We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to visit again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The enchanted cafe

The enchanted cafe
25 Main Rd, Tirau, New Zealand
648831206
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Tirau
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy to visit again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great food, good gluten free selection. Very spacey and open. Great for kids. Service good. Happy to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fast service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stopped in here as a convenient break on the way down SH1 from Auckland on a Sunday, choosing it purely for close proximity to the main road. There were only two couples inside when we arrived but by the time we left most tables were full, so presumably it's popular locally. The staff were very friendly, taking our orders and letting us know we could sit anywhere. Our hot chocolates arrived soon after we sat down and the food not long after. We both ordered the chicken salad sandwich with fries, and found it odd that instead of a chicken breast or something along those lines, the chicken was in the style of kebab meat i.e., rather stringy and gristly. It was also supposed to come with brie cheese but instead, regular edam or a similar sliced cheese was used. The fries were chunky, hot and deliciously seasoned but not enough to rescue the sandwich so only an average meal overall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putaruru
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Early Christmas get together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family met at Enchanted Cafe for an early Christmas get together, Tirau was a central point for all of us to meet. We enjoyed a very nice lunch sitting outside in the courtyard on a hot day. The food was very good and coffee was fabulous. Reasonably good value for money. Pleasant staff who didn't mind us staying for quite sometime after eating while exchanging Christmas gifts and catching up etc.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped for coffee and cake and were not disappointed. Lemon cake was amazing as was the coffee. Lovely place to sit and relax.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Good lunch choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Good choice of cabinet food. Had a roast vegetable salad here after spending the morning looking at Tirau's corrugated iron artworks. A nice collection of cheap second-hand books to browse while you wait for your food. And yes, there's some corrugated iron artwork on the facade.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The enchanted cafe also viewed

Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 

Been to The enchanted cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The enchanted cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.