We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Unique Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Locanda to your Saves list
La Locanda
Localita Montanino di Volpaia, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Willowdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and Unique Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Although the location is somewhat remote this B &B is far and above the best of any that we have stayed in.
Upon arrival you are made to feel like returning family and the care and attention to all details is perfect. All of our needs were anticipated and the service was so very personalized, we know why their guests return year after year.
The views of the surrounding countryside are spectacular, and breakfast on the patio was the start of many wonderful days in the Chianti region.
Guido was most helpful in assisting us to plan each day and his recommendations were excellent.
This is a very special host and hostess who are committed to their guests and wonderful holidays!
We also look forward to our next visit like so many other of their returning guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tappan, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Five minutes after our arrival at La Locanda on September 16, 2013 we felt we were at the home of a long lost relative. I cannot say enough about our hosts Guido and Martina, we will return. La Locanda is remotely located in the hills of Tuscany with a magnificent vista of the beautiful medieval town of Volpaia and the surrounding Tuscan country side. However; it was minutes from everything. La Laconda is a magnificent restored medieval farmhouse. The rooms are immaculate, spacious with all amenities. We stayed for 6 days and were sorry we had to leave. The breakfast was special and the dinners were excellent.

Joe & Barbara

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I can only echo the positive comments by all the other reviewers. Martina and Guido are wonderful hosts and the location is spectacular. My wife and I and four friends spent 5 nights at La Locanda in mid September. It is perfectly located to tour all the surrounding towns and vineyards and Guido and Martina have great recommendations of what to see and do and where to eat. The daily 7:00pm prosecco and appetizers was a great opportunity to meet other travellers and share experiences and ideas about what to see and do in Chianti. The on site meals offered 3 nights per week are delicious and great fun... Be sure to enjoy the lemoncello and grappa on the patio after dinner...we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Room #5 at La Locanda for 6 nights for our honeymoon, and unfortunately we are still suffering withdrawal symptoms since we left La Locanda. What an incredible place...

We woke up every morning to an amazing view of the hillsides of Chianti...we were lucky to have 7 days of beautiful weather. Echoing all the prior reviews, this is truly a hidden gem and the ideal place to unplug/go off the grid, and just soak under the Tuscan sun. Proprietors Martina & Guido are incredibly warm and welcoming, and we thoroughly enjoyed not only their hospitality but their home cook meal on a Wednesday evening. Both Martina & Guido went the extra mile to ensure a relaxing/tranquil stay at La Locanda, and were incredibly well-informed and helpful when we visited the surrounding hillside towns e.g. Volpaia, Greve, Siena, Pienza, Montepulciano, Volterra, Asciano, etc.

One of their best, most memorable recommendations was taking a cooking class/wine tour with Giovanna Stianti at Castello di Volpaia. We had an absolutely wonderful and fun time learning from Giovanna!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I spent the last week of our honeymoon at La Locanda and it was just perfect. The hotel is located in a beautiful, secluded spot just outside Volpaia and the view from the terrace is breath-taking. Martina and Guido, the owners, were so lovely and made us feel so welcome and were so helpful when it came to booking restaurants and giving directions to places. We were really made to feel so special and particularly enjoyed the glass of prosecco on the terrace every evening whilst watching the sun go down. I would also highly recommend the home dinner that Guido and Martina cook themselves on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. The Tiramasu, in particular, was delicious. All in all, this is a magical place and I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed three nights in early September and it was magnificant. Although the way to the hotel is a small adventure, it emphasizes the special character of this beautiful place in Toscani. What you get are the ameneties of a high class hotel with a country side character. Breakfast is simple but you will miss nothing. The rooms are spacious, clean and cosy and witness of the good taste of the hosts. Guido and Martina are fabulous hosts that help you with every aspect of your travel and restaurant recommendation and reservation. They even ask you pro-actively because it can be quite easy to forget about dinner once you are caught by the silence and peace of this place with one of the best views in Chianti. It's worth the $.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights at La Locanda towards the end of our 4 week holiday through Europe. La Locanda is a lovely secluded B&B type retreat - there are only 7 rooms, so its a very tranquil holiday spot. We would wake early, enjoy a lovely breakfast (with delicious home made coffee), spend half the day day-trippng and come back around 2 or 3 to sit by the pool / swim. We'd head back to our room and get ready for the 7 pm prosecco and nibbles before heading out to one of the local restaurants for dinner. Fabulous! Guido and Martina are very friendly and helpful (eg booking restaurants, sightseeing recommendations) and make you feel very welcome. We are planning on going back when we're in Europe next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda

Address: Localita Montanino di Volpaia, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda is a charming small country inn with 6 rooms and 1 suite in the Chianti Classico countryside. It is located in a fantastically panoramic position, on the top of a hill overlooking the hamlet of Volpaia and the valley of Radda in Chianti. It is carefully run by the owners Guido and Martina Bevilacqua. Swimming pool and terrace for breakfast and al fresco dining on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel Radda In Chianti
La Locanda Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.