We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grill night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
+44 1308 423191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“grill night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW

visited the george at west bay for a family birthday celebration - didnt realise it was grill night and we were nicely surprised to find we could get 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £20 - steak was excellent - we had the red and white wine and both were very drinkable - the steaks came with chips, mushrooms, tomatoe, and onion rings - a very generous plateful - we had a lovely friendly attentive waitress and nothing was too much trouble - even our soon to be 2 year old was made very welcome - would highly recommend a visit and we hope to go back soon

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW

Had a walk down to the George on one of our nights stay in Bridport. They had a special offer on their pies that night, 2 meals and a bottle of wine for £22. The pies are freshly made to order and take a little bit more time. 20-30mins but well worth the wait. I had the Steak n Kidney and my mrs had the Turkey, Ham n Leek. Glad we walked down, the portion was big and we needed the walk back to work some of it off. Great filling, meats just melted in your mouth (teeth not needed that tender) and a rich thick tasty gravy. We've had the pies before and they we're great then and haven't changed. Will be going back next time down Dorset for sure.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Good arcade game!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We recently enjoyed a bit of a pub crawl around West Bay and this pub was probably our least favourite. The atmosphere was limited and the drinks more expensive than we paid elsewhere. There was a cool old school arcade game we enjoyed playing, but not enough to make us stay for a second drink!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice decor.... Average food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We went for the Sunday Lunch... After it being recommended to us at the cottage we were hiring for the week.... The Sunday lunch looked fantastic.... But the taste and flavours didn't deliver sadly... The gravy makes a Sunday lunch and unfortunately the gravy at the George repeated on us for the rest of the day....the roast potatoes looked fantastic too but were flavourless and I was sad when they weren't as crisp as they looked.......the staff were quite
friendly....

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Carvery ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We just popped in on spec and were found a table on a very busy Sunday lunchtime. Glad we did, our lunch was delicious! Loads of it and all freshly cooked to perfection. All served by friendly, chatty staff, nothing too much trouble. We've eaten here previously definitely will be again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.