We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In all of Italy, this is a can't miss experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bottega Di Giovannino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radda in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bottega Di Giovannino
Save
You added La Bottega Di Giovannino to your Saves list
Via Roma, 6-8, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“In all of Italy, this is a can't miss experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We can't say enough about how wonderful this inn is. Monica and the staff at Bottega Di Giovannino were wonderful hosts - so much it was difficult to leave! The room was large, clean and had a good sized private bath. The housekeeping service was so quick and efficient we never saw them. The food in the restaurant was wonderful. On top of all of this, the rates were so inexpensive we couldn't believe it. If you are headed to Italy and want to see Chianti country, come to Radda in Chianti. The town is quaint and beautiful and is not to be missed on a tour of Tuscany. Stay at Bottega Di Giovannino and BE SURE TO BOOK THE WINERY TOUR AND TASTING DINNER! Our tour with Monica was one of the highlights of our travel anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
34
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

After four grueling days in Rome, this was a peaceful haven! We had a room facing out of town, and it was very, very quiet. The room was quite charming and clean. Parking was a bit of a chore during the day when out of town tourists were visiting. We had the largest calzone I've ever seen at Pizza Pie! Radda is right in the middle of Chianti and would seem like a good base, but don't let the distances fool you - these are narrow, twisting roads and it takes awhile to get anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed with Monica and David for three nights and it was wonderful. The renovated B&B is great-- comfortable rooms, en suite baths and lots of charm! Monica is a certified Chianti wine guide, and we spent a day with her visiting some of the world-class vineyards and wineries in the LOC! Her knowledge of the area and its people made this a truly once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Radda is an excellent town to use as a base for exploring the surrounding countryside, and at the price of La Bottega Di Giovannino, was a very affordable one. If we were to go back we would probably try somewhere in Castellina. The woman in the tourism office in Radda was very helpful and set us up with a great wine tour.

Everything was average at La Bottega di Giovannino. It may have been because it was a busy time for the town (the hotel itself wasn't busy), but Monica and David were not nearly as friendly as others described in the reviews. It is a little loud at night due to the bar downstairs. Either way, well worth it for the price.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Monica and her brother David are the perfect hosts for a relaxing holiday in Tuscany. The hotel is great value, their bar is the meeting place for half the town and always a hive of activity. Both Monica and David speak English and proved to be very helpful. The rooms are well restored original rooms with their own bathrooms
The meals offer very good value.
Highly recommend

  • Liked — The people who run the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

This was our first time in Italy. Our son lives in the Vicenzia area. He planned a three day stay in Tuscany and had stayed here before. We were not disappointed. The room was very nice and there are several places to enjoy the excellent Italian dishes. A great little family owned hotel. A true taste of Tuscany. Radda was a good place to base our tour of Chianti region. A vintage hill town. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drenthe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Several times I have stayed here, first with an organised tour, later I have organised tours myself. The location is beautiful, with views over the hills at one side and a view in the main street of the hamlet on the other side. The rooms are beautiful in their simplicity, quiet and spotless, just like a Tuscan B&B should be. The small town is a great spot for walking in the Chianti hills. (See the Lonely Planet: Walking in Italy, Chianti Classico). They are willing to take your luggage to the next hotel, if you are willing to pay a few euro's.
We have had an evening of wine tasting in their dining room, with home made dishes and three of four wines to taste, with explanations from Monica. It was just perfect!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Bottega Di Giovannino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bottega Di Giovannino

Address: Via Roma, 6-8, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovannino and his family welcome their guests with their usual warmth and cheerfulness. The comfortable apartments and rooms (each with private bathroom), situated in the historical center, offer a splendid panoramic view of the surrounding countryside.Continental Breakfast is served at the Wine Bar run by the children Monica & David. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bottega Di Giovannino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bottega Di Giovannino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.