We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare traditional restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Venus Restaurant

The Venus Restaurant
Falcon Square, Dinnington, Rotherham S25 2PL, England
+44 1909 562455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Dinnington
Price range: $28 - $47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A rare traditional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited as a party for my wife's birthday celebration as we knew we could rely on the Venus as an excellent venue with top quality food. It was a Sunday so we ordered from the 3 course set menu which was £18. All of our group enjoyed the freshly cooked food and it is always a treat to have the vegetables served at the table by the very efficient and polite staff. If you are looking for a restaurant that is a cut above the rest then this is a great place to visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    22
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valentine's Delight - Not!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Food was good but it was quite expensive. There was a mark up of £10 because of it being Valentine's Day. We could have accepted this but what we hadn't realised when we booked was that there was a 'cabaret' included. The meal began well with gentle romantic background music against which conversation was easy. However, as soon as the 'cabaret' (two 'professional' - apparently - singers using a laptop to create the backing music) began, the volume gradually increased and conversation was more of a struggle. Normally this might be OK but it really sounded like a karaoke session to us and did nothing for what was a nice ambiance. It was a relief when they stopped and, luckily, we were ready to go soon after they started again When I shared my disappointment about the 'singing' with a member of staff, she was not interested and defended their choice of entertainment.

We agree with other reviews that the staff could smile a lot more and be more friendly.

We also agree with previous comments about the fabric of the building being poor as evidenced in the state of the gents' toilets.

This place has a fantastic reputation but we were bitterly disappointed and will not be visiting there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked a family meal the service and food was amazing I can not fault this place at all we will defiantly be returning

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“excellent resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

steaks cooked to perfection , profiteroles were superb,portions large great atmosphere and really good staff

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

A very nice meal was had by all of our party, well presented and served beers good too, would definitely return and recommend . Great value for money in nice surroundings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venus Restaurant also viewed

Wickersley, Rotherham
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Dinnington, Rotherham
 

Been to The Venus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Venus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.