We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My proposal holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Monte Solare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa di Monte Solare to your Saves list
Villa di Monte Solare
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06070 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My proposal holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a great time in Villa di Monte Solare... Filippo and Rosi the owners were so welcoming from the minute we got there. The food was first class, wonderful continental breakfasts (I think you could order hot breakfasts if you wanted them though) and regional food menus in the evening. They also made some very good recommendations for restaurants in neighbouring towns. We also did a cooking course with Sergio which has prompted me to buy a pasta machine the second I got home!

Lastly they organised a whole proposal "set up" with my now fiance so on my birthday night I was invited out for some champagne and suddenly fireworks started sparking off overhead - they'd organised that all in advance - and my fiance proposed with champagne under the stars on their beautiful roof terrace. Thank you again Filippo and Rosi for a memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old olive press, it is off the main building and very charismatic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    64
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
62
336
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from staying at Villa di Monte Solare for four nights with a friend.

Before our arrival, the staff were extremely helpful in arranging a rental car and transportation from the train station. We arrived late on our first night, hungry after a long day of travel, and they kept the restaurant open for us. The owners, Filippo and Rosi, were friendly and provided helpful tips for getting around.

Its very quiet and the views are amazing. The property is surrounded by olive trees, its beautiful. Its isolated, but we didn't find the driving to be difficult at all. (That said, if you're going to drive around these hilly towns, GPS is essential).

If you are looking to explore Umbria, this is a great location. Perugia and Assisi are very close drives. We also enjoyed the wine and olive oil road to Montefalco.

Breakfast was good, and the restaurant also provided tasty dinners. That said, you probably want to explore other places for dinner, just to mix it up.

For travel purposes, Rome (where we flew out) is closer than Milan (where we flew in) and the best train station to get to the hotel is Chiusi. You'll need a rental car.

Room Tip: Based on previous reviews, we asked for a room outside of the main house, which worked out well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our second visit to this hotel in it's large grounds was just as enjoyable as our first. The staff are friendly and helpful, the accommodation spacious and the food delicious. Numerous walks from the hotel including one to the top of Mount Solare and a good base to explore the rest of Umbria.
We would unhesitatingly recommend Villa Monte Solare to friends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Villa di Monte Solare is in one of the most stunning locations we have ever stayed at. High up in the Umbrian hills, it overlooks valleys and hills with incredible views and because of the size and open-ness of the hotel (large grounds, multiple buildings of rooms, 2 restaurants, 2 pools) it is just beautiful. But only about 25 bedrooms so doesn't feel busy. Lovely eating breakfast outside.

We had a large room in the Limonaia rooms (called Superior double), with a patio, v comfortable bed, really nice bathroom, good chairs. The only thing to be aware of is that the sound-proofing between the rooms isn't great, so if you did have noisy neighbours then you could well hear them. That said, our experience of the sort of people who were staying when we did (early September) would suggest that wouldn't be likely (I hope!).

We also attended a session at the Cookery School with Sergio who was fantastic! A lot of fun, and the starter which we (er, he) made was just incredible.

We ate at the local town of Panicale: Lillo Tatini (which my partner loved) and Albergo Ristorante Masolino, which we both enjoyed and was a nice mix of locals and tourists.

Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

VdiMS was recommended by a friend and it exceeded all expectations. Sophisticated but without any pretensions at all. Rosi, Filippo, Jennifer and the rest of the staff were as friendly and as helpful as you could want. It seemed to us that the venture must be a labour of love for Rosi and Filippo as it would be difficult to create something so good with only commercial considerations driving you. The attention to detail in every aspect of the accommodations, the estate, the food and the service is probably the best we have experienced anywhere. If, and it's a big if, you find anything not to your liking then I'm sure the staff would put it right in an instant. Be sure not to miss Filippo's tour and talk about the estate and the area - even our 16 and 20 year old daughters were enthralled. If you don't revel in a stay at VdiMS then you are either some spoilt brat, or you have no soul. We're now just looking for a reason to go back - which shouldn't be too hard to find.

Room Tip: We stayed in Oliviai which is the renovated old olive press mill building. It is set a little way fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent five nights at this most stylish hotel. It is peacefully situated in the olive groves in the beautiful hills south of Lake Trasimeno. The main Villa is a lovely 17th century house set in delightful gardens. We were given a secluded and charming suite with a sitting room and balcony in another 17th century building close to the main Villa. There are two swimming pools which were immaculately maintained. The staff were most helpful, friendly and polite, and did everything they possibly could to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious and varied, including eggs and bacon, and we dined in the restaurant every night where the food was outstanding - a result I suspect of locally sourced ingredients and a truly superb chef. This hotel would be particularly appreciated by young couples or honeymooners who would love its discreet seclusion, and by older couples who would value its
refined style and excellence. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had requested a classic room in the Villa, but were given an immediate upgrade to our suite in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The room we had was OK but i'm not too happy being on the ground floor as you can't throw open the windows at night. It had outside space which would have been nice but the room next door had the same, just the other side of a thin hedge so sitting outside chatting was not relaxed.

Dinner would have been good but for the ridiculous size of each portion on their tasting menu. OK for Americans but we are used to Michelin size plates

Room Tip: Not in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VmsMarketing, Owner at Villa di Monte Solare, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Richard SW1, thank you for your review. Any kind of suggestion is helpful for us. But in this case we need to clear some aspects. Apart from the fact that Umbria is a region with a very low criminality rate, in the Limonaia building where you stayed, the windows have a special mechanism to keep them half open without the possibility to enter from outside. Probably you didn't know this technology. In regard to the terraces, they are all divided by nice perfumed hedges of Jasmin. They protect you from vision but not from noise. If you are in need of total privacy, it is better to stay in a private villa. We are glad that you appreciated the quality of our food although you prefer "Michelin size". Normally Michelin starred restaurants serve exactly the same size of portions that we serve. In Italy it is a custom not to eat only one big plate for lunch or dinner (like in Northern Europe and America), we always eat two or three courses in a proper meal. So the size of the plates is in proportion and - sorry - not ridiculous! Nevertheless we truly hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Umbria and that you might visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa di Monte Solare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Monte Solare

Address: Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06070 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa di Monte Solare 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a remote hillside above Lake Trasimeno, Villa di Monte Solare nestles in gorgeous grounds punctuated by cypress trees and fountains a few miles from Perugia. An enchanting villa, that for centuries was home to an aristocratic family, it is now a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a pampering spa.Rooms and suites at Villa di Monte Solare are distributed between the villa, complete with marble fireplaces, terracotta floors and antique furniture, or in one of the 350-year-old farmhouses on the estate, also beautifully furnished but with a more rustic feel. Wander around the walled Italian garden and discover the chapel. Then, head to the pool and take in the sweeping views of the Muserale Valley and the Mongiovino hills.Take a cooking class with the chef to learn authentic Italian cuisine and then try to match a wine to your dish with a wine tasting session. In between swimming, relaxing, spa treatments and tennis find some time to visit some of the nearby villages for a feel of Umbrian life. End your day with delicious Italian cuisine in Villa di Monte Solare’s restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa di Monte Solare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Monte Solare Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Hotel Di Monte Solare
Di Monte Solare Hotel
Villa Di Monte Solare Italy/Umbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Monte Solare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.