We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Burrill Lake Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burrill Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrill Lake Tourist Park
Save
You added Burrill Lake Tourist Park to your Saves list
8 Princess Avenue South, Burrill Lake, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

After reading all reviews thought this park was the best in the area. Very disappointed. About a 400 mt walk to the surf and it was not suitable for swimming. The weather wasn't good which made it worse. To top it off the managers of the park allowed a Karaoke party to take place in the camp kitchen from 2pm on Saturday and the drunks bellowed on loud microphones out of tune till 11.45pm. Not very well run in my books. Will not stay here again. Walked over the bridge to the Big 4 caravan park and it was so much nicer with beautiful grounds and perfect waterfront sites (At the same price) as we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirraBurrill, Manager at Burrill Lake Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are terribly sorry that the weather wasn't perfect for your stay.
The guests that were singing were dealt with severely for their noise and won't be welcome to stay with us again. Our noise policy is after 10pm limited noise and by 12pm all inside.
Unfortunately for we do very occasionally have disrespectful clients, we are sorry that it was on the weekend that you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After arriving on spec we managed to get two caravan sites with ensuite. After our first night which included great entertainment by the lake we rushed to the office to extend from 1 week to a 2 week stay. After our first day fishing on the lake we contemplated a 3 week stay. Instead we booked 5 sites for a month next year to bring our friends.
Its a good, clean, well managed park. Great caravan sites.
Great golf, great restaurants, good clubs, adequate shopping - all contributed to a great time.
Thanks Kirra and Noel - see you next year with our entourage!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirraBurrill, Manager at Burrill Lake Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so very much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed at Burrill Lake Tourist park for 12 nights.
The park is really well maintained and clean.
Kirra and Noël are incredible managers, nothing ever seemed to be a problem.
The kids rode around on their bikes and it was really safe to do so and the kids activities were fabulous. Paddle boarding with Pam Burridge, Rock climbing, Outdoor Movie theatre every night, kids discos, Jumping castle and Giant Chess. There is always something to do!
The caravan and tent sites are the largest that I have seen. The camp kitchen was well maintained and had plenty of up to date gadgets and appliances. The communal fridge was spotless.
We would not hesitate to come again. So relaxing at the lake front and Dolphin Point is worth a visit. There are courtesy buses to all the Clubs too. There's a great fish&chip, Coffee Shop, IGA mart, well stocked bottleshop and tackle shop straight across the road. Never had to get in the car for nearly 2 weeks. There is FREE WI-FI. Staff were super friendly. It was busy but you never felt 'crowded'. Kirra has a wonderful way with people and is such a beautiful soul. Very understanding of everyone's needs.
A great family holiday - highly recomended!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirraBurrill, Manager at Burrill Lake Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so very much, what amazing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kirra and Noel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at a powered site for 2 weeks, two vans, a 30 ft fifth wheeler with a slide out & a 23ft caravan also with a slide out.Big grassy sites, good amenities, lovely managers, very helpful & very good location 5 minutes drive from Ulladulla & a bottlo & fish & chip shop & bait & tackle store 2 minutes walk, a Post Office/newsagency, hairdresser & cafe 5 minutes walk across the bridge. Boat ramp in park but better all weather boat ramp 2 minutes drive across highway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirraBurrill, Manager at Burrill Lake Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you, Have a fabulous trip exploring our amazing country. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A bit of a family gathering had my wife and I staying is lovely elevated cabin. Sister and brother in law in their caravan on the grass site below the cabin. Daughter and son-in-law later joined us in the cabin. Joint opinions are:
* Clean and tidy park.
* Very friendly managers (Kirra and Noel) who know the value of customer service. Well done you two....other similar park managers can take a leaf out of your book.
* Nice location next to the lake and short walk to the ocean.

I have no hesitation staying there again....just hope my fishing ability improves. Equally I have no hesitation in recommending the park of other travellers or visitors.

Room Tip: If a cabin is your go.....cabins 7, 8 and 9 overlook the park and lake. Comfortable and clean. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirraBurrill, Manager at Burrill Lake Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words, we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This neat and tidy caravan park is right on the lake and you can walk from it through the dune heath to the surf beach. We had a small but clean cabin here. It has accommodation for 5 people but would be very squeazy if there were 5 staying. Fine for 2 or 3 people. It didn't have a separate bedroom but it did have good lighting and a hair dryer. There was no sofa just wooden dining chairs although there was a BBQ, BBQ table and 2 benches outside - I think one set for each cabin. This cabin was more expensive for what we got then other caravan parks we have stayed in. I don't know if all the cabins have to same cooking equipment but ours (cabin 3) had a combination stove and oven thing with 2 hot plates. It comes with instructions, which are very necessary. I had cooked dinner for 2 nights at the previous caravan park and so only had to heat up dinner and it took 20 minutes to do so. I am glad I didn't have to cook from scratch as the hot plates really didn't well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirraBurrill, Manager at Burrill Lake Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Totally agree with you, the stoves are hard to operate, we would love to replace them in the near future. On our suggestion many families wishing to cook meals take advantage of our camp kitchen that has a full size stove/oven, large table and big screen tv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We agree with everyone saying its great for families, great activities, great hosts, great park allround.
Just a couple of things - the kids playgroup needs some serious upgrade, as does the camp kitchen and games/tv room. Also, the plaster painting is not FREE as mentioned in your desciption. New owners - new rules - prices are a bit high compared to other parks with similar attractions/facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirraBurrill, Manager at Burrill Lake Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, being a council owned park all upgrades are a process of approvals, the playground has definately been on the top of the list. I will adjust our mention of plaster painting as a free activity, I'm sure the ALL the other free activities were enjoyed by your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burrill Lake Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrill Lake Tourist Park

Address: 8 Princess Avenue South, Burrill Lake, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Burrill Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Burrill Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNING!'A small park with a big welcome', Manager's Noel and Kirra do a great job of ensuring you enjoy your stay. We are absolute lake frontage, or take an easy walk along the path directly to the lovely white sand of Burrill Beach and enjoy the amazing views across Burrill Lake to Pigeon House Mountain. Our relaxed family friendly park has the best of everything. Just off the Princes Highway, 5 minutes south of Ulladulla and 30 minutes north of Batemans Bay. Bring your boat, canoe or kayak for excellent fishing or a relaxing paddle on the lake. Hand over your keys. Once here, there is no need to get in your car again, the Fish 'N' Chip shop and Local Liquor are just across the road. The newsagent, cafe and IGA supermarket just a short walk over the bridge. A large variety dining options can be found in Ulladulla, clubs and pubs have courtesy buses to pick you up and drop you off at our door. On weekends we have a great jumping castle, giant LEGO mat and outdoor cinema for the kids. Also available in our camp kitchen, table tennis, air hockey and big screen TV.For the School Holidays we have organised FREE activities for all the family, a fantastic Jumping Castle, Kinda Gym, Plaster Painting, Stand up Paddle Boarding and an evening Outdoor Cinema, Music by the Lake and more.Retirees and grey nomads will enjoy the quiet and tranquil location of the park, while still being close to all the amenities and services of the Ulladulla and surrounding areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burrill Lake Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.