We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low on Water, but High on Exhilaration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Underworld Adventures Cave Rafting

Underworld Adventures Cave Rafting
7368 Camp Street, State Highway 6 | The Charleston Hotel, Charleston 7865, New Zealand
03 7888 168
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See our Underworld Adventures:For Underworld Rafting:Join us on a simply magical journey of discovery in the Nile River GlowWorm Caves. Float on an underground lake illuminated only by GlowWorms and admire a wonderland of Stactites & Stalagmites in one of New Zealands largest unmodified cave systems.For The Charleston GlowWorm Cave Tour:Take the “Rainforest Train” in to the Nile River Canyon Rain Forest and explore the enormous Nile River Cave System. You will view an ancient "wonderland" of stalactites and stalagmites & simply "galaxies" of Glowworms.For TeTahi Adventure Caving:This is full on expedition style caving with small numbers in one of NZ’s most sporty caves. Participants explore an amazing form cave complete with abseils, climbs, squeezes and crawls along cascading waterways.For The Nile River Rainforest Train:This is a short interpretive train ride through primeval rain forest in the Nile River Canyon. The track passes through the “The Lost World” film site. Take a short walk to The Nile Rver Suspension Bridge & The Nile River GlowWorm Caves.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Low on Water, but High on Exhilaration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wow! What an amazing day! A short bus ride then a ride in a dinky little train through the forest with fern whipping through the open sides of the little carriages. Then it was the rather rigorous trek through the bush, up a very steep flight of steps to the caves - this was all done decked out in a full wet suit, safety helmet, life jacket and carrying a large rafting tube. No mean feat for a short-legged lady, but managed with the help of the brilliant guide and the much younger members on the trek. Did I mention it was a very hot day? But oh so worth it! The caves were brilliant with their stunning display of stalagmites and stalactites, then into the inner tubes to drift in the water through the most magical place we've ever been. The glowworms have to be seen to be believed! Out of the cave system, it was onto the Nile River to float our way through some rapids (be aware of sandflies on this stretch!) and back to the start of the trek and the train. Sadly the area was in a state of drought when we did this, so the river was very low. It would be brilliant with a higher river flow. Totally recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    20
    4
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If your in the South Island of New Zealand, this place cannot be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Absolutely amazing and great value. I will definitely be back and highly recommend this place to anyone who is seeking an unforgettable experience in New Zealand! The crew at Underworld Adventures are also very charming, informative and lots of fun ... But don't take my word for it come down to Underworld Adventures and experience it for yourself!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Trains caves water rafting forest...what more could a gal want on a rainy day?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was pouring with rain as we went on the tiny forest train through the rain forest. It was magnificent forest and WET, with lots of ferns and the Nile River above big cliffs. The highlight however was the walk-through cave with stunning formations. We didn't do the rafting ride through the cavern, saving that for another trip, eh. I would highly recommend this trip. It is very low key and folksy, the train and cave guide is a bit of a joker (in a good way), and the kids loved it...if a five year old can do it, so can just about anyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Awesome trip with a great variety as it included an informative train ride, the cave system was stunning and I could have floated under those glowworms all day. We felt particuarly lucky as, doing the tour in May, we were the only two with our tour guide who adapted the tour to suit us. Our tour guide, Renee, was very friendly and very accomodating, and we had a really good laugh with her. We found there was a good balance between being strenuous and adventures but enjoyable as well. The cherry on the top were free photos of our day not only to take away but also on the internet so our friends and family can see them back home. Would definetly recommend this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
145 attraction reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“New building and facilities and halfd day tour, free pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The whole activity took about four hours and aferwards you get free photo's taken by the guide, so there is no hefty additional fee.
The trip started in the new building (still under completion) where we were fitted out with wetsuit pants and vests, shoes, helmets and gloves. From there with a minivan to the train.
Two km by train through the rainforest and picking up our tubes befor crossing the bridge.
Climbing some stairs and entering the caves where we got explanations from our guide.
In the end we floated through a glow worm cave; as spectacular as always with the stary sky.
Than the tubing down the river was also fun, although the water was rather low.
The whole activity is not strenuous and can be easily done, and it includes the several aspects of vaving, tubing and glowworms. A half day well spent.
In theory we could download the pictures but the guide loaded them on my own flash-pin.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underworld Adventures Cave Rafting also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Underworld Adventures Cave Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Underworld Adventures Cave Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.