We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagulls Restaurant

Seagulls Restaurant
1-3 Station Road | West Bay, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
+44 1308 425099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $6 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An Inconspicuous Restaurant easy to miss!No formal awards or accolades just 20 years of holding a great reputation with holiday makers and locals for a good consistent standard of food and service.Opening hours are seasonal please contact to be sure.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having attended a wedding in Brixham the day before, we decided to break our journey to Hampshire with a stop off in Dorset. Having checked into our hotel we took an early evening stroll to find somewhere for supper. We happened upon the Seagull which is in an unpreposessing building a couple of hundred yards from the sea. The decor is smart cafe style - pine tables and chairs. Lovely welcoming waitress showed us to our table. Starters were mushrooms in cream sauce (my wife) but I had the homemade Mackerel Pate - possibly the smoothest and fishiest I've ever tasted. Excellent warm toast. For main course my wife had another starter - Scallops with a balsamic dressing. So good I didn't get a taste! I went for the whole Lemon Sole with homemade chips and side salad. Rick Stein himself could not have cooked it more perfectly - pan fried in a little butter , the fish was moist and on the point - perfect. An excellent bottle of Muscadet worked well. The Seagull has been run by the same chef for 19 years, so he is obviously doing something right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great little place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had our last meal of our break at the Seagulls Restaurant, well what can i say... It was the best meal we had had in a very long time. The young girl who served us was fantastic, really friendly but not in your face like some restaurants can be. The food to us was fabulous and very, very good value. From the first mouthful to the very last it was delicious. My husband thought he had died and gone to heaven when he tucked into his homemade bread and butter pudding, the best he had ever eaten. The melt in the middle choc fudge cake was brill. Highly recommended :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting well prepared food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed this simple food on a quiet Saturday night in April.
Friendly, country staff, and simple tasty food, in a convenient location.
It's not cheap, and the portions aren't generous, but it's better than most of the options in West Bay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place but shame soft drinks so expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

fabulous place to eat, very welcoming and accommodating of our two children. food was delicious, on hot plates and veg was perfectly cooked with homemade yorkies and proper roasties- our only issue was the price of soft drinks as they have no mixers on tap so only bottles of Britvic, so a pint of lime and soda, normally 90p in a pub, cost more than the price of a pint of beer £3.85!! This substantially put the price of our meal up which we only realised once the bill came and was too late to change. I think they should at least inform you of this when you order such beverages so avoid a nasty shock when the bill arrives.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squashman50, Guest Relations Manager at Seagulls Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
thanks for your lovely comments on our food and service very much appreciated.
as for the the soft drink you were definitely over charged !! for which we offer our apologies .this was due to a programming error on the epos till . and will offer you free soft drinks on your next visit !
we have recently reduced all our soft drink prices and in general all our softs drinks beers wine and ciders are cheaper or the same price as all the west bay hostelries .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although we hadnt booked we only had a half hour wait for a table for 5 of us. The waitresses were excellent pleasant girls and the food was very tasty and nice and hot! It was easter sunday and west bay was busy so we didnt mind the wait.. had 3 courses all of which were fab!! Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagulls Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Seagulls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagulls Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.