. The main course was small pieces pork schnitzels, chicken wings and gemsbok pie (with more brinjals than gemsbok). Then there was 2 vegetables: broccoli and pumpkin. There were FIVE starches: couscous, savoury rice, basmati rice, an Indian new potatoes and other new potatoes. Perhaps this will go in India, but we are in Africa and this is not what we eat. I am most likely the only one complaining, but other people were talking when serving themselves.

For the price and time : No thank you! Not again. I have rated Mabula against Kwa-Maritane.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Good Day

Please let me take this opportunity of thanking you for your feedback, as we view all feedback as constructive, we have never differentiated between our guests and it was unfortunate you were not able to view more animals. I have also addressed your concerns regarding lunch with my Executive Chef for actioning. Once again, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on an all-inclusive basis plus 2 game drives per day and thoroughly enjoyed it! We stayed in a suite which was really large, with a very comfortable bed, plenty hot water, nice balcony and very private. We enjoyed the drumming in the evenings (nice bushveld/africa atmosphere) and saw the lions really close up. The sundowners on the game drive added a nice touch! Please book any outings/crossbow well in advance to avoid disappointment. The food was excellent - any time of the day! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Suites (upstairs) are huge and extremely private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write to us. It’s always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback as this affirms that we are on the right tracks in making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We offer a wide variety of activities, and as you rightfully said, it needs to be booked in advance to avoid disappointment especially when such activities are in demand. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to host you at our Mabula Game Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed one night here on a recent visit to South Africa. Accommodation is good, stayed in one of the lodges. Restaurant is pretty basic and buffet for breakfast, lunch and evening meal was ok but nothing to get excited about. Staff are lovely, friendly and service overall was quite good, but not top notch. Maybe expecting too much for an establishment out in the bush!! Went on two game drives (with George our driver & guide) the guides knowledge was excellent and he guided us to places where we saw most of the big game. Well worth getting up at 5.30am for the dawn drive. Both sunrise and sunset drives were very good. Pool area is great for relaxation, the little time we had. Setting is very pretty and would love to back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All of the lodges are within easy access to main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one, and we’re excited to hear that you managed to see most of the big game. We also take note of the restaurant and the food, and assure you that our efforts remain in improving our culinary standards. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to continually improve on our services. We look forward to welcoming you back at our beautiful Mabula Game Lodge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mabula Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Private Bag X1665, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mabula Game Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5".All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities.Dining venues, outdoor Cocktail and Whiskey Bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre.Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities.Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms.The Lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve
Mabula Game Lodge Mabula Private Game Reserve, Limpopo, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mabula Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.