We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 5 * experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast

Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast
5477 Highway 22, 3794, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
ILKLEY
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A wonderful 5 * experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

More like a 5* hotel than a B&B. The dinner was first rate! If described as a 'lodge' or something, they could & should charge double. Please go!

A little difficult to find. My sat nav sent me the wrong way round....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a month in NZ, this was one of my most favorite stays. I only met Tony as his wife was away on business. I was attended to like a King. The place itself is about 30 minutes from supermarkets and the like, but you will not need to bring food as Tony cooks up meals full of fresh ingredients from his garden, his chickens, and most importantly, from his heart.
Peaceful, relaxing, and so friendly. I hesitate even to review it so fondly as I don't want it to be sold-out the next time I come around, but Tony and all of his efforts should be rewarded. You will be if you book this location.
If there is perfection in a BNB, this is it. (Ive stayed in about 50 of them.)

Room Tip: The Emerald room opens up to the patio. I can't comment on any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

These people are living my dream - 3 themed rooms with great attention to detail. There was only one other couple staying at the same time as us. Dining room (beautifully set for meals) and lounge available. Our room had french doors onto a verandah - we slept with the doors open. A hot tub (quite hot!!) and an open fireplace outdoors - lovely to sit under the stars, so peaceful. Wander around the garden, admire the vege patch, talk to the hens or sit on the landing and read. The dogs are really well behaved and are not at all intrusive - Tony and Cheryl are very welcoming and friendly and also not intrusive! We dined in one night - a lovely meal - too much for me. Homemade vinegarette/marmalade/relish. Breakfasts were also yum.
The surrounding countryside is scenic rural NZ - we drove back to Auckland on the gravel back road exiting at Port Waikato - well worth braving a metal road. Raglan ( 30 minutes away) is an interesting seaside village - not just a surf beach, plenty of choices for swimming and watersport. The local pub (next to the Waingaro hot pools) served up a decent pub meal "real ham, not that sandwich stuff you get in town" said the chef. This was our first B & B experience - loved it.

Room Tip: Ruby Room is "cosy " with a smaller bed but there is a bath. We chose the Emerald Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We sneak away from the kids and come and stay once a year or so and it is gorgeous! beautiful rooms, great food (Tony & Cheryl are happy to cater to my fussy dietary requirements too), love the outdoor spa pool, totally relaxing place to be. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a day or two.

Room Tip: we like the sapphire room with the king size bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A beautifully refurbished and furnished Colonial Villa with lovely mature plantings and garden, and in such a pretty ‘secret’ part of the North Island too! Tony and Cheryl were wonderful hosts, providing us with sumptuous dinners and breakfasts, and a very warm welcome, with both a relaxed atmosphere and unobtrusive attention to detail – well done! We’d be very happy to come back and recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huia, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a weekend here recently. Very impressed. Cheryl and Tony the owners are great. We stayed for dinner both nights. If you take this option (and we recommend you do), make sure you eat nothing during the day as Tony cooks up a huge meal! Saves having to travel out for food and the meals were lovely.
The house is cosy and very nicely done up and the bedroom large, comfortable and immaculately clean. The weather wasn't that condusive to being outside, but the spa pool was great to relax in before dinner and you can feed the goats and sheep any left over toast after breakfast. Oh yes, breakfast is huge and tasty too.
Located out in the "wops", it's in a good location for exploring the Raglan/West Waikato area, or just reading a book and lazing about.
Close enough to Auckland to make it good weekend away destination.
We plan to be back before too long.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I treated my wife for an evening sleepout. This place (and their owners) were amazing. Upon entering the doors, we were transported back 60, 80 years. The authenticity of the decor, furniture, the bathrooms, even the cutlery were true to some time way back in the past. Tony & Cheryl are right on the money with this gem in the middle of almost nowhere. Tony cooks the most amazing food, and Cheryl has done something amazing decorating this B&B. Their friendlyness and hospitality surpasses most that I have experienced. It is a lovely country setting to just get away. Just do it, you'll be surprised!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5477 Highway 22, 3794, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hamilton & Waikato Region
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil rural setting in the lush Waikato region of New Zealand, the beautifully renovated Foxgloves Bed and Breakfast is an escape to the country. This traditional Victorian homestead, surrounded by rolling farmlands, takes you back to a bygone era where time stands still and you wake to the sound of bird song, farm animals and the smell of a good country style breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxgloves Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.