We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price reasonable and good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Unicorn Hotel to your Saves list
Unicorn Hotel
Trentside Gunthorpe, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Price reasonable and good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed two nights and had a good room overlooking the river. Accomodation comfortable and clean with a good shower. Breakfast which was included in the room price was very good. Service was excellent and friendly. Had a meal in the hotel on one evening, it was adequate, but if I had one complaint nearly all the meals give the impression of being pre prepared

Room Tip: Try to get a roomoverlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    22
    12
    11
See reviews for
38
56
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Booked 2 rooms direct ,cheaper than the various late room companies. Very nice accomodation,beautifully clean. We met up with relatives in the evening and with the 20% off for the food and the vouchers for drinks we had a very nice evening. There were plenty of tea/coffee etc and the bathroom was spotless with lots of hot water. Breakfast was well cooked and the service was very quick and friendly.Have stayed here before and would stay again. 4* in my opinion

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times with my now husband. Infact we stayed here on the night of our wedding as gunthorpe is "our special place". It is above a Marsdons pub & is nicer than your average travelodge/premier inn room. Beds are comfy. Really recommend Pontifino's italian (im a foodie & this is my favourite restaurant in the world!) also Tom Browns is very nice. The breakfast was nice but me & my husband always laugh about how on the menu it stated "eggs anyway you like!" so we asked for poached & were told they do not do them. Not a big problem though. I did ask for a veggie fry up option & as with alot of places unfortunatly they just remove the meat. It would be nice to have meat substitute sausage or something...again, no big problem! Will definatly be staying again & would recommend for a romantic getaway or families .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here as a last minute getaway. The room was lovely, very good calibre, very clean and definitely value for money.

The only downside for me was that the music from the bar area started thumping through the floor from 7am which was extremely irritating, particularly as we had come for a restful break.

On that basis I am uncertain if we would stay again or not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This Marstons owned B&B has a fantastic location next to the river trent for summer walks or just feeding the ducks. Close to a static caravan park has access to an Italian, Indian and an excellent bistro restaurant are all within walking distance. That said the food in the Unicorn offers great value and variety including monthly seasonal specials. (20% discount for residents)
Ample parking and even a childrens play area make it a real destination pub. There were plenty of celebrations and birthday parties whilst we were there.
Each of the 17 rooms are themed and named. A bit of charm with some squeeky floorboards along fo good measure. All have really comfortable beds. Decor is a bit tired and some of the bathrooms could do with a regrout and freshed up. Expect some noise until 11pm, after all you are staying above a public house.
We got a mixed reception from the staff, Dan being the star of th show front of house. Overall a great alternative to the faceless corporates, give it a go

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Clean and comfortable with good pub meals. It was well priced, easy to park and made a great overnight stop. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Excellent value for money if you book on-line. 20 per cent off all food as a bonus. On a hot day, more bar staff were needed to cope with demand. I waited 30 minutes to get served. Our room was fine but overlooked the very noisy kitchen extractor fan. We have stayed several times over the last ten years. The rooms overlooking the front of the hotel and the river are the ones to ask for. Quality of food excellent.

Room Tip: ASk for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside Gunthorpe, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unicorn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.