We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around not as good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo San Niccolo'

Save Saved
You added Palazzo San Niccolo' to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo San Niccolo'
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 16, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Radda in Chianti
california
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Second time around not as good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel. Like the first time, the hotel was nice, the rooms were large, the area was beautiful and peaceful, and the hotel staff was generally helpful. However, things were not up to the standard of the previous visit. This time around, the hotel was part of a small chain. Because of that, the personal touches and the helpfulness of the staff was not the same as when the owners were there. Also, the breafast was a major disappoinment. On earlier visit, a person had a chioce of buffet items, a selection of cooked-to-order items (which varied each day) or a combination.This visit, the hotel breakfast was a combination of a poor selection of cold buffet items and a few steam table offerings. Even the setting breakfast rrom was moved to a crowded and impersonal part of the hotel. Sad that the hotel is going down hill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRusty, Responsabile reception at Palazzo San Niccolo', responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not like Palazzo San Niccolò as in 2011.
Actually, the ownership and the management is the same and they have the usual care for all hotel's guests. Moreover, no changes have been applied in rooms and services.
The breakfast room has been moved into the ground level, because the brekafast room of the past was at level of rooms and we were afraid to be too much noisy for our guests!
We always offer the following products: fresh fruits, choice juices, milk, choice of corn flakes, choice of home made cakes, ham, cheese, salami, olives, choice of dried fruit, choice of yogurt, boiled eggs, choise of fresh bread, toast-bread, butter, choice of marmelade.
We consider very important your words and opinion about Palazzo San Niccolò and we will use them in order to improve our service.
We hope to have you as guests again.
Best regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here on our bike tour through Chianti and it was wonderful.
its centralized in the very cute village with plenty of Enoteca's and other shops right in front of you.
Great breakfast and common area for wifi as well.
Would love to return and would recommend to anyone traveling through Tuscany

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel during our wine tour in Tuscany. Friendly staff lovely room and very peaceful. It was good to sit outside and eat breakfast. Location was good in the square with little or no passing traffic. Radda is a lovely town surrounded by outstanding countryside. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Everything was absolutly perfect! Do not hesitate to stay at Palazzo San Niccolo. Radda in Chianti is the ideal well located place to visit the Chianti region and all Toscany. Radda is a magnific little town, people are welcoming and restaurants are very good. In fact, during are 21 days trip in Italy, it is in Toscany where restaurants served the best italian meals. Regarding the hotel, we would like to say many many many thanks to the personnel there, espacially to Tania, Lavinia, Suzanna and Guiditta. They were always please to serve us and to give us travelling tips. Breakfast was very nice and they prepare a very good coffee at your taste. The lady who serve the coffee even remember each morning what kind of coffe you prefer! Excellent service! And for the room, it was a quadruple room, very spacious and comfortable, very clean, with 2 king beds and 2 complete bathroom. The frig was full of bottle of water each day for free. Our room had a very beautifull view on a little terrasse and on the church. The hotel has also a litlle terrasse where you can have a drink to relax, or read or chat in the afternoon. Well, we certainly go back there again to spend more time and to discover more the Toscany region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very charming old building with fresco-like pictures on the walls and ceilings. Our room was overlooking small "piazza" with murmurous fountain and old church. Beautiful peaceful view taking you two-three hundred years back. Living conditions – perfect. Plus – you can use indoor pool in the nearby hotel, wich was absolutely fabulous. Keep in mind that you can not drive right to the hotel doors. Town center is closed for traffic, so you have to walk about 200 m. Parking might be a problem only on a busy weekend, but after couple of circles around the center (which diameter is probably no more then 400 m) you'll definitely find your lucky spot.

Room Tip: Take one overlooking a square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

An absolutely wonderful room awaited me and my father beyond the bland reception area. We booked a twin room, which turned out to be a huge room with two beds and a further separate room with a chaise lounges comfortable enough to sleep on.
The ceiling was wood an original wood one, with beams and a roof light, which I opened to view the surrounding valleys(the hotel is on top of a hill so the views were for miles!)
Lovely breakfast, which one can eat out on the quiet residential centre street of this quiet little town.
I slept well, only woken up by the noise of birds jumping around on the roof and pecking at the thatch- which was actually quite nice in a way!
While there was little to Radda in Chianti, I would go back just to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor for the beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I and our young adult son stayed at this hotel in July. The staff were welcoming, and when we were initially shown a room without any window, they immediately changed our one room to two adjoining rooms with windows. The rooms were large and comfortable, however, they had installed shower taps and nozzles that were supposed to enhance the showering experience, however, they took up so much space in the shower, there was no room left to move. This is the only negative part of our stay here.
The hotel is located in a beautiful little street in a picturesque town in Tuscany and we had a wonderful time while we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo San Niccolo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Niccolo'

Address: Via Roma, 16, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#4 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Niccolo' 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Niccolo is the right place to be ravished by Tuscany charm: precious materials, authentic frescoes merged in a magic atmosphere to offer you an unforgettable experience, full of comfort and top quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Palazzo San Niccolo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Niccolo` Hotel Radda In Chianti
San Niccolo Hotel
Palazzo San Niccolo' Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo San Niccolo', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.