We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and most unforgettable stay in paradise on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Monte Solare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa di Monte Solare to your Saves list
Villa di Monte Solare
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06070 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and most unforgettable stay in paradise on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Villa monte solace is a most unforgettable stay for me. I must say through my frequent travels, going to villa monte solare is an out-of-the-world experience for me. The hotel is very well managed in five star standard by the owners Rosie and Filipo and it felt like staying in an 18th century castle with all the beautiful well preserved paintings and furniture. Rosie and Filipo go out of their way to make your stay most comfortable and enjoyable, and little cute dog Rolfi too will making you feel like home with long time friends.
The cooking class with chef Sergio is an amazing experience for me despite me having Been on many cooking travels before, the way chef Sergio teaches patiently and show you his tips and advice is really what you don't get on other cooking class. Chef sergiongoes out of his way to make sure you cook in a healthy manner and to bring out the full flavour of the foods of the season. I have never eaten and cooked so many delicious meals in my life!
A sincere thanks again to the lovely people at villa monte solare- Rosie, Filipo and chef Sergio for an unforgettable experience for me and keep up your good work in running this hotel and cooking schoolso well. And I have yet to mention, every meal at the Dolium restaurant is like being in food heaven with well presented and unique Tuscanndishes that you can only find here and nowhere else. Every night dining at the restart is being like at a Michelin star restaurant for me. I can only say thumbs up! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    62
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
62
329
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have in the past tended to gravitate towards adventurous breaks in challenging parts of the world, ranging from the High Arctic, through the tropics to the Antarctic. Following a period of ill-health we opted for a more peaceful holiday and after considerable research came upon the Villa Monte Solare in a part of Italy which was new to us.
We were collected at Rome airport by the proprietor and within two hours we were experiencing the breathtaking beauty of the hotel,its grounds and the surrounding landscape.
We were there for nine days and were deeply impressed by the effectiveness and friendliness of the staff, the stimulating, sometimes provocative but never less than intriguing menu and the range of possibilities for local walks and excursions to the charming local villages and to classical centres such as Perugia and Assissi. The hotel arranged for a hired car to be delivered to us: all such extras were provided efficiently and at reasonable cost.
This holiday perfectly met our aspirations and we would put it among our very richest experiences of European travel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here as our base for exploring the region of Umbria and we are so happy we did. The grounds are beautiful, the building is charming, the meals were fantastic and so was the spa and the cooking class. It really exceeded our expectations and it is a significant factor for why we preferred the countryside of Umbria to Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Villa Monte Solare is a really striking property and I wish I had been in high season to make the most of the beautiful grounds. That said, in October the weather was beautiful ideal for walking and visiting vineyards. The rooms were classic but by no means dated, and i didnt consider the bathrooms basic as one reviewer said (?) The food was delicious and the waiter was very knowledgable and helped us a pick a delicious local wine. It was a pleasure to meet Filippo & Rosi and they were so welcoming. Knowing we had an early start, before breakfast was set up they made us a packed breakfast for our morning drive and told us to ask one of the ladies setting up for a coffee if she was there. The lady was there and also insisted on us taking some home made cake. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: One of the rooms away from the main building with a terrace would be a beautiful place to sit out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved this hotel. We stayed here for two nights on our month long honeymoon in Italy. It was a very special place set amongst the vineyards and rolling hills in Umbria. The service was perfect, lovely food at both breakfast and dinners. we had a fantastic degustation dinner matched with wines which was absolutely devine. The view from the hotel and our room was gorgeous. Nice big room and cute little pools to enjoy the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a great time in Villa di Monte Solare... Filippo and Rosi the owners were so welcoming from the minute we got there. The food was first class, wonderful continental breakfasts (I think you could order hot breakfasts if you wanted them though) and regional food menus in the evening. They also made some very good recommendations for restaurants in neighbouring towns. We also did a cooking course with Sergio which has prompted me to buy a pasta machine the second I got home!

Lastly they organised a whole proposal "set up" with my now fiance so on my birthday night I was invited out for some champagne and suddenly fireworks started sparking off overhead - they'd organised that all in advance - and my fiance proposed with champagne under the stars on their beautiful roof terrace. Thank you again Filippo and Rosi for a memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old olive press, it is off the main building and very charismatic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from staying at Villa di Monte Solare for four nights with a friend.

Before our arrival, the staff were extremely helpful in arranging a rental car and transportation from the train station. We arrived late on our first night, hungry after a long day of travel, and they kept the restaurant open for us. The owners, Filippo and Rosi, were friendly and provided helpful tips for getting around.

Its very quiet and the views are amazing. The property is surrounded by olive trees, its beautiful. Its isolated, but we didn't find the driving to be difficult at all. (That said, if you're going to drive around these hilly towns, GPS is essential).

If you are looking to explore Umbria, this is a great location. Perugia and Assisi are very close drives. We also enjoyed the wine and olive oil road to Montefalco.

Breakfast was good, and the restaurant also provided tasty dinners. That said, you probably want to explore other places for dinner, just to mix it up.

For travel purposes, Rome (where we flew out) is closer than Milan (where we flew in) and the best train station to get to the hotel is Chiusi. You'll need a rental car.

Room Tip: Based on previous reviews, we asked for a room outside of the main house, which worked out well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa di Monte Solare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Monte Solare

Address: Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06070 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa di Monte Solare 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a remote hillside above Lake Trasimeno, Villa di Monte Solare nestles in gorgeous grounds punctuated by cypress trees and fountains a few miles from Perugia. An enchanting villa, that for centuries was home to an aristocratic family, it is now a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a pampering spa.Rooms and suites at Villa di Monte Solare are distributed between the villa, complete with marble fireplaces, terracotta floors and antique furniture, or in one of the 350-year-old farmhouses on the estate, also beautifully furnished but with a more rustic feel. Wander around the walled Italian garden and discover the chapel. Then, head to the pool and take in the sweeping views of the Muserale Valley and the Mongiovino hills.Take a cooking class with the chef to learn authentic Italian cuisine and then try to match a wine to your dish with a wine tasting session. In between swimming, relaxing, spa treatments and tennis find some time to visit some of the nearby villages for a feel of Umbrian life. End your day with delicious Italian cuisine in Villa di Monte Solare’s restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa di Monte Solare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Monte Solare Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Hotel Di Monte Solare
Di Monte Solare Hotel
Villa Di Monte Solare Italy/Umbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Monte Solare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.