We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If anything, even better..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country House Montali

Save Saved
You added Country House Montali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country House Montali
Via Montali, 23 | Tavernelle di Panicale, 06068 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sussex
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If anything, even better..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We first visited Montali 5 years ago and the one summer since then, when we were unable to travel, was the all the poorer. We haven't found anywhere that offers the same unique combination of tranquility, care, attention to detail and of course the well-documented fabulous food. We braved the early morning Ryanair flight from Stansted to the newly revamped Perugia airport. We were sitting by the pool at Montali an hour later, and barely moved for four days! In previous years we have gone on many day trips to Cortona, Assisi, Todi etc Montali is brilliantly placed for exploring both Umbria and Tuscany. Not much else to say that countless other reviews haven't said, other than any negative comments indicate merely that it is impossible to please all the people all the time. Alberto and Malu offer something very special (at a very reasonable rate) and we will be returning in 2013. Our 8 year old daughter will insist on it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoyed the whole 2 days.couldnot fault anything.
The veggie food was a revelation.Staff made us feel more than welcome.Alberto the owner was very entertaining with his very interesting and amusing conversation about his exploits in India.thank you for an unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 5 days here at the end of August, and it was bliss. It is so quite and peaceful. You are close enough to other areas for day trips and exploring, but to be honest, once we got there we didn't want to leave! Beautiful views and the pool area is set up perfectly for relaxing. An amazing amount of effort is put into the food. The chefs are in the kitchen working like crazy all day! Each dish served was something to truly admire and then thoroughly enjoy! Excellent wine list as well. Alberto and Malu are excellent hosts, and the staff is dedicated and professional. Everyone will do whatever they can to make your stay the best it can be. My husband even managed through persistence, to beg his way into the kitchen for a quick couple hour cooking lesson, and it is amazing what he learned in that short time. I got fresh pasta and pea purée stuff courgette when I got home! Cannot fault this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This year we went to Montali for the fourth time. A lot of positive comments have aready been given about the exquise quality of the food, the service and the beautiful location.
We can only agree. Alberto (host) and his wife Malu(chef) are extremely friendly and pleasant people to stay with (and they both have a good sense of humor!). It's really amazing what Malu and her staff are able to cook for their guests, evening after evening, without fish and meat, which is unbelievably complicated and time consuming. Even the 3 course lunches taste, although simple, very good. Alberto provides an extremely high
level of service. We will keep coming back to Montali until he
decides it's time to retire.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I visited Montali on the recommendation of a vegan friend. We are both vegetarian. The location is beautiful in a lovely part of Italy. The food was simply fabulous. Best we have ever eaten anywhere. Couple this with the warm and humorous hosting by Alberto and you have the recipe for a perfect break. If you aren't vegetarian, you might be by the time you leave! We will return once the kids are easier to transport!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited country house Montali for the second time. Once you have experienced the superbe cooking of Malu, there is no escape. You just need to return and want more. She can create taste with vegaterian food like haute cuisine. We both are no vegatarians but like good food. And this is excellent, the dish of gnocchi with truffle will be on my mind the entire year, like last year's lemon risotto. The location itself is remote, it takes 15 minutes on an unpaved road to get there. But then there is tranquility. There are 12 rooms which makes it never overcrowded. If you wish they can serve you lunch (extra charge) in case you spend the day at the swimming pool. Make sure you arrive on time in order to have a spot in the shadow. We can highly recommend this place, with good value for money and superbe food!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Do you enjoy gourmet Vegetarian cuisine? Are you looking for The Garden of Eden in Umbria?
This is it! A thoughtfully built/renovated boutique Country house in a stunning location in the Umbrian hills. About 5 rooms - each with balcony, modern bathrooms en-suite, up-market toiletries, fluffy towels.
The grounds boast typical views, olive groves and a pristine pool.
With a car one can visit Tuscan villages and towns - Sienna, Assisi, Orvieto, Montepulciano ++
The owners welcome guests and delight in giving personal attention ..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country House Montali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Montali

Address: Via Montali, 23 | Tavernelle di Panicale, 06068 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Country House Montali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Montali Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Country Hotel Montali
Country Hotel Panicale
Country House Montali Italy/Umbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country House Montali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.