We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Nestled in the native bush
Dining & kitchen.
View from the deck
Queen bedroom
Charleston
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
david7070...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Studio with the 'wow' factor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The visitor-book comments at the The Waves endlessly repeat the same tale. Walking into the place for the first time, seeing the view along Nine Mile Beach to Cape Foulwind, hearing the New Zealand tui (a bird famed for its twin voice boxes) making a counterpoint of sweet melody and gruff interjections, with the incessant background noise of the incoming and outgoing tides… it is a place that elicits that over-used term "wow". And it comes so well equipped, with comfortable seating, a huge deck for that warm evening 'let's sit outside with a glass of wine' occasion, a wood burner and logs for the cooler season, and all the household appliances (dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, etc, etc.). I could go on… but better if readers try it themselves. I know we'll be back.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Anna Fran...
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best accommodation we have stayed at!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We loved our week here. The spa bath was amazing. Everything is catered for including funny and interesting DVD's and music. The Underworld Adventures in Charleston were also an amazing experience.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dexx
Midlands
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Relax In Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

If you want to stay and relax somewhere away from the crowds, in a modern studio overlooking the sea, with everything you need for a romantic break then this is the place. It has a well designed open plan layout, very well equipped and includes a spar bath and free wi-fi. For the energetic there are two mountain bikes and for the man who wants to play the hunter gatherer a wood burning stove to lovingly tend. A complimentary bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge made settling in on the first night very easy.

Although this is self catering accommodation there were quite a few supplies provided by the owners and previous occupiers. This included tea, coffee, sugar, condiments, sauces, jam, a few spices, washing powder and toilet rolls. All the owner asks is you replenish what you use.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing but the rain
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Okarito
Okarito
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“birthday wish come true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

having cycled all my life, I had never biked on a beach! well, now I have - the beach below Waves Studio at low tide was amazing - and they even have the bikes there for you to use. Great bonus - thank you! besides that of course, the view from the studio is superb. WE lucked out with 3 days of stunning weather. The studio had everything and then some you could want - very comfortable, very peaceful, very much exactly what we were looking for.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: biking on the beach & relaxing on the deck
Liked least: that we couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DebandBil...
Stella, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A contemporary jewel with stunning view of Nine Mile Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Waves is simply the house of my dreams! Add pedestrian access to the beach, internet access, and maybe a little bistro within walking distance and I would stay forever.

The view of Nine Mile Beach is stunning and mesmerizing and long walks on the beach are essential - just wish that you didn't have to drive. Perhaps the owners will have an opportunity to buy a right of way and create a staircase down the hill.

But back to the accommodation: exquisite contemporary with open plan living, dining and kitchen. Very well-equipped with lots of little extras. Great sound system and cable or perhaps satellite tv. Very comfortable couches to enjoy the amazing view. Beautiful deck with quality furniture. As there were only two of us we selected the studio option and enjoyed the king bed with a large sliding door to separate the sleeping space from the living area. Bathroom is huge with large spa tub, separate rain shower, heated towel racks and heated floor. Generous supply of spa products and robes/towels. A second bedroom and bath are available if needed.

The house is air conditioned. Washer and dryer are in a small closet in the hall. Double garage available to store car and was particularly valued as it was raining on our arrival. This is the most immaculate garage you will ever see with two mountain bikes for guests' use.

The pub and store in the nearby village have closed so make sure you take adequate supplies for the first day's meals. Charleston has some funky dining options but it's about 20 km to town

Lovely welcoming bottle of wine! I'd return in a moment!

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2011
Just a quick update - we now have Wifi access in the house so keeping in touch with home won't be a problem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Switzerland
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010 for a stay in November 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010 for a stay in December 2007
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$206
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Heather E
64274540796
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing