We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 West Bay B&B and Inns
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Last minute stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We turned up late one night and asked for a room on spec. Great service by the new landlords, keen to look after us and to arrange us a good room.
we had a good meal, good nights stay and thought that the new landlords was very friendly and helpful.
Smashing service!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
21
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london camden town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we had a lovely warm welcome the food was great we had a sunday dinner which was excellent. staff was so friendly a lovely pint of palmers at this place, dogs welcome in bar area which was good would recommend this pub

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We Visited The George this Sunday for a family meal, Very warm welcome, ordered 4 x Carvery meals, we did not have to wait at all, the choice was of three meats, Beef, Pork or Turkey, or some of each. we were encouraged to help ourselves to the range of veg, the roast potatoes were crispy, the meat cooked just right, Beef medium rare, Turkey meltingly soft etc, all in all a super meal, we had deserts & drinks, all for just over £25 per person, very good value & excelent service, we will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Dinner was excellent steaks done to perfection, service was good and friendly, food was hot and served on time, a good Chilean Merlot was reasonably priced, no fault from us and we are very fussy as a rule. Keep up the good work. Would recommend The George to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The new landlords offered a warm welcome on arrival. The cavery was as good as any I have ever had- from the meat to the veg, everything was just right. I visit plenty of dining pubs around the West Country although the ambience at The George is perfect. Will come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been holidaying in this area for many years and had always dismissed this pub/hotel as being less than appealing. However having read that the new owners also have the Greyhound at Beaminster we were encouraged to try it. We were not disappointed. Chris the landlord and his staff were friendly, welcoming and very informative about the menu and their hopes for The George. the decor is cosy and contemporary and the toilets were spotless. I understand that they are commencing the refurbishment of the accommodation very soon. The menu is well balanced and features local seasonal produce and is well priced with a good range of prices to suit all pockets. We had the speciality burgers with the best onion rings we have had in a long time (all home made no frozen stuff here) I would say to anyone who has been here before come back it's a very different place now and to those who have yet to venture in do so you won't be disappointed! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

OCT 2013 The new owners have really turned this place around. My son and I are booked in again to stay this Saturday and Sunday night. The rooms are being refurbished and the new owners are really helpful and so accommodating. Thanks you so much we cant wait to arrive!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. . The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel West Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.