We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating owners, excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast

Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
9757 Main St. | Canning, Canning, Nova Scotia B0P 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Canning B&B and Inns
Short Hills, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Accomodating owners, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July 2006. The owners, mom Andrea and daughter Julie, were so accommodating. Andrea makes a huge excellent breakfast--eggs, blueberry grunt (local specialty), fruit. And also coffee was delivered to our door in the morning. We were cycling, and after we mapped out our route for the day, Julie showed us an alternate route which led past a beautiful aboiteau right nearby--it's worth driving that route as well. Julie let me borrow her laptop to check e-mail (they have wifi). They gave us good restaurant recommendations as well. Our room, while very nice, was on the first floor of the main house and felt a little less private than the rooms on the second floor. The rooms in the main house are nicer than the rooms in the adjoining building.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We just returned from our trip -- our room was comfortable and nicely decorated.

We loved the front porch and enjoyed our evening wine out on the porch swing.

Canning is a great little town and a great launching point for exploring the valley -- we enjoyed the pace of Canning too (much quieter than Wolfville).

Only complaint? Our room was at the front of the house on the first floor -- we decided to turn off the A/C and opened up the windows -- we should have closed them but we forgot to -- this meant that the early morning traffic woke me up (but not my husband) -- I would recommend a room away from the front of the house.

The owner and her daughter went out of their way to make sure we were fed and happy before our flight back to Toronto that morning.

We had a wonderful time at the Farmhouse Inn and we will return next time we are in Nova Scotia. We would totally recommend it!

PS To the "Anti-American" poster: it sounds like you all got into a discussion on politics -- I wouldn't blame the owner on this one -- it's a sensitive topic and perhaps she exercised poor judgement in getting into a discussion with you -- but I wouldn't slam her and her business for it. The topics you all discussed are all over the press these days and discussion is how knowledge and ideas progress -- you had the option to leave if you were so offended ( and you didn't )

  • Liked — The breakfast was AMAZING
  • Disliked — Morning traffic woke me up (front room only)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I agree that the Farmhouse Inn was clean, nicely kept up and served great breakfasts. The owner and her daughter were helpful, but we were a bit put off by a conversation with the owner. She started talking to us about the speech that Obama made in Germany, and this led to a real rant about the evils of America, and how we better watch out for China and India, and how all superpowers decline. She then went on to say that September 11th wasn't the worse disaster in the world and how every day more people die in Darfur. This may be true, but you certainly can not compare these horrific events, and as paying American guests, it was quite rude to belittle our country. She seems like another person that blames all of the ills of the world on America, but can never give us any credit for all the good that we do. Needless to say we were taken aback and unfortunately did not respond as we should have. She was happy enough to take our American dollars. Anyway, you decide.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Andrea was so helpful in advising us on how to spend our time on the Bay of Fundy wisely.

The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were quite comfortable. I loved that there was wireless internet.

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — Small town
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

My Husband and I used to stay here while the previous owners still owned it and loved it. It was homey and cozy, we could relax and enjoy.

This was the first time we were back since it was sold and it was great. The we always stay in the North Mountain Suite and it was lovely. Down comforter, great sheets, quiet.

We took advantage of the special which included supper and it was wonderful. We were so full we couldn't think of our dessert ...until Julie offered to bring it to our romm later on - nice touch! Breakfast was just as yummy and filling.

We will return in a hearbeat. It is out of the way, 10min drive or so to "do" anything, but that is part of the reason we love it!

  • Liked — Cozy, Romantic, Comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

We recently had a lovely stay at the Farmhouse Inn (actually in Canning NS) while traveling through Nova Scotia for a week. It was one of our best B&B experiences. The innkeepers (mother and daughter duo) were really friendly and casual - made us feel at home. The inn combined the homey-ness of B&B but there was enough privacy that we didn't feel like we were intruding on someone's home. The prices seemed a bit high for a B&B, but all the rooms have ensuite bathrooms, and it's still more reasonable than most of the other inns in Wolfville. (Canning is a few kms away, but cute and quiet, and actually closer to most of the areas attractions.)

We stayed in the spacious North Mountain suite, which was lovely - apparently the innkeepers have recently redecorated it, and we loved the elegant white decor. The jacuzzi was pretty sweet too. And everything was spotlessly clean. (Admittedly, I peeked into a couple of the other rooms on the main floors, and one was a little more faded, but the other was beautifully decorated. The innkeepers have only had the place for a couple of years, so it looks like they are rejuvenating it.)

The breakfasts were amazing; melt-in-your-mouth blueberries pancakes; my husband was a fan of the cheesy egg strata casserole that we had on the second day. The coffee-at-your-door service was perfect - we were able to face the public/breakfast duly caffeinated. (We were big fans of the fair trade coffee too!)

We already had a bit of an agenda when we arrived, but Andrea (the mom innkeeper) gave us some great tips on what the best things to do are - things only a local would know. We visited a local winery, and enjoyed sharing the bottle with Julie (the daughter innkeeper) in the parlour. (Unfortunately, it was too cold to sit on the porch.)

We probably won't have a chance to return to the Maritimes for a few years, so we're glad we stayed at the Farmhouse this time; it made the Bay of Fundy area the highlight of our trip! We definitely left with the feeling that we'd experience true "Maritimer" hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

My husband and I toured NS on our honeymoon 27 August -10 September. We spent 3 nights at the Farmhouse Inn (in the North Mountain Suite) and it was perfect. I think the person from the previous review must have stayed somewhere else. The breakfasts were delicious, the b&b was relaxing and the innkeepers were helpful and accommodating (especially to my husband's food allergies). If you're in the area I would highly recommend staying there and also hiking Cape Split!

  • Liked — Breakfast!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Hike Cape Split and see low tide at Blomidon Park
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9757 Main St. | Canning, Canning, Nova Scotia B0P 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Canning
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Canning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse Inn is a delightful getaway spot Annapolis Valley, just minutes from Wolfville and Kentville. We are the closest accommodation with en-suite bathrooms to the Cape Split hiking trail, and the world's highest tides on the Bay of Fundy. We’d be happy to put together a multi-day itinerary for you. Enjoy our complimentary full, hot breakfasts. Although we do not have a liquour license, guests may bring their own alcoholic beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.