We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcroft Bed & Breakfast

Beachcroft Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcroft Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Beachcroft Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
23 Fortyfoot Way, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 West Bay B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Little B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and everything was fautless. The room was cleaned and maintained to a very high standard and the bed extremely comfortable! The breakfast was cooked to order and extremely tasty. The couple who run it were very friendly and welcoming and we will definatly go back again (hopefully next time we will get to the beach as it rained all the time we ere there ;-( )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and welcoming base to explore the Jurassic Coast, then the Beachcroft in Westbay offers just that and more. Our double room for 7 nights was really spacious, bigger than most hotel rooms we stayed in, with an equally large bathroom and separate toilet. Sue and Peter are charming, friendly hosts who are more than willing to give you some really good tips on where to go and eat (like ‘The Bull Inn’ in Swyre), though if you’ve had one of Sue’s breakfasts, you can easily skip lunch. Westbay is charming and from here you can take a walk up the cliffs or just spend a day at the beach. Definite do’s are: a visit to charming Charmouth and lovely Lyme Regis; Shaftesbury (Gold Hill); Sherborne Castle; a walk from Lulworth Cove (I found the smaller coves even more impressive) to Durdle Door (not easy on a hot day, but definitely worth it); the villages of Evershot, Little Bredy, Cerne Abbas (with the Cerne Giant), Sydling St Nicholas and Minterne Magna; Corfe Castle, which can already be seen from the road (a plus for us, since we ran out of time to visit it properly). But the village which moved me the most was in fact one of Sue’s tips and the nearest of all: Abbotsbury, offering a lovely walk up to St Catherine’s Chapel from where you have some breathtaking views over Chesil Beach, Lyme Bay and the Swannery. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Jurassic Coast and can definitely recommend the Beachcroft. Thank you Sue and Peter for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Beachcroft B & B for my birthday treat and had a fab time. The guesthouse was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated throughout and our bedroom was large and airy with a very comfortable bed and beautiful ensuite. Sue and Pete made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was excellent each morning offering a delicious fresh fruit salad, cereal, and a great cooked breakfast, juice, tea/coffee and toast. Ideally situated as only a minutes walk from the pretty harbour (which we could see from our window) and 2 minutes from the beach, West Bay has a very relaxed atmosphere and is within easy driving distance to Bridport, Axminster, Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Sidmouth and lots more places. It was RNLI week at Lyme Regis so very busy over the weekend with a firework display on Saturday night and a fab display by the Red Arrows on Sunday afternoon which made my birthday weekend extra special. An excellent stay, great value for money, will definately stay at Beachcroft again..... thanks for a lovely welcome Sue and Pete

Room Tip: Our room was a family room, large and airy with kingsize and single bed, 2 seater wicker sofa and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our third stay at this guesthouse, and we would not go anywhere else when in the area.
Ideally situated, a minute's walk from the harbour, and two from the beach, but no sea views.
Comfortable bed, spotless room, good tea/coffee selection in room.
Owners could not have been more friendly or helpful.
The breakfasts are huge- 2 fried eggs, 2 large sausages, 3 bacon, 2 fried bread, tomatoes, mushrooms, plus toast, yoghurt, fruit salad with strawberries ,melon, grapes, pineapple, kiwi fruit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We found Beachcroft very clean and comfortable. Sue and Peter were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was the best we had ever had at a bed and breakfast. You are guaranteed a good sleep at night as it is very quiet .Also try the tea rooms also run by sue and peter. An excellent place to stay right in the heart of west bay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed with Peter and Sue a number of times and once again we had a great stay. We had our usual room, which as always was very clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was delish and set us up for the day - fresh fruit, cereal and an excellent choice for cooked breakfast :o) Beachcroft is the perfect base for a trip to West Bay and area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

stayed here for a night as was celebrating my 40th birthday at the beautiful fish restaurant (the riverside), which is just opposite. could not fault this b & b, it is immaculate, tastefully furnished and the hosts are so warm and friendly. highly recommended for location, cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcroft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcroft Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23 Fortyfoot Way, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Bay
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcroft Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.