We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Monte Solare

Save Saved
You added Villa di Monte Solare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa di Monte Solare
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06070 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On one hand I am delighted to provide a review of ‘our’ Villa di Monte Solare. On the other I am reluctant to share! It is in fact, the most perfect spot in every way and if I am lucky to continue to return to recharge my batteries and find my soul in those Umbrian hills I will be a very lucky woman indeed.
Once settled in charming, extremely comfortable accommodation, the villa and grounds are there to explore. Lovingly restored by Filippo and Rosi, its history is not only fascinating but something guests are encouraged to know. Filippo is a most gracious host as he escorts his small groups of interested guests around each week.
It would be very easy to just stay put – not venture out too far because it IS so welcoming, peaceful and respectful of guests wanting to escape and relax. However, the lure of those beautiful Umbrian medieval towns with their troves of art and history is not to be underestimated or missed. It is best to factor in the time to do both. Explore during the day and return and be rewarded with time by the pool.
The spa is an experience in itself. Imagine – privacy and peace as you lie having a massage or manicure – looking out of the window to the hills. I will never forget the haze of the sun, the gentle colours of the landscape and the sounds of the crickets. As far removed from an urban spa as you can imagine.
When people travel, eating out is always a treat. Here we could and did dine at both the Dolium – outside the main villa beneath the stars – and then more informally at La Capannina. Yes we could have explored other restaurants in nearby towns but it was such a pleasure to sit and dine amongst the summer sounds and perfume and feel as we literally had died and gone to heaven – why would we move?
So you can see that whilst it is my pleasure to write all these comments, I am very territorial about it too! When you stay here you literally feel as if YOU are the most important guests. Rosi takes the time to talk to each and every guest dining at Dolium every night. It’s an opportunity to learn more about the area and understand the Italian culture. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and I have never experienced such warmth and understated charm – from everyone.
Our goal is to return with our brood – four grown-up children – and have Christmas! I know we would be made to feel very welcome and to discover Umbria in the winter months will be a totally different experience. More than that I want to share it with those I love most.

