We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and charming hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Leopoldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Leopoldo to your Saves list
Palazzo Leopoldo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 33, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous and charming hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband just returned from our honeymoon in Italy and we spent a few nights at this hotel and just fell in love with every single thing about it. We stayed in room 16 which was like it's own private villa, it was huge and very rustic and romantic. The view was amazing and the staff was very kind. We took a cooking class one evening and this is a must if you are passionate about cooking. chef Paola was so wonderful and made us feel right at home. This was certainly one of the favorite parts of our trip and our favorite hotel as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    65
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
164
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my favorite hotel that I stayed at in Italy. The experience was perfect. There was ample parking available, the management and front desk staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful and it was in an excellent location. The hotel itself was spotless, Wi-Fi was available, there was a nice patio to enjoy wine on in the evenings and the pool located in the property's old wine cellar was stellar. The breakfast that they offered in the morning was superb. There was just about everything that you could have wanted available (be sure to try the juice with the lemon and carrots - yum!). The lady that helped prepare breakfast would get you any kind of coffee that you wanted in the morning so you could have cappucino's until your heart was content. We upgraded to a room with a view which was worth the additional expense. The room had a nice efficiency kitchen and dining table. We even got meat, cheese, breadsticks and wine from the local market and ate in our room one night. The front desk staff had great suggestions for our day in Chianti. Be sure to go to Volpai for lunch (their truffle pasta is amazing), try the wineries that make the Chianti Classico, and visit Castello di Brolio (the tour is worth it). The front desk will be able to give you a map of the area and highlight some "must visit" places. One of our favorite meals was at La Botte di Bacco and try the Tuscan soup at the local wine bar. I heard that the hotel restaurant was also one of the best. The area right around the hotel is very cute and charming and it's a great location to visit other areas of Tuscany. We drove to both Siena and San Gimagnano. There are a lot of hairpin turns on the way there and back but worth the trek. Be sure to take a bottle of wine to the pool at night before you turn in. But definitely stay at Palazzo Leopoldo if you plan to visit Tuscany - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff are excellent, the rooms large, and the public areas comfortable. The hotel is located mid way between Florence and Sienna making it very easy to tour Tuscany using Radda as a base. The breakfasts were the best we had on our Italian trip. Our stay was highlighted by cooking classes with Lorenzo and Lorena. They were very informative, helping us understand the Tuscan way of cooking and we got to eat the results. Fantastic! I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel. It is in a great location for going to Florence, Siena, Cortona and other close locations. You can park in free parking outside the little town and walk to the shops and restaurants from the hotel. This would be a great location for a family with children because you can tuck in for the night and walk to everything. Our room was HUGE and overlooked the beautiful countryside. The only negative is that we were right above the patio and people were out there talking until after midnight all of the nights. We had to wear earplugs every night in order to sleep. Although the room was big, the shower was so small that when my husband dropped his razor he had to exit the shower in order to pick it up. I have stayed in many European hotels and realize the bathrooms are small, but the shower is so small that I really believe some claustrophobic people wouldn't be able to use it. You can get a glass of wine in the lobby with a little effort, but it would have been nice to have a little more food and/or drinks available in the lobby. The breakfast was very good, but the female who works the breakfast seemed to have a real chip on her shoulder. There was still an hour left of breakfast service and there were no eggs and several other food items were low. We asked if she was going to be replenishing the items and she rolled her eyes and huffed off. She barely made enough scrambled eggs for one person. She also made several comments and acted annoyed with some of the other breakfast patrons. Most all of the guests are American or English. The front staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean.

Room Tip: Do not get the room over the patio (our was number 205).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the hotel for 3 days. It was great you could relax, walk or drive to various parts of chianti. Our room had amazing views and the whole little village was so very friendly. They made us so welcome. I didn't know about the cooking classes before we went but this would be worth enquiring about as it is nice to try local. Wi if available but only in public areas which is a little bit of a shame but still very manageable. Can't wait to go back. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellant hotel, the staff, especially Sylvia, were extremely helpful. The room was very comfortable with a tremendous view. The location is perfect for visiting Siena and Florence and the village itself has many restaurants including some for fine dining. I would thoroughly recommend it. Martin Bott

Room Tip: Choose room number 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The location is right in the heart of Radda. The facilities are nice; our room was quite large. The staff was excellent, as was the buffet breakfast.

But the highlight of our stay was a private cooking class in the hotel kitchen with Lorenzo and his aunt, Larena (arranged through the hotel). They were both charming, and enthusiastically shared their passion for food, cooking, and Italian culture. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo

Address: Via Roma 33, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.