We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm++, 20 min from airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de hacienda Su Merced

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de hacienda Su Merced to your Saves list
Casa de hacienda Su Merced
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle Julio Tobar Donoso, casa No. 12, Barrio Chiche Obraje, Puembo, Quito EC, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Charm++, 20 min from airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am so happy I had discovered through TA this charmfull hosteria, everything in the decor is beautiful, rooms are very spacious (triple $137), breakasft and dinner were excellent, people are so kind and helpfull : a very unusual airport hotel, very close, ca 15-20 min at 7 am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
31
38
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We lucked into finding this place while looking for places close to the new Quito airport. This lovingly restored 300 year old hacienda is gorgeously decorated with fascinating accessories and beautiful antiques. The beds are heavenly comfortable with down comforters and thick blankets (no heat, as is true most places in Ecuador). The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The owners are gracious and charming and make you feel at home. The food was wonderful and plentiful. It's supposed to be breakfast only, but they will feed you all your meals for an additional fee.
If you go, take them up on their offer to pick you up at the airport (they will do so at any time day or night) because the property is hard to find and not well known to taxis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are looking for a accommodation near Quito airport this can't be beaten.
A beautiful, old building, surrounded by lovely gardens, a very good breakfast and a welcoming host.
The rooms are comfy and charming and it is a short drive to the airport.
What more do you want?

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Ok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place to stay. Pablo was so great. He was so attentive to us and spoke very good English. The motel was over 300 years old, and had a lot of relics from times past. The security in place make me feel safe. I will definitely stay there again in the future. There are no televisions in the rooms, but you really did not miss them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked this hotel as had early flight out of the new Quito airport the next day. Was a bit tricky to find for the Quito city taxi driver that brought us to Puembo (a suburb of Quito), but he found it eventually, tucked-away at the end of a quiet street. I was feeling bit under the weather when we arrived, and the owner's wife was very sympathetic, and cooked us a lovely dinner and we had a great breakfast the next morning. The place is converted from an old house with lovely gardens, which has been added on to over the years, and the decor is a mix of antique furniture and mid-century modern - sounds odd, but works really well. The owner drove us to the airport in the morning, and only took about 15 minutes. Lovely little place, really friendly, and nice food - definitely a great place to stay if you need to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was looking for a place to crash after a late flight from Atlanta to Quito, then later in the week, for a night after a flight from Galapagos (early flight the following day to Cusco). Most of the Quito airport hotels were booked, but I saw good reviews about Su Merced, so we booked it. What an incredible place! It is a hacienda, over 300 years old, surrounded by beautiful grounds and filled with amazing antiques. Transfers to and from the hotel were $15/trip for our family of 4, and it was so nice to have someone waiting for us when we arrived. The room (had enough beds for 6 people) was beautifully appointed and clean, the plumbing modern. Our host, Pablo, was extremely kind and hospitable, and showed us all around the grounds on the 2nd visit, when we had time. We ordered dinner, which was wonderful, and served in the original kitchen, cooked in the original clay oven. Since we left both days before breakfast was served, they gave each of us a box breakfast...a really nice touch. All I wanted was a place to stay near the airport, but, instead, we got an incredibly special hotel. Thank you Hosteria Su Merced!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel near the new Quito airport, look no further than Su Merced. The owners have restored a stunning historic property and turned it into a charming hotel. They provide their own taxi service to and from the airport for the same price as a standard taxi. Only a 15 min drive. The rooms and common spaces are comfortable, clean, and decorated with interesting antiques. We arrived late, but the owners fixed a delicious late-night snack for us and gave us a tour of the property...very interesting and gracious people. Can't say enough about Su Merced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de hacienda Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de hacienda Su Merced

Address: Calle Julio Tobar Donoso, casa No. 12, Barrio Chiche Obraje, Puembo, Quito EC, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito > Puembo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Puembo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de hacienda Su Merced 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Su Merced Hacienda House, 15 kilometers from the air- port of Quito Tababela, Puembo, place of eternal spring. Beautifully rebuilt (2009 to 2012), the house maintains the adobe walls of more than a meter wide, during the day isolate heat, preserving temperature in the evenings. Ten beautifully decorated rooms, gardens that preserve the wildlife, cozy rooms and patios. Guests can receive a genuine "hacienda" life of the Ecuadorian highlands. We offer delicious homemade meals, wifi service and a personalized treatment to those who visit this site full of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa de hacienda Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Hacienda Su Merced Ecuador/Puembo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de hacienda Su Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.