Room Tip: We have stayed twice in the villa and have had gorgeous accommodation both times! Adjacent sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    55
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
56
309
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very pretty grounds, although you have to drive by an ugly electric plant to get there and which is visible from throughout the area. We booked through Small Luxury Hotels of the World and got upgraded to a suite. The room was very well appointed, spacious and comfortable, although there was no view of the Umbrian countryside. Also, the room was on the dark side with few windows (had to have lights on during the day), but who is in their room during the day anyway? Also, the walls were thin. On each night, we had to wait for the guests in the adjoining room to turn their television off before we could get to sleep or we knocked on the wall for them to turn it down. We took a special onsite cooking class (recommended) the morning we arrived and it went late into the afternoon. We were so full afterwards we couldn’t eat dinner, so we drove to a local market and bought some cheese, wine and fruit to have for dinner. We were going to sit outside our room and eat and when we asked for a plate for the cheese, we were given the plate but told they really don’t like guests bringing in outside food because they have restaurants on site. We have no problem with that policy if it is communicated to guests in advance, after all they are running a business. In our case, we were not made aware of this policy and given that we had just spent 200+ Euro at a cooking class at their hotel, this was a bit off-putting (and probably a harbinger of other unprofessional behavior we experienced from the owner.) We did eat in the restaurant the following night and it was OK, not great and not a good value (and a bit pricey for what we got and how it was prepared.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Villa monte solace is a most unforgettable stay for me. I must say through my frequent travels, going to villa monte solare is an out-of-the-world experience for me. The hotel is very well managed in five star standard by the owners Rosie and Filipo and it felt like staying in an 18th century castle with all the beautiful well preserved paintings and furniture. Rosie and Filipo go out of their way to make your stay most comfortable and enjoyable, and little cute dog Rolfi too will making you feel like home with long time friends.
The cooking class with chef Sergio is an amazing experience for me despite me having Been on many cooking travels before, the way chef Sergio teaches patiently and show you his tips and advice is really what you don't get on other cooking class. Chef sergiongoes out of his way to make sure you cook in a healthy manner and to bring out the full flavour of the foods of the season. I have never eaten and cooked so many delicious meals in my life!
A sincere thanks again to the lovely people at villa monte solare- Rosie, Filipo and chef Sergio for an unforgettable experience for me and keep up your good work in running this hotel and cooking schoolso well. And I have yet to mention, every meal at the Dolium restaurant is like being in food heaven with well presented and unique Tuscanndishes that you can only find here and nowhere else. Every night dining at the restart is being like at a Michelin star restaurant for me. I can only say thumbs up! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have in the past tended to gravitate towards adventurous breaks in challenging parts of the world, ranging from the High Arctic, through the tropics to the Antarctic. Following a period of ill-health we opted for a more peaceful holiday and after considerable research came upon the Villa Monte Solare in a part of Italy which was new to us.
We were collected at Rome airport by the proprietor and within two hours we were experiencing the breathtaking beauty of the hotel,its grounds and the surrounding landscape.
We were there for nine days and were deeply impressed by the effectiveness and friendliness of the staff, the stimulating, sometimes provocative but never less than intriguing menu and the range of possibilities for local walks and excursions to the charming local villages and to classical centres such as Perugia and Assissi. The hotel arranged for a hired car to be delivered to us: all such extras were provided efficiently and at reasonable cost.
This holiday perfectly met our aspirations and we would put it among our very richest experiences of European travel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here as our base for exploring the region of Umbria and we are so happy we did. The grounds are beautiful, the building is charming, the meals were fantastic and so was the spa and the cooking class. It really exceeded our expectations and it is a significant factor for why we preferred the countryside of Umbria to Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Villa Monte Solare is a really striking property and I wish I had been in high season to make the most of the beautiful grounds. That said, in October the weather was beautiful ideal for walking and visiting vineyards. The rooms were classic but by no means dated, and i didnt consider the bathrooms basic as one reviewer said (?) The food was delicious and the waiter was very knowledgable and helped us a pick a delicious local wine. It was a pleasure to meet Filippo & Rosi and they were so welcoming. Knowing we had an early start, before breakfast was set up they made us a packed breakfast for our morning drive and told us to ask one of the ladies setting up for a coffee if she was there. The lady was there and also insisted on us taking some home made cake. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: One of the rooms away from the main building with a terrace would be a beautiful place to sit out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved this hotel. We stayed here for two nights on our month long honeymoon in Italy. It was a very special place set amongst the vineyards and rolling hills in Umbria. The service was perfect, lovely food at both breakfast and dinners. we had a fantastic degustation dinner matched with wines which was absolutely devine. The view from the hotel and our room was gorgeous. Nice big room and cute little pools to enjoy the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa di Monte Solare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Monte Solare

Address: Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06070 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa di Monte Solare 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a remote hillside above Lake Trasimeno, Villa di Monte Solare nestles in gorgeous grounds punctuated by cypress trees and fountains a few miles from Perugia. An enchanting villa, that for centuries was home to an aristocratic family, it is now a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a pampering spa.Rooms and suites at Villa di Monte Solare are distributed between the villa, complete with marble fireplaces, terracotta floors and antique furniture, or in one of the 350-year-old farmhouses on the estate, also beautifully furnished but with a more rustic feel. Wander around the walled Italian garden and discover the chapel. Then, head to the pool and take in the sweeping views of the Muserale Valley and the Mongiovino hills.Take a cooking class with the chef to learn authentic Italian cuisine and then try to match a wine to your dish with a wine tasting session. In between swimming, relaxing, spa treatments and tennis find some time to visit some of the nearby villages for a feel of Umbrian life. End your day with delicious Italian cuisine in Villa di Monte Solare’s restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Villa di Monte Solare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Monte Solare Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Hotel Di Monte Solare
Di Monte Solare Hotel
Villa Di Monte Solare Italy/Umbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Monte Solare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.