We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Leopoldo

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Leopoldo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 33, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Radda in Chianti
Smethwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Splendid establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A friend and myself stayed at the Palazzo Leopoldo for the week when we took part in L'Eroica vintage Cycle Sportive in October 2012. From the time of our arrival, laden with two vintage racing bikes, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We were given the keys to a great garage/workshop to work on the bikes and store them (this was an unexpected bonus). The building is truly wonderful, and beautifully restored. Staff are delightful and very helpful (I got lost at night on my bike on the hills between Radda and Castellina, and on return found the lovely Receptionist, Sylvia, on the phone to the local Carabineri, about to organise a search party!.....now, that really is beyond the call of duty. The breakfast, which is served in the old kitchen, is something to behold, all being done in a lovely, relaxed and quiet manner. Rooms are very well appointed in a delightfully old-school manner, with extremely well appointed bathrooms. The standard of service and cleanliness is extremely good. I can highly recommend this hotel, and will be returning for L'Eroica in October 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    60
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
150
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Leopoldo at the suggestion of our travel agent, a native Italian who has stayed there several times and always found it a lovely place. She certainly was right. This is a quaint, well-managed hotel in Radda in the Chianti Region. As soon as you enter the hotel you will sense its warm, friendly ambience. We immediately felt at home. It has a wonderful terrace with spectacular views of the Radda countryside. The staff was responsive to all our questions and helped us a great deal. They also showed generous and patient support for my fledgling skill speaking Italian. The high point of our stay at the Palazzo Leopoldo was the cooking lesson with two masters of the kitchen: Chef Lorenzo and his aunt, Chef Lorena. They arrived with the freshest of vegetables, meats and spices, plus great wines—all local. We were impressed that everything was prepared from scratch as we watched. Add a lovely table setting, explanations about the food and its relationship to Italian culture, and the genuine warmth conveyed by Lorenzo and Lorena and we were treated to a fantastic dining, learning and social experience. Check out their many services and products available through Gastronomia Biagioni and its website www.gastronomiabiagioni.it. I highly recommend Palazzo Leopoldo. When you reserve your stay at Palazzo Leopoldo, remember to reserve a cooking class with Chef Lorenzo or Lorena, perhaps both if their busy calendars permit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We used Radda Chianti as a base for our tour of the Tuscany region. Its not the best place to be in, but was good enough for our group. The hotel was dressed in mostly period furniture, which made it a tad gloomy, but was otherwise clean and comfortable.
The breakfast , at 10Euro, was good value. We loved eating at the kitchen, it felt so warm and cozy each morning. something to look foward to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Leopoldo. Not my favorite ever. It is really dark..and obviously very, very old. Even the light in the bedroom is not sufficient. If you have trouble with stairs and hills, you will not be happy here..and it is certainly not handicapped -accessible.. When we checked in we had three suitcases and our room was on the 2nd floor..the young female check- in clerk dragged our bags up two flights..we didn't know there was no elevator . As I mentioned in another review, we did not do our homework.. The bed was hard and the pillow hard..after i woke up with a neck ache the first night i asked for a different pillow and got one. We arrived on Nov. 25 which is the day that most businesses/restaurants close for either the winter or until mid-December. Not much to do in Radda at this time of year. We took some day trips during our 3 day stay, but I was intent on being back at the hotel by dark because no way was I driving those hair-pin turns in the dark, after a couple glasses of wine..so our choices for dinner were quite limited. The staff were very nice and helpful mostly. The breakfast appeared plentiful..we didn't eat there but just had coffee. I think it's $10 euro each for breakfast. I imagine that in the spring and summer when it's jumping and bright out, it would be better. But as I said its very dark..i had to use my phone flashlight to find things in my suitcase.

Room Tip: If you choose 2nd floor room, know you will be walking up and down a lot of stairs for every thing y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The place is wonderful, with a lot of atmosphere. Rooms are charming too. Staff is nice, correct value (we payed 160€ for a deluxe double room without breakfast, that we didn't try). Ask for a room with view on the countryside.
Radda is not the best place in Chianti but it is rather nice and well located. Parking is not included and not too easy to find, even off-season, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina R, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Leopoldo, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
First of all we warmly thank you for your beautiful words
We are sorry about the parking, we think there was a misunderstanding, because Palazzo Leopoldo has a reserved parking that our guests can use without any extra charge.
This parking is just far about 200mt from the hotel.
We hope that you will be again and soon our guests!
Best regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London -Barcelona-Lima
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The room we had was large, and very nicely decorated. The whole hotel is atmospheric and decorated with period furniture. Breakfast in the kitchen and dining room was a highlight of our stay. Everything works well and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. the location is ideal to visit the area, and the town of Radda in Chianti is absolutely gorgeous.

Room Tip: If possible far from hotel traffic, our room was a bit noisy from within the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband just returned from our honeymoon in Italy and we spent a few nights at this hotel and just fell in love with every single thing about it. We stayed in room 16 which was like it's own private villa, it was huge and very rustic and romantic. The view was amazing and the staff was very kind. We took a cooking class one evening and this is a must if you are passionate about cooking. chef Paola was so wonderful and made us feel right at home. This was certainly one of the favorite parts of our trip and our favorite hotel as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo

Address: Via Roma 33, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.