We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a while you come across a real gem - this is one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo San Niccolo'

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo San Niccolo' to your Saves list
Palazzo San Niccolo'
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 16, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Once in a while you come across a real gem - this is one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stayed here with my wife whilst attending a friend's wedding in Radda. A really beautiful boutique hotel. Large room, big comfortable bed, big ensuite bathrooom. All recently decorated to a very high standard. So the hotel is really very beautiful - right opposite the charming Town Hall building but one things stands out more that anything - the Staff. I don't think I have every been made to feel more welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. Every requested greeted with a smile and a can do attitude, Particular reference to a lady called Laura on the reception desk. She answered two emails before we arrived very promptly and then when we arrive greeted us like long lost friends. Nothing was too much bother. The hotel doesn't havea it's own swimming pools but has a deal with a hotel about 4kms away. We spent a very enjoybale afternoon there - and there were only two other guests so we had the pool there to ourselves. Thanks again to the lady who runs that hotel I think her name was Martina. There is yet another hotel about 40 metres away that has an indoor pool - but we never tried that. I've been travekling around the world for the past 35 years and this is one of the best places I have ever stayed in - oh yes, the wedding (not in the hotel but in a nearby villa) was absolutely stunning. I'll be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    39
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was a true little gem of a hotel and village that is not on any of the main tourist routes. Radda had been suggested to us by a friend and I think that it is a truly great little place that offers something a little different to the rest of the popular Tuscan spots. It is a superb relaxing little town where you can spend time doing some wine tasting or just admiring the great views. The hotel room was excellent and probably the best one that we stayed in during our two week stay in Italy. It had a great window overlooking the tiny little square below. You can also park you car in the public parking for the town for free. It a superb relaxing little town and worth a one night stay on your way through Tuscany. For what we paid it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel was perfect! Beautiful rooms and exceptionally clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a great expereince overall. Radda in Chianti is a beautiful part of Italy and we felt truly relaxed and comfortable at this hotel. We would highly recommend it to others. A real gem indeed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We have stayed at several hotels in Chianti over the past 13 years and on a recommendation from an Italian friend we chose to stay at the Palazzo San Niccolo in Radda in Chianti for our recent trip. We were staying five nights and almost decided not to stay at the Niccolo because we thought the price was too good to be true. How wrong we were!!! The hotel has been newly renovated and was the best choice we could have made. It is on the quiet main street of Via Roma and clo0se to all the shops of Radda and within easy driving distance of Florence, Siena, Castallina in Chianti, Greve, Panzano in Chianti and all of Chianti.

The prices include a great buffet breakfast, complimentary bottled water, free Wifi and the most gracious staff we have ever encountered in Italy. All rooms are air conditioned with shutters on the windows. We would have paid double the price to stay at the Palazzo San Niccolo. We visit Chianti every couple of years and we have definitely found our "home away from home".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous rooms, clean, spotless. Paid less than 100 Euros for the room, out of season. The internet facilities in the hall are really old and full of malware, pay attention when logging into your business!! Reception is very helpful with all your needs. Common area with nice cafe facing cetral Radda. NO parking inside the old section of Radda.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfardebian - Lebanon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

we went for our honemoon, it was agreat experience, the staff are nice and helpful, room are good, the atmosphere like you are at home...

everything was excellent... you do not need more to enjoy Chianti.

Aline & Issam

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is a wonderful, clean hotel in the village of Radda in Chianti. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They graciously helped us with local winery information & local bus schedule. Easily the best hotel service we had during our 2 weeks in Italy. Very nice breakfast with delicious pastries that was free the month we were there. Room was moden, nice decorated & spacious by Italian standards. There were several nice restaurants within walkig distance. We came here after visiting Florence and it was a nice break from the crowds so we'd highly recommend this hotel and Radda in Chianti for anyone looking for a few quiet days in Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo San Niccolo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Niccolo'

Address: Via Roma, 16, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Niccolo' 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Niccolo is the right place to be ravished by Tuscany charm: precious materials, authentic frescoes merged in a magic atmosphere to offer you an unforgettable experience, full of comfort and top quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo San Niccolo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Niccolo` Hotel Radda In Chianti
San Niccolo Hotel
Palazzo San Niccolo' Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo San Niccolo', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.