We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish specialists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Restaurant

Riverside Restaurant
West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
+44 (0)1308 422011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fish specialists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

A birthday treat from my father in law. I will need to stay in his good books by continuing to treat his daughter well.

This restaurant know how to serve quality seafood. Ok a bit above what we would normally spend but well worth it.

I am not going to give our selection as I am confident all the seafood dishes are perfection on a plate.

Desserts had both a rhubarb and a rice pudding on offer. I went for the rice pudding with prunes accompanied by the sake desert wine. An excellent combination.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redchilly94, General Manager at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your review so pleased your father in-law enjoyed his birthday celebration with us.. we look forward to seeing you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    66
    22
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hadn't been to the Riverside for a couple of years - returning this March I was disappointed. The food was good quality and well cooked but the portions were small and the dishes were expensive. I find it difficult to understand how two lemon sole fillets can cost over £40!
The service was fine but inexperienced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redchilly123, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
For complete accuracy we feel it is important to point out that it was two full lemon sole meals and not just two lemon sole fillets as suggested in the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a great meal here on Valentines Day amid a pretty dreadful storm.
The water was flooded up over the walkway across to the restaurant, so it was a pretty hectic evening, but even so, we had a lovely evening, and excellent food. Service was a little patchy but that was understandable on the night!
Really good menu, and they did a great Valentines Menu, and good wine too. Good value.. all in all a really good night (even though we had to go out all dressed up and in wellies!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Panny 50”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had not visited the Riverside for about fifteen years. It was always my favourite and continually gave the wow factor. How disappointed I was when I visited last week with my Mother. The set menu was certainly not the cheapest but we were more than happy to pay as we were expecting the best. The starter was simple, and very nicely cooked but the main course was so similar to the starter and the fish changed from hake to a thin haddock fillet we felt very let down. I remember 'Arthur's ' when we queued for Lobster or scallops with those queuing for cream tea or sandwiches. It then became a restaurant and was always excellent. I hope we just visited on an off day and that this is not the norm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lunch at the Riverside is actually no more expensive than prices at many 'gastro pubs' these days, where food can be all show but not great quality. The food at the Riverside is always fresh and beautifully cooked. You leave feeling it was worth every penny. It's a charming setting for an evening meal on a special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Restaurant also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.