We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest value and people in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bottega Di Giovannino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radda in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bottega Di Giovannino
Via Roma, 6-8, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Greatest value and people in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Monica and her brother David are the perfect hosts for a relaxing holiday in Tuscany. The hotel is great value, their bar is the meeting place for half the town and always a hive of activity. Both Monica and David speak English and proved to be very helpful. The rooms are well restored original rooms with their own bathrooms
The meals offer very good value.
Highly recommend

  • Liked — The people who run the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
30
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

This was our first time in Italy. Our son lives in the Vicenzia area. He planned a three day stay in Tuscany and had stayed here before. We were not disappointed. The room was very nice and there are several places to enjoy the excellent Italian dishes. A great little family owned hotel. A true taste of Tuscany. Radda was a good place to base our tour of Chianti region. A vintage hill town. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drenthe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Several times I have stayed here, first with an organised tour, later I have organised tours myself. The location is beautiful, with views over the hills at one side and a view in the main street of the hamlet on the other side. The rooms are beautiful in their simplicity, quiet and spotless, just like a Tuscan B&B should be. The small town is a great spot for walking in the Chianti hills. (See the Lonely Planet: Walking in Italy, Chianti Classico). They are willing to take your luggage to the next hotel, if you are willing to pay a few euro's.
We have had an evening of wine tasting in their dining room, with home made dishes and three of four wines to taste, with explanations from Monica. It was just perfect!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

This place is amazing for a budget Bed & Breakfast. We've been travelling Europe for over a year, and this was buy far the best "budget" accomodation we stayed in. Monica and the family are very friendly and we felt very welcome there. The location is super (center of town), free parking is nearby, and their wine bar is the cutest in Radda. Also, we had an amazing view of the countryside out of our window! The bathroon is private, but is across the hall. Super clean, and super quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

This was by far the cheapest place we stayed in Italy. It was also surprisingly one of the nicest! The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and a good size - much better than places triple the price in Florence. The room was decorated with a rustic Tuscan style - wooden rafters included, which added to the atmosphere. Radda is a beautiful little town and a good base for exploring Chianti. Do yourself a favour and go to the informal pizzeria down the road for the pizza gigante. You might have to sit on plastic chairs, but the pizza was the best we had in Italy!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

Great location as a base for discovering Chianti. Rooms were clean with a wonderful view towards Volpaia, comfortable bed and a good buffet breakfast selection. Although Monica speaks fluent English, she encouraged me to speak in my limited Italian...great confidence builder.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Bottega Di Giovannino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bottega Di Giovannino

Address: Via Roma, 6-8, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovannino and his family welcome their guests with their usual warmth and cheerfulness. The comfortable apartments and rooms (each with private bathroom), situated in the historical center, offer a splendid panoramic view of the surrounding countryside.Continental Breakfast is served at the Wine Bar run by the children Monica & David. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bottega Di Giovannino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bottega Di Giovannino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Bottega Di Giovannino to your Saves list